We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great locale & value”
Review of Narragansett House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Narragansett House
Ranked #6 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
WNY
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great locale & value”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Was a bit worried that the owners would be rude/indifferent based on other posts, but Jane was sweet as a peach and very willing to work with me to get us a room outside of their minimum stay policy. I re-checked with them just a few days before we arrived and they had vacancy so accommodated us.

Muffins and coffee cake for breakfast on the verandah was a nice start to the day. Plenty of seating and some chatted, some sat off to themselves.

We were just looking for a place to lay our heads down at night and did not need anything fancy. The room was nice enough and the bathroom was clean and updated. They try to make the home inviting - for example, artwork hung in the hallways and some handpainted touches (see pic).

Easier to walk from here to town and beach than try to find parking.

We found prices on MV pretty high so for the area, this place seemed like a good value.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the second floor, use the outside stairwell on the side of the house to move yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klam_chowder8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    31
    10
    3
    9
See reviews for
14
58
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We were there for the Bison on the Vineyard '11 (Howard U. Alumni) and had a good time. The location is fabulous - just a few blocks to the beach and restaurants/shops. The owner and staff were very helpful in telling us how to get around the Island and offered suggestions on where to eat. When we were forced to stay an extra day because of Hurricane Irene, the owner lowered the rate to Off-Season prices - that helped a lot! The coffee cake and muffins with tea or coffee until 10am were a great addition. I would definitely stay there again and met a few people who had been coming there to stay for years.

Draw backs - the rooms are very small. Our bathroom was not in the room but across the hall (we had a key to get in and out of it, as no one else was supposed to be using it but the two of us). The little patio advertised for our room was just a little rooftop square with a chair, not at all like a patio/balcony.

All in all I still think it is a charming place and it was nice to sit out on the porch in front of the house (plenty of seating) and friendly people. And the way Hurricane Irene was handled was defintely comforting. We were given flash lights for our rooms and updated often on the progress of the storm.

I recommend the place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K2anointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Let me start by saying the host "Jane" was pleasant and helpful without being over the top! Our room was the first room on the first floor so we not only had the outside lights coming in the room we also had the slamming screen door as others came in from their night out! While the room did appear clean the comforter did not smell very clean and the pillows were awful! The room had A/C but it was very noisy! The breakfast was muffins and cake with coffee or tea. It was never ready before 8am... as we were told! We would have liked it earlier but Jane is a 8am person and she did tell us that. The house is near almost everything and on a somewhat quiet street! The beautiful beach and park is only 2 short blocks away! The house could use some work but I would start with quality pillows and higher quality sheets! We would not stay there again but it was Ok for the money!! Next time we will pay more for what we consider important! We stayed in Harwich at The Platinum Pebble B&B and it was amazing!!!! Stay there!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the house it may be quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindik910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The Inn is well maintained, the beds are clean, and the bathrooms are individual. We stayed in one of the smallest rooms at it was exactly what we needed- a place to crash. It was quiet, people sat outside at night for a cocktail, and it was a very easy walk to everything OB has to offer. If you want to spend a lot of time in your room, this isn't the place, but you shouldn't be doing that if you're on Martha's Vineyard. A great price for a great location and a clean room.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures of the rooms on the website so you know what you're getting
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SashaGs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Went with my boyfriend for July 4th weekend. We had stayed here a couple of years ago, so we knew what to expect: very close to Circuit Ave but with none of the noise. Walking distance to everything in Oak Bluffs. Small room with private bathroom. 3 windows in room and AC. No closet. Stall shower with no hot water. Should have said something on the first day, but I didn't. Despite the cold water though, I love the Narragansett House. It is fairly cheap, $160 for a room on the second floor with a double bed and private bath. Small TV, but we didn't turn it on at all, so I don't know if it had cable. They have a lovely front porch with rocking chairs--great place to lounge with a drink and a book. I brought breakfast outside all three mornings: serve yourself coffee and muffins. Not great by any means, but free. The Narragansett House has a couple of beach chairs that they lend you for the day. This really helps so that you don't have to bring your own chairs to the Island or buy them on island.
The Narragansett House is laid back, comfortable and has no frills. Do not go expecting elegance. Do go for a great location, a comfortable stay, and a great price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katmitch28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed here last minute since we thought we were just going to the Vineyard for the day but wanted to stay overnight and were extremely happy with this place. It was the only one with availability and we ended up being pleasantly surprised! The location is great! Within walking distance to the shops, restaurants and beach. The room was adorable! It was very antique but you could tell everything was restored beautifully. We even had a little porch. The bathroom was very nice. Everything was very clean. I already made a reservation for this year to stay again.

Room Tip: Book online
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pawsthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

While the location is ideal, the owner Jane is unpleasant, the rooms are small and the breakfast part of the B & B consists of juice and muffins.

It should be noted that as we were checking out, but not leaving the island as yet, the owner said we could leave our luggage in the kitchenette area. In the interim, we lunched nearby on Circuit Avenue and walked to the beach. Upon our return for the luggage, the owner refused to allow me to use a bathroom. It wasn't until I told her that I was expecting and that I needed to use a bathroom ASAP that she got up from her seat, sighed loudly, grabbed some keys, slammed a door and led me to a vacant guest room. You would have thought I was someone off the street as opposed to a paying patron that had just spent a few days in this B & B. For that reason, I will never stay at Narragansett House ever again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewJerseyAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
0.1 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
601 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madison Inn
Madison Inn
#3 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narragansett House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narragansett House

Property: Narragansett House
Address: 46 Narragansett Ave., PO Box 2478, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Narragansett House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Narragansett House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narragansett House Hotel Oak Bluffs
Narragansett House Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing