We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View, not Great Service”
Review of Lobsterville Grill

Lobsterville Grill
Ranked #33 of 53 Restaurants in Oak Bluffs
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Healthy
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great View, not Great Service”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

This place reminds me of Miami as they have pretty girls out front enticing you to come in. It worked, so we stopped for a drink. We sat on the lower level outside and was a gorgeous sunset view. We ordered 2 cocktails (again reminded me of Miami as they were $10-$12 each).
The waitress did not seem happy that we had already eaten. We ordered a second round of drinks and barely got half done before she asked if there was going to be anything else. We said no and continued with our drinks. She came by again a few minutes later and asked the same question.
Anyway, it's a great place to enjoy a beautiful view if the harbor, but I'm only giving 3 stars due to the greedy waitress.

Helpful?
1 Thank ShorelineGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    42
    32
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very overpriced”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I had lunch here with my boyfriend and we spent $80. The portions were very small, the food wasn't hot and very below average. The drinks were poorly made. Amazing view, but not worth the money. There are other restaurants nearby with a great view and much better food. The service was not impressive, either.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank DreCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Amazing view, food, and atmosphere! Must try! The Lobster Mac is the best I have ever had. The sunset on the harbor and the people watching is a plus. Service was fine as was my favorite drink, a dark and stormy. Fresh oysters shucked as you watch makes this place special in so many ways. Please try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greengirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Undoubtedly one of the worst restaurants that I have been to in years & a definite tourist trap. I stumbled in around 4 pm or so, starving after a day at the beach. I thought you can’t go wrong with lobster in the name. That idea quickly vanished as I was met with atrocious, nearly non-existent service. We had to find waiters to give orders to & then had to track them down to learn the status of both our drinks & meals. After about 45 minutes our entrees arrived. Followed by the appetizers around an hour after they were ordered, which we obviously sent back. We should have run away, but were hungry! Food was luke warm, not tasty & I even got sick a few hours later. A terrible experience. The only positive is a nice location by the marina.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank roberta_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“You Need To”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

This is the kind of place that says relax, have a drink and watch the water. The appetizers are good fresh but the popular ones run of early. Try to sit along the rail. The service is just that a line that runs from you to the bar and food. Expect nothing else. But go

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TTTravelers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobsterville Grill also viewed

Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Lobsterville Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing