We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apple Fritters are Amaaazzzing!!!”
Review of Back Door Donuts

Back Door Donuts
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Oak Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $5
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Apple Fritters are Amaaazzzing!!!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We went here late one night after reading the reviews. The apple fritters were absolutely delicious... and enormous! The donuts were average, but were nothing compared to the fritters.

We went at 12am on a Sunday night and there was no line. I will go here next time I am in MV, but will skip the donuts and just get fritters. They are a must!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MT0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    133
    41
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Had to do it for the novelty”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

These donuts smelled so good all day. We waited until 7:30 at night and got in line. The donuts are good but not good enough to wait in line. The novelty and waiting in line with others was a lot of fun. Getting a hot fresh donut was great but I have had better...I have also had many others that are worse. You should do this once just to say you did it but buy a milk too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Faztippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Mandatory stop on your MV excursion!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had heard this place was worth the wait, and boy was that the truth! We got in line at about 7:10PM with a small line already forming. (They are located behind the Post Office in Oak's Bluff). There was nothing there but a tiny window and sign, but a delicious smell was taunting us as we waited. We chatted with friendly people so the wait went by very quickly. By the time the door opened at 7:30PM, there was a considerable line, so getting there early was key. Donuts cost $1.00 a piece, with filled apple fritters and cinnamon buns costing more. It was worth every penny! The Apple fritters are an absolute must! Huge and delicious. I had a "fritter blackout" and don't remember eating the whole thing, but I did! Boston Crème donuts also heaven. Warm and fresh! We stocked up for breakfast tomorrow. They are only open from 7:30PM-1:00am, so no breakfast runs, you have to get them the night before. If you are really adventurous, you can get a donut sundae, with ice cream and all the fixings. I highly suggest the fritters! Make this a stop, you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LPTeach07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Apple Fritter Heaven”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

The apple fritter was huge and so yummy. I could not in good conscious eat the entire thing but I thought long and hard about it! My sweet tooth was very happy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CTJ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yes, they are worth the wait...”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Don't let the line discourage you. While on the island, you have to have this experience of standing in line late at night to get hot donuts and pastries sold out of the back door of this bakery kitchen. The event of waiting is fun. My personal favorite is to get a chocolate donut and a coconut donut and alternate bites between the two. Decadent, I know, but hey, it's a Vineyard institution and I am on vacation. Try it, you'll like it. But be sure to bring enough donuts back for everyone else waiting for you elsewhere.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank New2EuropeBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Door Donuts also viewed

 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Back Door Donuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing