We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful weekend,”
Review of Nashua House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nashua House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful weekend,”
Reviewed October 14, 2011

This was the most relaxing stay we have ever exprienced in all of our travels. The hotel just seemed to blend into the day. Its had to say, other than we can't imagine having had stayed anywhere else. Though you shared a bathroom across the hall it was always spotless and we never had to waite. Even with the exietement in the streets we slept like never before. It was close to everything and parking was never an issue and the price was amazing. It was as if it was built just for us. Thank you for the rest.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    105
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
41
172
35
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I like hotels with their own individual personality, and Nashua House fits that bill. It's located in a rambling old house with a front porch in the center of Oak Bluffs, one of the more relaxed (some would say hard-drinkin') towns on Martha's Vineyard. Everything from Thai food to cocktails to a quiet walk along the waterfront is available within a few blocks. Oak Bluffs is also home to a neighborhood of more than 300 colorful camp-meeting cottages, which make for pleasant walking. (Check out the Cottage Museum too.)

Nashua House's staff is attentive, friendly, and efficient at dealing with problems. The hotel is European-style, which means the bathrooms are shared. But they were across the hall and kept rigorously clean, so that wasn't a problem. The rooms are individual and quirky. The wifi is free and the signal was strong. Our room was No. 4, which was small but cozy with a full-sized bed and a shared balcony that overlooked both the town and the beach. As another reviewer has pointed out, the shared balcony means there's a potential lack of privacy, so we kept the curtains closed at night.

There is no hotel parking, but that wasn't a problem during our autumn visit. Within a couple of blocks, there was plenty of free street parking, for periods of up to 24 hours.

One of the best advantages of the hotel--its central location--was also its greatest drawback. Nashua House is across the street from a bar that, even in the off-season, remained rowdy until about 12:30 or 1 a.m. One night it kept us awake. One night it didn't. Go figure. The room air-conditioner blunted the sound with white noise, but it's a loud hum that some people might find overwhelming. The street noise, combined with the hotel's thin walls and ceilings, mean that it's not the place for those who crave quiet.

But if you're tolerate some noise, Nashua House is comfortable, convenient, and definitely not cookie cutter. It's quite a bargain to boot.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NC-Traveler-47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allston, MA
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed at the Nashua House, Room #3. It is one of the Ocean View rooms, and that aspect is the only negative. It is ocean view, but out of a window and across the rest of the balcony, so we ended up keeping the curtain closed on that window anyway, for privacy. Other than that, it is a great place to stay! Prices are great, the staff is very friendly and the place is kept incredibly clean and tidy.
Sharing bathrooms was never an issue because there are two on every floor. We also stayed after Labor Day, so this probably helped.
The hotel will keep your bags in the lobby until you are catching your ferry, so you don't need to lug them around after checking out.
It's also located less than a five minute walk from the beach, coffee shops, restaurants and great little stores.
I know some people have problems with the "noise level", but it's in an old, old building. You are going to hear the creaks of people on the stairs, but we couldn't hear people talking in other rooms or anything. If you don't mind ambient noise of life going on, then you'll be fine. We live in Boston and are used to the noises of other people, and it was a lot quieter than that, so consider that.
We'll be staying here again!

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend busting out the extra bucks for the Ocean View rooms, unless you grab the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bailey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed at the Nashua House mid-September which was great - not too busy and the price was only $69. The room is small but very cute decor and clean and we enjoyed the balcony.
We did have some noisy people upstairs the first morning at 6 a.m. so I would agree with others that it may be better to get a room on the third floor.
Oak Bluffs is a beautiful place to visit and I would definitely stay at the Nashua House Hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdt282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed here for a wedding, and overall we were pleased. The staff was very helpful. When our taxi didn't show up, they drove us to our destination! The room was clean and the beds comfortable. You have to be able to deal with shared bathrooms. The 2 nights we stayed, we always found one open, and there was full occupancy. The only drawback is it's on a side street, yet surprisingly noisy. Bring your ear plugs!

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ljw682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlem, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2011

I would not stay here again. I had the best room #1, ocean view...ocean view a very tiny bit. We shared the bathroom w/room #2 and one downstairs. Ignorant people. There is a quiet time 10pm-7am. The guy was singing in the hallway on the way to the bathroom at 6:30..woke us up, stayed in the bathroom 30 minutes constantly making noises. The location is great except across the st is a restaurant and throughout the night there were people talking/yelling while walking on the st. The front desk didn't open till 8am. No phone in the room. I enjoyed the porch, but can only use untill 10pm. We got there early off the ferry at 12:45pm, went to the hotel and told we had to come back after 3pm, at least she let us keep our luggage there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerofMadisonInn, Owner at Nashua House Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
We are sorry that this guest did not enjoy their stay at the Nashua House Hotel. As is evident from the abundant positive reviews of the Nashua House Hotel here on Trip Advisor, this guests experience is not typical. The room that this guest stayed in, room #1, is our most highly sought after room and is always the first room to book. The view of Nantucket Sound from room #1 is commanding, and the room also has a wonderful balcony with an equally terrific ocean view. Yes, the Nashua House has shared bathrooms, but there are five bathrooms available and these guests could have sought out another bathroom as necessary. Our front desk is open from 8 a.m. to 10 p.m., and this is very common for Martha's Vineyard. There is always an after hours telephone number posted at the front desk and there is a staff person available 24 hours a day. Very few hotels on Martha's Vineyard have telephones in the rooms; cellphones have rendered in-room phones an amenity that few people seem to be interested in. Check-in time is 3:00 p.m. and these guests would not have been told that they had to leave the hotel and come back; many of our guests arrive before our check-in time and opt to wait in our lobby until their room is ready. The Nashua House Hotel is a superb hotel value on Martha's Vineyard Island and is highly rated on Trip Advisor accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed in Nashua House in Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The reception staff was very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is ideal and close to all shops, the harbour, the ferry, restaurants, etc. Although we stayed in the smallest room (Room 17) the room was spotless. We appreciated the complimentary water and snacks. We are not used to sharing a bathroom but our experience was that the bathroom was cleaned on a regular basis and it therefore did not really feel that we were sharing. We also found the price of the accommodation very reasonable. Should we ever visit Martha's Vineyard again, I'm sure we would stay at Nashua House.

Room Tip: Room 17 is very tiny but cosy and looks out onto a brick wall. If it is the only room available, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
934 reviews
4.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
0.1 mi away
Madison Inn
Madison Inn
#3 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nashua House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashua House Hotel

Property: Nashua House Hotel
Address: 9 Healy Way, PO Box 803, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nashua House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super charming and very affordable 15 room Victorian era inn in the heart of Oak Bluffs. Cozy rooms, cottage style furnishings, quality linens, spotlessly clean, free Wi-Fi, just one block from the ferry and beach. Within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants, public transportation, bike and car rentals, historic sights. Always the lowest price on Martha's Vineyard. Shared bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Nashua House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nashua Hotel Oak Bluffs
Nashua House Hotel Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing