We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chowder in Oak Bluffs”

Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company
Reserve with OpenTable
Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 52 Restaurants in Oak Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: BEST CHOWDER IN NEW ENGLAND FROM YANKEE MAGAZINE, BEST CHOWDER 2015 from CAPE & ISLANDS MAGAZINE, MV MAGAZINE and winner of the 2015 MV CHOWDER CONTEST!! - Copper and mahogany grace our nautically chic dining room creating a casual-fine dining atmosphere. Fresh, local when available seafood, pasture raised steaks, all-natural chicken, craft cocktails, 15 beers on tap and of course the best award winning chowder in the country are waiting for your visit to our beautiful island. Play a game in our 5000 Sq Ft 21+ game room 'LoFT' upstairs (Which features 6 pool tables, darts, foosball, Shuffleboard tables, ping pong, full bar, jukebox & more) or entertain yourself in our large, comfortable bar and enjoy an authentic Martha's Vineyard experience while being catered to by the most attentive staff in New England. Welcome to the Martha's VIneyard Chowder Company!
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best chowder in Oak Bluffs”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Very classy place, Dark interior, Very professional waitstaff, water glass is never allowed to be empty. Food is excellent. Great variety on menu.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank da h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    205
    67
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Großbritannien
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best food I had in a long time”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I went there on several nights and have never been disappointed. The staff is very friendly and I would recommend staying at the bar for exactly this reason! Great Chowder and other food on offer. Thumbs up, definitely

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dantis111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

When we sat down at a great table we were moved for a party that never showed. Then three out of 7 meals were incorrect. Took over 1.5 hours to get food right. Not worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
I'm sorry to read about your experience at ChoCo and I was informed of the situation that evening. We addressed any issues on our end and hope you come back to try us again...your experience was the exception to the norm, and our only desire is to provide everybody with a wonderful experience and we work tirelessly to achieve that. If you felt we fell short during your meal, I apologize, and look forward to you joining us again. Best, JB If you would like to discuss any particulars from your experience my cell # is on the bottom of your receipt and welcome your phone call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Simsbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice upscale addition to Oak Bluffs”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I took my husband to dinner last night at MV Chowder for his birthday. What a treat!! The decor and atmosphere are a nice upscale addition to the town. Our waitress, Kayla, was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive, available right when we needed her. Their signature clam chowder is some of the best we've ever tasted, and we are New Englanders. It was filled with tender clams, and the aroma alone was tantalizing. The menu is mostly fish, but my husband ordered the pork loin and found it impressively presented, flavorfull and succulent. I ordered the seared scallops; also wonderful. Our only complaint is that the apples in the apple crisp could have been a little less firm; maybe a personal preference. We found prices to be competitive for the island. Will definitely recommend to friends and will return. Thanks, JB.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brandcmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“FABULOUS!”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

fine dining, lovely ambience, courteous and prompt service. Try the toasted bread with homade ricotta appetizer-yummy!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SIsterMarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company also viewed

Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing