We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martha's Vineyard Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Martha's Vineyard Resort
Ranked #11 of 16 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Vermont
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Room #6 was perfect. Clean. $1 bus ride 5 blocks to Oak Bluffs town center. Breakfast was continental. Our host Claudette was generous, kind, funny and so sweet. Full bathtub & shower, again very clean. Room had plenty of storage for bags and clothes. Refrigerator. Free WiFi. Wine glasses. Cable TV. I recommend this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 4caseys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
14
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just got back from a girls weekend in MV and the least favorite part of the trip was our hotel. The innkeeper was incredibly unfriendly and seemed to be put out by almost every request. Our particular two room suite smelled like cat urine and despite airing out the rooms, spraying Febreeze and lighting candles nothing took the smell away. I would steer far away from this place to have a fully rounded and lovely weekend in the Vineyard.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank EllenBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oak Bluffs hotels

Belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

As a family we really enjoyed our recent stay at the camp ground. This was my second trip (the first as a backpacker in 2005) but now with a young family in tow we availed of the cabin option. Staff were really helpful (the clerk was a native of Ireland and had all the charm associated therewith!) and our cabin was towards the end of a line of 6. We travelled onto the island without a car (having parked this at Hyannis) and upon arrival one of the staff chanced upon us at the bus stop and insisted on carting all our gear up to the reception.

Cabin was clean, rustic and felt immediately like our own little ranch. It had a porch, 2 bunk beds and a small fridge that was just large enough to keep the beer (and milk for the bairn) chilled! BBQ's were a nightly favourite and all equipment was supplied. The tame skunks (for an Irish family) were an absolute highlight and my daughter still talks about seeing them.

Navigation to and from the site (without a car) is relatively trouble free. A frequent bus service exists as between the major island towns (in all directions) and most commence/terminate close to a store so supplies can be replenished before the journey home. In our case we loaded up the buggy and had no difficulties hopping on the bus. Bring a small battery powered torch with you as the journey home (potentially) necessitates the crossing of a road - without pavements which is buzzier in July with other tourists and is a quite dark.

The store at the camp ground is sufficient for emergency/basic purchases but best to buy elsewhere and bring home. This was easy as the bus men are so helpful.

One issue.........there is no pool at the camp ground. I understand that the island's beaches are spectacular and close enough to the camp ground....... but sometimes its nice just to grab a towel, stroll the length of yourself and lounge poolside. If one is installed can I have an option to purchase Cabin 6 ?

Room Tip: The cabins are fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smeggleworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a wonderful time in this place the staff were very friendly, he resort is family friendly very convenient location in town and no far from the beaches.
The prices were extremely generous for what we received, we'll back surely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My family and I enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend it . The rooms and grounds are well kept and clean. Breakfast is wholesome and delicious (really enjoyed the homemade banana bread). The inn keeper is friendly and welcoming. It is more of a bed and breakfast than A resort, and I was told that there will soon be a name change. MVR is located only 15 minutes walking from the center of town and 3 minutes by care. The bus stop is directly across the street. In comparison to other hotels on the island, MVR is very reasonably priced. I've travelled to the vineyard every year for the last 26 and this is certainly one of the best locations on the island....check it out for yourself

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diamonds0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Buyer beware! Do Not stay here!! Rooms are over-priced and underwhelming. The grounds are anything but a resort. The innkeeper is rude and never available. But that's probably because she's busy spying on her guests. Upon checkout she admitted to have been behind our room and looked into the window at night. She even monitored the amount of people that came in and out of the room. Very creepy!!! "Continental" breakfast was a pitcher of oj and stale muffins in windowless mildew basement. Save yourself the hassle and be able to actually enjoy your vacation!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sb289160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

the photos on their website are much nicer than the actual rooms. we had a nice time there but all in all there are a few issues. the rooms, especially the bathrooms are a bit dated. the grounds could be a bitter kept as well. and the breakfast facilities including breakfast are really a bummer. however i guess it is still a good value for the yard...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank german_in_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
1.8 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 679 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
5.8 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
5.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martha's Vineyard Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martha's Vineyard Resort

Property: Martha's Vineyard Resort
Address: 111 New York Avenue, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Martha's Vineyard Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Martha's Vineyard Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martha`s Vineyard Hotel Oak Bluffs
Marthas Vineyard Hotel
Martha's Vineyard Resort Oak Bluffs, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing