We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The food is just as great as the view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lobsterville Grill

Lobsterville Grill
Ranked #28 of 52 Restaurants in Oak Bluffs
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The food is just as great as the view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

get started with the raw bar, the little necks are fresh and delicious and the shrimp are like mini lobster tails. The fish was fresh and perfectly prepared. I have eaten there several times this summer and it has always been very good. It is a busy place but Ted and Leslie always take the time to make you feel welcome. The beer is also very cold and the view of the harbor is just fantastic. especially from the second deck.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank baypoint39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    40
    29
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
140 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice location, cute deck, not so friendly "owner or manager?"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was my friend and I's first stop off the Hyline, as it was pouring once the boat docked. Location is fantastic, right on the docks off the Hyline. Nestled in amongst several other dockside establishments, in between Coop Deville and the Sand Bar, Nancy's. The Coop was packed, even at 11:30, so we opted for Lobsterville, since it was empty. The place is very small, but quaint and apparently has an upstairs that we didn't know about. We were just looking to kill some time during the downpour so figured we'd get a drink. 2 of the waitresses were working hard to close the plastic window/rain shields, while trying to keep up with keeping the outside bar/tables dry. There was 1 bartender inside tending to 3 or so people. We were enjoying our glass of wine when some woman in a green rain coat came out and started loudly barking orders at the 2 girls about salt shakers and how everything was soaked. The music we were enjoying turned off and my friend asked our waitress if there was any chance to turn the music back on. This woman rudely and loudly said "She's changing stations!" We were a bit shocked at how rude and descending she came across, not only in front of customers but also TO customers. I realized why it was that the Coop was packed and they weren't. We had 1 glass and took our business elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumrtyme1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Mediocre Lobster Roll”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I thought a restaurant called Lobsterville would be a good place to order a lobster roll. Three in our party of 8 ordered the lobster roll. All were disappointed. Good brioche roll, but just not enough lobster in the roll to justify the price. However, the bowl of New England clam chowder was pretty good. I think the others in our group were just satisfied with their meals. I would not return if we visit Oak Bluffs again in the future.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arnon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We happen to just come upon this place when our bellies were letting us know it was time to eat. We were in the mood for fish'n'chips and this was definitely the place to go. It was by far the freshest cod we'd ever had and their fries complimented it perfectly. The cole slaw left a lot to be desired, but we weren't there for that. We did end up waiting almost a half hour to get our lunch, but in the end, it was worth the wait. The location can't be beat, as we got to sit upstairs on the outside deck overlooking the marina and enjoying the wonderful breezes on a hot July day. We would definitely go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank YoConn004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A must visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had such a great experience, went here twice in the week I spent in MV. Great lobster mac and cheese and lobster roll. Nice outdoor seating, great service. A must do.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lauraj124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobsterville Grill also viewed

Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Lobsterville Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing