We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of the the sights and clean as a whistle.”
Review of Nashua House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nashua House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Perfect is the only way to describe this hotel. Short walking distance to the ferry, island bus stop, beach, attractions and painted lady cottages. Right in the middle of town. I would definately stay here again. Rooms are very will kept and bathrooms are spotless.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mscml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 372 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2010

Older place with shared bathrooms. Room can get hot in the summer. No central air. Clean rooms and excellent service. Very friendly staff. Walking distance to Circuit Ave. You have to eat at Linda Jean's. Highly recommend this place if your not too fussy about small rooms and shared baths.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GFF1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

This hotel has a great location, walking distance to beach, restaurants and shopping, fairly clean. However, rooms are very small, so be ready to feel a little claustrophobic. Another downside is that you share you bath/restroom with at least five more rooms (two baths per floor). Imagine to go to bath after 5-10 people already used it. Also, there is little to no sound insulation between rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

The rooms and shared bathrooms were all cute and pretty small. Small stall showers and TINY little sinks! The thing we really didn't enjoy was the lack of quiet. It's an big, old house with no sound insulation and the street outside was loud, too. We had the windows open because it was warm on the 3rd floor and there were people yelling (both at night and in the early morning), dogs barking, and general loud noises on the street. Also, once people started stirring around 6am, we could hear room doors opening and slamming, people using the shared bathrooms, and stamping up and down the stairs. If you're not a heavy sleeper and you don't plan to be up at 6-7am, I'd recommend looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roamingfreeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights and 6 days and I can't believe how amazing everything was. The location was perfect, just under a 5 minute walk from the room to the beaches, the ferry, the bus stop, andthe main shopping area. Everything about this place impressed me. The bathrooms were impeccably clean, the rooms were a little small but they tell you exactly what your signing up for on their website. The women that work at the front desk are extremely helpful and very accommodating. They sent us to the best restaurants I've ever been to and we enjoyed ourselves and the island to the fullest extent. I will never stay anywhere else when I go to Martha's Vineyard!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cconlon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

O.K. lets get something straight right here. Oak Bluffs cannot be described as quaint down east charm with wharves lined with lobster pots and populated by "Old Salts" smoking pipes while mending their nets. No, Oak Bluffs is a bustling tourist trap of "boutiques", T-shirt shops, and eateries - boy, there are plenty of eateries. Now, in the midst of all of this is The Nashua House Hotel." It is old fashioned, delightful, convenient, and well priced and just a few steps from the bustle of Circuit Avenue - the all-hours-of-the-night-hang-out-of-Island-Youth-with-no-curfew. I didn't know about that part when I made my reservations. What was missing? Maybe it was peace and quiet and charm. Maybe I was missing what I came here for - to get away from the Jersey Shore and experience Island life for a few days. I got Jersey Shore North and Nashua House Hotel is where you would rent a room for the weekend of the Prom. Maybe off-season is better!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fishscales44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

This is right in the heart of the action in MV. Lack of bathrooms in the rooms is ok.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t-bolt84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
826 reviews
5.1 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
628 reviews
4.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
7.5 mi away
Winnetu Oceanside Resort
Winnetu Oceanside Resort
#1 of 4 in Edgartown
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nashua House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashua House Hotel

Address: 9 Healy Way, PO Box 803, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Price Range: $69 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nashua House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super charming and very affordable 15 room Victorian era inn in the heart of Oak Bluffs. Cozy rooms, cottage style furnishings, quality linens, spotlessly clean, free Wi-Fi, just one block from the ferry and beach. Within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants, public transportation, bike and car rentals, historic sights. Always the lowest price on Martha's Vineyard. Shared bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Nashua House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nashua Hotel Oak Bluffs
Nashua House Hotel Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing