We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Nashua House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nashua House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I give this property a "good" rating (it is strange that the ratings above jump from "Average" to "Very Good", with no "Good" in between). The staff and management are very friendly and hospitable. The place is maintained clean and quiet, which makes a visitor's stay comfortable. The thing I did not like that much during my four-day stay is: on one of the days someone forgot to replenish towels, bathing soap and shampoo in my room. Otherwise the facility is good value for money!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kalron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    106
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
42
177
35
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just spent 2 wonderful nights at Nashua House Hotel. This is our 4rh return to this conveniently located inn and it was the best yet. In addition to the cozy, immaculately clean, economically priced rooms, they have now added flat screen tv s in each room and there is coffee, tea, and snacks available always in the quaint lobby. Complimentary water bottles in the rooms are a plus. The shares bathrooms were not a hassle at all. We shared one with one other room.
The staff (namely Lori) truly went the extra mile to make us welcome. Our traveling companion had reserved the only single room in the house but was offered a larger better room upon our arrival! We were accommodated with wine opener, wine glasses, plates and silverware for our leftovers from Jimmy Seas (it's right next door you have to try it). They are even mailing me the iPhone adapter that I left in my room. thanks Lori! We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Curleylocks333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfield, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I were just looking for a simple and clean place to crash while on Martha's Vineyard. My cousin recommended the Nashua House and we were not disappointed. The Nashua house staff were very warm and welcoming and they were able to answer all our questions about buses, ferries, and attractions throughout the island. They also had fresh fruit, granola bars, and cookies for guests to eat on site or to take with us on our travels. The beds were comfy and the shared bathrooms were clean. We recommend the Nashua House to anyone who wants to stay on Martha's Vineyard who's price range is $80 to $200 a night for a hotel stay.

Room Tip: Room 17 is the cheapest quietest double bed room on the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

A warm and cheery place to stay. Friendly people who try to make your stay as pleasant as possible with lots of extras like beach towels, picnic things and lots of useful suggestions of fun things to do. Very cozy room, LOVE the coffee corner and the atmosphere in the hotel. Would definitely go back. Thanks Mary Beth!

Room Tip: Pictures available on the internet....look closely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vt
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent four nights at this excellent little inn. Our room was immaculate, as were the bathrooms. Thick towels, individual shampoos, fresh cookies at the desk, unlimited Keurig-brewed coffee and many of other small but important touches. Nice balcony with a sidelong view of the ocean. Being in town, a block from the main drag and across from a lively (and also excellent) brewpub, it wasn't the quietest lodging place on the island. But we weren't bothered, even by the 6 a.m. trash pickups. (Heck, that's when you should be getting up to start your explorations!) We had to park the car about 1000 feet away, which wasn't a problem. But parking anywhere in the island's towns can be an issue, so it's best to leave the car home and use the all-island bus service, bikes or shank's mare to get around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnipeIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My adult daughter and I stayed in a double twin room w/ a shared bath. The beds were comfortable, the bath always clean and available, and the hotel is right by public parking on the commons and the Victorian village. The staff were very nice, Keurig coffee, tea, snacks, fruit and fresh baked cookies were always available. WIth the inexpensive cost, it's a great deal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KTUFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The Nashua House is a beautiful warm friendly enviroment to spend on the island. I enjoy the close proximity to the shops and restaurants, walking distance to the beach and sites. The staff is excellent in providing information about the island including transportation options as well as great choices for dinner at the local restaurants. I found our room for our stay, very clean and bright with air conditionioning. A little street noise late nights can be blocked out with the air conditioner! The bike lock up was very handy and close to the hotel, also provided us with beach towels and chairs to borrow. Sharred bathrooms were not a problem, everyone is kind and considerate and quick, there are plenty available!
Loved our stay, two nights and we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
0.2 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
601 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
947 reviews
4.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
0.1 mi away
Madison Inn
Madison Inn
#3 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nashua House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashua House Hotel

Property: Nashua House Hotel
Address: 9 Healy Way, PO Box 803, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nashua House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super charming and very affordable 15 room Victorian era inn in the heart of Oak Bluffs. Cozy rooms, cottage style furnishings, quality linens, spotlessly clean, free Wi-Fi, just one block from the ferry and beach. Within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants, public transportation, bike and car rentals, historic sights. Always the lowest price on Martha's Vineyard. Shared bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Nashua House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nashua Hotel Oak Bluffs
Nashua House Hotel Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing