We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More for the younger, hipper crowd,,But a good experience”
Review of Oak Bluffs Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oak Bluffs Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
new jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“More for the younger, hipper crowd,,But a good experience”
Reviewed September 16, 2006

We first stayed at the Mansion House in Vineyard Haven for two nights, then moved over to this Inn.

It depends on what you are looking for, but I do not recommend this for the older crowd. We are in our 50's and we were by far the oldest of a pretty full house. Not that this was a bad thing but be prepared.

The house is older, but all of the Vineyard is. The rooms were clean, and we had # 9, which is a nice large room. Beware the shower door must be kept closed or the smoke detector will go off on you!

The Inn itself is nice, breakfast what you would expect, cookies, and a refrigerator for your wine. Lots of books, room to sit, and a porch overlooking Circuit Avenue.

This is where I have a few things to note. First of all, the speakers on the porch are hooked up for your ipod , so you find yourself listening to everyones favorite tunes, fairly loud. Not necessarily relaxing, and the one guy loved Cosby Stills, and it got pretty boring and anoying. My advise to Eric the inn keeper, kill that... It is not for the relaxing people. Yes, it is great for a party house, but that is not what an Inn in the Vineyard should be really.

Also the porch is full of everyone drinking, and Eric had champagne out for some guests, and not others. Again, kinda rude I thought. Some people were back for their fifth visit, and it was like Eric had company and we were intruding. This happened every night. Kinda strange I thought.

We did like the location very much, easy walk or cab ride. The maids did not clean room well, but that was okay.

You will see in some posts Eric thinks he is a cool dude. The fact is he is pretty nice but sorta like being in his house and he is a bit a of a hippy dippy. That again is fine, if you are 20=35, but beyond that, you may want to go somewhere else.

I want this review to be fair, and not to hurt his business, because he was very nice, and runs a nice business. But you sit on the porch while he parties both nites, he has his kids out there on the porch, the ipod is booming, and you expect the college kids to come storming in.

Sooo if you want a vacation that is for the cool,,,hip,,,,crowd, do this INN. You will really love it.

WE did have a good time, but I would go where we fit in better next time, and pay more.

Hard to explain,,,but if you go,,, you will see. It is kinda like being at woodstock

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Music
  • Tips/Secrets — Age appropiate for younger
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank baileyandwinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    54
    8
    8
    3
See reviews for
77
355
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2006

We had a fantastic time at Oak Bluffs Inn! My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our hosts (Eric was very knowledgeable, among other things!)

Loved the cookies and lemonade in the afternoon! The snacks were so sweet and made the trip very homey!

Very nice, clean, cozy, elegant, tasteful place to stay! I highly recommend it!

  • Liked — the personability of the hosts
  • Disliked — our short stay!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank lesleymac82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2006

This is the best Inn on the Vineyard and possibly in the entire United States. It has great rooms, location, an incredible landscape and front porch, and free breakfast. More importantly, Eric (the owner) went above and beyond the call of duty to make my stay great. He burned two CDs for me when I rented a car to tour the island, he expertly removed a red wine stain from my beige shorts, and happily shared great tips about where to eat, tour, beach etc. This place has the whole package!!!

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank paul121234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2006

My wife and I stayed for 6 nights with Eric and family at the Oaks Bluff Inn for our honeymoon. We had a great time thanks to the best porch on the east coast, beautiful weather, and gracious and helpful innkeepers!!!

We are already planning on our one year anniversary visit. Listening to the live Bob Marley that Eric gave me right now!!!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank bwj75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2006

Prior to arriving, we had spoken to Erick on the phone and he was very friendly and inviting. He offered all of the information about his place and all the things to do and see nearby. I especially loved the antique furniture and decor throughout each room and the rest of the Inn. We stayed in two different rooms and both were extremely clean and comforting.

Helpful?
7 Thank boooooom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2006

The Oaks Bluff Inn, as good as it gets, and that ain't no fish tale. The first thing you want to praise is the location. Located on the
Quiet end of Circuit Ave. Walking distance to many restaurants and Island shops. Then you check in with either Rhonda or Erik (Inn owners), which are the true Gems of your Inn experience. They are both over the top helpful with all sorts of Island Life, from resturant reviews, to calling up Island to ge the latest weather forecast.

The Inn itself is very comfortable and relaxed. The porch is taylor made for early and late evening people watching. Homemade continental breakfast every morning, gotta love it.

It's been said, "you can't be all things to all people", The OB Inn is getting close. Much Respect for the OB Inn and Inn Keepers.
For those who know...........FUB's

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank Phillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2006

Highly recommended! We stayed at Oak Bluffs Inn in June 2006 and found that it's near everything you want to be close to - ferry, beaches, Campgrounds, bike trails, great restaurants . . .

The exterior is gorgeous, with a beautiful garden and spacious wrap-around porch. The rooms have been beautifully restored and very cleverly transformed to give plenty of space for guests. Ours was well-appointed and spotless, with a very comfortable hotel-style bed. There's also a big downstairs sitting room full of magazines and books, which is a great place to bump into other guests and chat (for hours!)

Owners Erik and Rhonda Albert are smart, funny, friendly and very generous with their extensive knowledge of the Vineyard and advice on how to get the best out of your stay. And every morning there's a breakfast buffet featuring Erik's delicious patented blueberry pudding. It's a cliche to say someone "makes you feel at home," but these guys really do create a very welcoming and inclusive atmosphere. Stay with them and you may find yourself, as we did, hanging out on the porch all evening with your hosts, a bunch of other guests, and cold one, having the time of your life!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelshiela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.3 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
947 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
348 reviews
4.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bluffs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bluffs Inn

Property: Oak Bluffs Inn
Address: 64 Circuit Ave., Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bluffs Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Oak Bluffs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bluffs Hotel Oak Bluffs
Oak Bluffs Inn MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing