We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good meal”

Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company
Reserve with OpenTable
Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 53 Restaurants in Oak Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: BEST CHOWDER IN NEW ENGLAND FROM YANKEE MAGAZINE, BEST CHOWDER 2015 from CAPE & ISLANDS MAGAZINE, MV MAGAZINE and winner of the 2015 MV CHOWDER CONTEST!! - Copper and mahogany grace our nautically chic dining room creating a casual-fine dining atmosphere. Fresh, local when available seafood, pasture raised steaks, all-natural chicken, craft cocktails, 15 beers on tap and of course the best award winning chowder in the country are waiting for your visit to our beautiful island. Play a game in our 5000 Sq Ft 21+ game room 'LoFT' upstairs (Which features 6 pool tables, darts, foosball, Shuffleboard tables, ping pong, full bar, jukebox & more) or entertain yourself in our large, comfortable bar and enjoy an authentic Martha's Vineyard experience while being catered to by the most attentive staff in New England. Welcome to the Martha's VIneyard Chowder Company!
Cape May, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very good meal”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

we each had bowls of clam chowder and shared the seared scallops...you cant beat the amount of clams and "stuff" in the chowder...I suppose I enjoy a slightly thicker broth but I suppose that's a personal choice....either way .......both items were delicious

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    215
    70
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A nice consistent meal.”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We go to MV quite a bit and we have eaten at the MVCC a few twice now. The two times we have eaten there, the specials have been wonderful, the service was very good, and we were not disappointed at all. Out last visit, the chef even came out from the open kitchen (very fun to be able to see the action as meals are prepared) to see how we liked our meals.

We started with a martini and the house sangria. My martini was in a large glass, and filled to the brim-no skimping there! The sangria was a bit bland, and pretty iced/watered down. We ordered the house "favorite" appetizer: ChowCos, which are clam chowder fritters. Quite tasty, large in size and a good amount (6). The swordfish special that I had was cooked to perfection, and served with whipped potatoes. My wife ordered the prociutto wrapped cod. Her take on it was that the cod was quite bland, and overall it was just ok.

So, nice place, great atmosphere, and convenient to parking and the OB ferry terminal. We will go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Must have been better or we made the wrong choice!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

On our visit to Martha's Vineyard we stopped to eat at this place bases on its great Trip Advisor reviews. We were highly dissapointed. Therefore, we either chose the ring day to go or the chose the wrong items to eat. We had their acclaimed clam chowder & found that it was too thin & it needed plenty of salt & pepper to fix it up. But what was worse was the lobster wrap. We just couldn't eat it, it was below average. At least the manager came to talk to us, he apologized & gave us the standard 30% discount.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharkOwner, Owner at Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
HI there...Had a pleasant email exchange with this reviewer, we clearly failed in this experience and of the 1500 lobster rolls we sold this July and August we heard "Best I've ever had" so many times that it makes this experience that much more frustrating. I hope they return so we can provide them the world class experience and quality that we are known for. This hot buttered 1/2 pound lobster roll is amazing and I know when they return they will fall in love with it like everybody else. Thanks so much! JB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Bluffs
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“MV Chowder company”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have eaten there several times now. One of our new favorites, both for dinner and for lunch, and also at the raw bar for drinks and shellfish.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great place. One of our favorites.”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We go there several times a year. Everything is reasonably priced for what you get. The food is tasty, (usually) cooked & prepared very well. I have had over cooked halibut, but I've also had one of the best pieced ever. It's not hit or miss. Usually it is done right. There are always tempting specials and the explanations of them are perfectly detailed. The staff knows the menu items and specials, including all of the ingredients. I find that the staff can be very helpful to answer questions, help us decide what to order and tempt us into ordering something that we hadn't thought of.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company also viewed

Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing