We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nashua House is the BEST!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nashua House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nashua House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nashua House is the BEST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

We give the Nashua House 5 stars but would give it 10 if we could!

We have stayed at the Nashua House several times now and in different rooms. All the rooms are very clean and the beds are great. Although we are not big fans of sharing a bathroom at the Nashua House its not a problem at all. The bathrooms are so clean and the staff stays rght on top of keeping them that way.

MaryBeth and Lori that run the hotel are the greatest people on the island. They are so helpful and accomadating and make you feel so welcome. We will always make the Nashua House our first choice on the Vineyard because the rates are reasonable and the place is in a great location (we also go off season and the rates are even better!)

Also, the best part of all is it is right next door to "Back Door Doughnuts" so be sure to ask MaryBeth and Lori about that hidden secret!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryRob8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    103
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
38
169
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Meadow, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

After much research my husband and I booked our trip to the Nashua house for our 5 year anniversary. We arrived at the Nashua house and were able to leave our luggage in the hotel lobby until we could check-in at 3. Now You may be hesitant to do so, But the great thing about the Hotel is that you need a key to open the front door, as well as your room!!! I felt so safe. We rented bikes and the hotel also had an offsite bike storage room. Stayed in room 2 which had a balcony, which was awesome to hang out on before heading off to dinner. The staff was super friendly, and we felt like we were at home. They made our trip special and enjoyable. It is in the heart of a busy town, but with the AC on we didnt hear a thing!!! Definately recommending Nashua house to friends and family, and WILL stay again!!.....

Room Tip: Any with a balcony, Room 2 or 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melanie1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

We felt so relax and the owner and manager were so friendly and feel like if we are family.

They were so generous and Suggest must go there.

Thank you... We will never that moment our vacation were worth!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zalisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

The Nashua House was the most reasonably priced accomodation we could find on Martha's Vineyard (not including hostels), and as a result we weren't expecting the highest standard. However, we were pleasantly surprised. We stayed in Room 9 ($109 per night). It was very cute, clean and had plenty of light. Although the rooms share bathrooms, this wasn't a problem at all - Despite it being a 'full house' during our stay, we never once had to wait for the bathroom.

We were very impressed by the helpfulness of the House manager. My boyfriend had quite badly injured his foot the day before arrival. The House manager not only provided us with crutches, but was also proactive in providing us with other medical supplies, such as antiseptic.

The only negative for us was that the street below our room was quite busy, and there was a lot of yelling and loud vehicles driving past into the early hours of the morning. Unfortunately this affected our sleep quality; but I guess that is a consequence of the great central location of Nashua House. It would also be good if there were computers with internet, as the closest location for this is the public library which is about a 20 minute walk away.

Overall, we were extremely happy with the Nashua House, and will definitely stay there again if we return to Oak Bluffs.

Room Tip: Go for Room 9 or 11!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEThomas2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

I won't rate one star (terrible), but feel two stars (poor) is appropriate; as in "poor etiquette".
Though we did not stay at this hotel during a recent family vacation, we had a less than pleasant interaction with the HOTEL OWNER while momentarily escaping the hot sun, sitting in the shade on his front porch. We were with our two boys (both under 4yo) and our two little dogs. Everyone needed a quick water/shade break and we were letting our dogs drink from a cup when the owner walked out and asked us to leave (strange, but ok) except his smug attitude and passive aggressive hostility was shocking! He said he didn't want us sitting on his porch "spilling water so his guests tracked water through his hotel" and asked us to leave! Others around us witnesses the interaction and were also clearly shocked.
SO....if the forecast calls for rain, or if you have wet/sandy feet-- you're probably better off finding a more suitable property. The website also states not suitable for kids < 4yo and pets not welcome. The property and location "appear" nice and may be great for some, but who needs bad attitudes when on vacation???

There are many ways this situation could have been handled, but unfortunately his approach was ridiculous, insulting and unnecessary and thus warrants this review rating of POOR. Maybe next time the owner will handle the situation better.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank NoWetFeetAllowed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerofMadisonInn, Owner at Nashua House Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
(Please note that the reviewer above WAS NOT a guest of the Nashua House Hotel.) We all love dogs, right? So this unfortunate interaction was not about the dogs, which were adorable, ok? In all fairness, this reviewer did not mention three really important points: 1. That the reviewer and his family were taking up all of the available seating on our very small front porch, preventing any actual guests from enjoying the front porch themselves; 2. That they were allowing their dogs, although leashed, to sit almost directly in front of our front entry door, preventing any of our actual guests from going in or out of the front door without having to say "Excuse me" and have the dogs owner pull the dogs out of the way, and 3. In addition to allowing the dogs to drink out of one or more cups of water the dogs owner POURED the cup(s) of water over the dogs in an apparent attempt to cool the dogs off, but did so right in the middle of our otherwise dry and freshly swept from door mat, creating a messy, wet puddle that my guests would have been unable to avoid as they came in and out of the building. It was this last event that caused me to finally point out to them the hazard they were creating and the mess they were making.
As for not accepting pets it is important to note that fewer than 10 percent of the hotels on Martha's Vineyard accept pets, and when we do get an inquiry from a guest about pets we are happy to refer them to one of the few hotels that do accept pets.
As for not accepting children under 4 years of age is is important to note that many hotels on Martha's Vineyard have a minimum age restriction, and our age restriction is well considered and is for the benefit of all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

I stayed at the Nashua house for a wedding in June. I was able to stay for one night and had a great stay. They let me drop off my bags and check in early so I could get ready for the wedding. The room was adorable - clean, cute, with complimentary water and snacks. I was weary of the shared bathroom but it never once felt shared and was very clean and close to the room. At the end of my stay, the woman at the desk even drove me to the ferry because it was pouring rain - which was above and beyond what I expected. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Courto23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

This is a cute little hotel that is ideally located. Its a few seconds to the beach, or downtown oak bluffs or the bus stop that takes you anywhere else on Martha's Vineyard you'd want to go. Best of all was the service! They were so helpful with advice and all those little things we needed: beach towels, umbrellas, an extra book to read on the beach, change for the bus, etc. The shared bathroom is slightly inconvenient, but its so minor, and its also what makes this amazing place so affordable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gello10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
5.1 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madison Inn
Madison Inn
#3 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nashua House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashua House Hotel

Property: Nashua House Hotel
Address: 9 Healy Way, PO Box 803, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nashua House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super charming and very affordable 15 room Victorian era inn in the heart of Oak Bluffs. Cozy rooms, cottage style furnishings, quality linens, spotlessly clean, free Wi-Fi, just one block from the ferry and beach. Within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants, public transportation, bike and car rentals, historic sights. Always the lowest price on Martha's Vineyard. Shared bath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nashua Hotel Oak Bluffs
Nashua House Hotel Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing