We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got to try it..”
Review of Back Door Donuts

Back Door Donuts
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Oak Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $5
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Got to try it..”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Expect to wait in line, no matter what time you go. The donuts are hot and fresh, I'm not a big donut fan but the kids love them. Its one of those things you have to do when your in the vineyard.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachTraveler-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    571
    140
    41
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Fl
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ya gotta go!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Don't miss this place. Hot donuts served literally from the back door only between 7:30 p.m. and 1:00 a.m. After a certain time of day you can't buy apple fritters in the front store, they'll tell you to come back at night! I had the boston creme donuts, fantastic warm but great for breakfast the next day from the fridge! My girls loved the apple fritters, they're huge and will definitely make it as dessert and breakfast. My husband loved the cinnamon roll. A bargain at 1.50 per donut or $4 for fritters!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Giffmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

If you're in Oak Bluffs at night, you HAVE to check out Back Door Donuts. The donuts are around $1-$2, fresh, hot and so good. There will be a pretty long line, but it moves quickly. I recommend knowing what you want before you get to the window, so that you can move along quickly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mairin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Apple Fritters are Amaaazzzing!!!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We went here late one night after reading the reviews. The apple fritters were absolutely delicious... and enormous! The donuts were average, but were nothing compared to the fritters.

We went at 12am on a Sunday night and there was no line. I will go here next time I am in MV, but will skip the donuts and just get fritters. They are a must!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MT0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Had to do it for the novelty”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

These donuts smelled so good all day. We waited until 7:30 at night and got in line. The donuts are good but not good enough to wait in line. The novelty and waiting in line with others was a lot of fun. Getting a hot fresh donut was great but I have had better...I have also had many others that are worse. You should do this once just to say you did it but buy a milk too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Faztippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Door Donuts also viewed

 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Back Door Donuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing