We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of charm”
Review of Narragansett House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Narragansett House
Ranked #6 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Full of charm”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Adorable accommodation with a personal touch.
Staff fantastic! They are friendly, accomodating and full of great tips on where to go etc
The rooms are quaint and the beds are super comfortable, if you are wanting lots of space then go to a hotel and not a bed and breakfast.
Exceeded all my expectations and will be coming back soon!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    28
    10
    3
    9
See reviews for
13
55
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berwick, ME
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I came to the Vineyard for a week long conference. The other hotel I had booked at never received my reservation (careful with Booking.com - they had emailed me 'reservation confirmed' but the hotel never received it.) Jane, who with her husband Paul owns the Narragansett House and the Iroquois House right across the street, was truly gracious and took me in and gave me a room on no notice. The room was beautiful. It was large enough to suit my needs and had great storage space. Hand stained wood, big old wardrobe, door with stained glass transom on top, much natural light from the windows and the glass paneled door leading out onto a small deck - I was so impressed with the attention to detail and tlc that went into creating this welcoming space. The windows and deck door were treated with white 'rice paper' shades and light white gauze curtains - just light, airy and beautiful. I am the lightest sleeper in the world, but the ceiling fan combined with the small but sufficient air conditioner/fan in one of the windows was effective white noise. The Iroquois House was quiet, so I was in good shape for my mornings. The room and bathroom (small, white, pretty with awesome water pressure) were sparkling clean and housekeeping came in daily in an incredibly unobtrusive way. They have a small shared fridge for guests to store food/beverages in. Jane was gracious and helpful - she got me everywhere I needed to go and never showed stress from my many, many visits to her with questions and need of direction. I absolutely loved my stay there and would very highly recommend the Iroquois House to anyone who wants a real b&b experience. The house is a block away from the beach, a block from Circuit St, a 5 minute walk to the bus stop and a 15 minute bus drive to Edgartown. Perfect.

Room Tip: My Iroquois House room had ac and small deck. The house is quiet at night so probably good for peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLNBerwick_ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We were charmed by the house and the Iroqois annex in which we stayed.
Jane, the owner received us graciously and permitted us to stay several hours past check out time.
Our room was romantic and charming and the ceiling fan and comfy bed had us sleeping 9 hours a night.
We enjoyed the terrace off our room while listening to wonderful gospel singing emanating from next door's Union House of Worship.
The proximity to the main drag, Circuit Avenue, the beach and the harbor were perfect.
Loved it!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasmine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Not your luxury rooms. The rooms in the main house are small. There was an air conditioner in our room. It was small, but adequate. If it had not been there, we would have baked, because the weather was very hot and humid. The room seemed clean. The bathroom was large, almost as large as the room (# 12). We stayed three nights. We booked about a month before, so a lot of other places had no availability. Jane, the owner, was very polite, professional, helpful and friendly to us. We did not give her a hard time about anything. We got what we expected, so if you stay here, do not think you are going to a Marriott. There were other guests there, and they raved about the rooms in the Iroquois Cottage. I did not see them, but I was told there were very nice. OK, so the breakfast was muffins, juice and cake. She told us ahead of time and that is all the website claims, so that was as stated.
Overall, it was a pleasant stay. We did not spend a lot of time in the room. She loaned us beach towels, told us to use the fridge for my ice packs, helped up out with the buses, and stored out bags until we left town at 3 pm, so from 1100 am to 230 pm she kept our luggage so we would not have to lug it all over the place. That was very nice of her.
I had seen the bad reviews before I booked, but I took the chance and had a nice experience. I also will say that i am rather picky and usually choose fancier places at higher prices. So, I was still satisfied and not at all disappointed.

Room Tip: Our room # 12 was small but adequate. It has A/C. It is also on the first floor. Its very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akatmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I am absolutely in shock about the terrible service I got here. I booked two rooms, excited because the pictures online seemed so welcoming and spacious for such a great price, and got the complete opposite. The website claims that staff at the Narragansett House strive for an "emphasis on friendliness"...HA. What a joke. We were dissatisfied with the rooms (No A/C in the rooms, never mind the entire building despite the 90% humidity, closet sized space, totally misleading from the website pictures and listed accommodations) so we requested to have our money back politely. After speaking with the receptionist, the owner of the Narragansett House came in to literally kick us out of the place like we were dogs. As we were getting our things, she felt the need to come upstairs and say, "You need to get out, right now." I have never been treated like this by ANY hotel/Inn staff, and am in shock that of all people, it was the owner. Not to mention the "served continental breakfast" was really just a toaster and a coffeepot in a pantry that you could go ahead and do yourself. This place was such a disappointment and I truly warn anyone from coming here and wasting your money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brandi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Waaaayy overpriced for the converted attic rooms. Rooms the size of closets. No air conditioning! When asked about air conditioning, they pointed to a window. Website pictures are deceiving. Bare bones here. Staff was shockingly rude. We got our money back and left. Do not book a room here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Daniella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Service was terrible, continental breakfast was a joke and rooms were filthy. Shower actually had someone else's hair in the drain. Defitnley won't be returning.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 3333peyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
0.1 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
591 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
789 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
934 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#2 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madison Inn
Madison Inn
#3 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narragansett House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narragansett House

Property: Narragansett House
Address: 46 Narragansett Ave., PO Box 2478, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Narragansett House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Narragansett House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narragansett House Hotel Oak Bluffs
Narragansett House Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing