We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelieveable Bed and Breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oak Bluffs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kathleen's Kottage on Martha's Vineyard
Ranked #5 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 23, 2011

This is the first time I stayed overnight on the Vineyard. I went on-line and found Kathleen's Cottage and was amazed and how reasonable the price and what you got for it. My room was cozy and nice and refreshed daily. Note that it was VERY hot when I was there and there were air conditioning units in each of the rooms, as well as TV's as well. Kathleen suggested I try the outdoor shower. It was fantastic!

There is a cute living area, kitchen and great deck that you can choose from to sit back and relax. I tired each room during my stay. The breakfast was great. Kathleen had several types of coffee and muffins and pasteries and also went out of her way to offer hot items every day, one day it was an omlette, one day a fratate and one day waffles with fresh blueberries.

The locaton was great, easy walking distance to town, the ferry and the beach.

I plan on going back again next year and will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 129 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed at Kathleen's for 3 nights. My only regret was that we weren't staying longer. Everything was perfect , Kathleen made us feel right at home. Every morning she had a delicious homemade breakfast waiting for us. The accommodations were clean & spacious. We didn't have a car but didn't need one. It was a 5 minute walk to downtown & public transportation. I would highly recommend Kathleen's Kottage.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happywanderer31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Spent 4 days with some really great friends at Kathleen's Kottage...they loved it! I had been there before, so the familarity of the place is why I went back...but it was better than I remembered! The home is very clean, neat and spacious for our needs. The "girls weekend" weather was perfect..we loved sitting on the deck, drinking our coffee in the am, watching the birds and marveling at their beautiful gardens. Kathleen is the perfect hostess! She takes great pride in her accomodations and it shows! The outdoor shower is "the bomb"...loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank partyof5Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

My family and I visited Martha's Vineyard, from Belgium, in July 2011 and stayed for four nights at Kathleen's Kottage. It was our first trip to the island, we enjoyed it immensely, and can recommend Kathleen's Kottage without qualification. We stayed in the Mary O'Grady Suite, which is a suite of rooms detached from Kathleen's main cottage, and found it to be very comfortable and stylish, and fitted out with all the conveniences and amenities you might want or need (air conditioning, fans, two televisions, a great bathroom, clean towels and linens, etc etc). The suite was cleaned every day and immaculately maintained. I've stayed at five-star hotels, and our suite provided an equivalent level of comfort and quality -- it was worth the price charged. The real draw, however, is the relentlessly cheerful, resourceful, and informative Kathleen, who really catered to us and had great recommendations on places to visits and efficient ways of getting around. Kathleen's also a great cook, and prepared an invidualized, delicious breakfast for us each monring. There's a homey feel to the place (in a very good way) alongside the luxury. A great place to stay in Martha's Vineyard ...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

This is a great place to stay close to all the fun but yet quiet and relaxing. Kathleen is an awesome hostess.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelleanddavedive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

My husband and I were looking for a place to stay with our dog for a relaxing weekend. Kathleen was super friendly and was ready with dog biscuits, so of course our dog liked it there immediately. Across the street is a small park which is very convenient for that first walk of the day. Just down the road is the Trade Winds Field Preserve which has a nice trail around an unused grass air strip where dogs are allowed off leash. It was a good place to get some romping in before dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LWinsl0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Beautifully renovated with hard wood floors, brand new big fluffy queen bed,(slept like a baby), Homemade breakfasts each morning...Frittata one day, sougherdough French Toast the next, fresh coffee all day long, homebaked muffins and scones, and cookies each morning, yogurt with granola and fresH berries,(my personal faforite), trays of fresh fruit, etc.... it was rediculous. It was so clean, that I felt the need to clean before the maid came in. Kathleenn just offers every amnemity. Her door is always wide open and island music plays all day....just very layed back and inviting...relaxing. Kathleen was easy to talk to, but never in your space. I now call her my very good friend,

Also, I left a beautiful wallhanging in my room. Kathleen mailed it to me with a beautiful letter....it arrived one day after I did! She's a class act, and so is her home. I can't wait to go BACK!!!!!! Love Ya Kat!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trishwarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.2 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
819 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
626 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
4.9 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
986 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathleen's Kottage on Martha's Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathleen's Kottage on Martha's Vineyard

Address: 59 Naushon Ave, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range: $125 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kathleen's Kottage is a 'Host Home' style B&B, quaint and friendly with limited guest rooms. The 2 suites come with fully private baths. The 3rd room (The Twins) has a private bath located downstairs. Small pets are welcome. Conveniently located close to downtown, the beach, walking and bike trails, and the golf course. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kathleen's Kottage On Martha's Vineyard Oak Bluffs, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing