We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Oak Bluffs Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oak Bluffs Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Eric, the owner, makes you feel as though you have a friend on the island -- a great source of info and incredibly generous with his time. He called our cell when we were waiting for ferry to take us to Vineyard, and then very kindly met our boat. The location of the Inn is perfect -- close to all the action, but not in the midst of it. (For the record, we thought Edgartown was perfect day trip -- but really enjoyed staying in Oak Bluffs.)

Room #8 was terrific. Clean, seemed newly updated, quiet. Loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavoila17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
There are newer reviews for Oak Bluffs Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 676 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

When you arrive on the Vineyard you start to understand what "Island Time" is all about. The Oak Bluffs Inn is the perfect place to relax and also see all the sites. Eric the owner is a terrific host that will guide you in the right direction and puts out a nice spread for tea time. If you are lucky you will join him and other guests for a fire on the beach while watching the sunset. Life does not get much better than that!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife Bee and I love the Oak Bluffs Inn! We've stayed there many times and this will always be our go-too place to stay on Martha's Vineyard. Erik and Rhonda are great hosts - always make you feel at home. The Inn is beautiful, comfortable, clean and steps away from great bars, restaurants and things to do. We love to rent bikes and ride to the ocean - there are always backpack beach chairs, towels, umbrellas - everything you need to have a great beach stay. Great coffee and breakfast in the morning - cereals, hard-boiled eggs, bagels, fruits etc. - and sweet treats in the afternoon. Best part is happy hour on the porch relaxing with fellow guests. Can't wait to go back in September. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdBlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed for a week with girlfriend and never met innkeeper Rhonda who was apparently not around. Eric with his quirky personality takes time to warm too but was somewhat helpful. Stayed in room 1 which is on ground floor and noisy and not what we expected. Every time someone walked into and out of inn we heard them. Every time someone came downstairs for breakfast we heard them. Room small and cute with no amenities. Inn on main street with lots of traffic. Breakfast continental plus with little fanfare. I am sure this is one of the better inns in this area but I would avoid Room # 1 and insist on staying upstairs.

Room Tip: upstairs or pass
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MFK1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Good: Air conditioning is quiet and greatly appreciated after a day at the beach, or wandering around the beautiful but humid island. The availability of beach chairs, umbrellas and towels, combined with the short stroll to the water, made Oak Bluffs an ideal location for enjoying the sun & sand. And it was just far enough from the harbor and main commercial district (which reminded me of Hampton Bays on Long Island) to be out of the fray but easily accessible by foot. Breakfast was ample, with fruit, yogurt, cereal, juice, bagels and a cobbler or crumble available each morning. Great lemonade in the afternoon, a shared fridge on the first floor to chill your favorite libations, and a wonderful porch for relaxing and people watching. Knowledgeable hosts always explained why they appreciated or didn't care for an event or venue so that we could make decisions on restaurants, activities or attractions.

The Bad: Room was loud, not from traffic or pedestrians, but from the constant drone of an undulating wah-wah-wah sound. It was not the AC, because when off, the noise persisted.

The Ugly: Smoke detector began chirping at 2am, indicating low battery. Very annoying, seems this could have been prevented by replacing the batteries at start of each season. Housekeeping staff left a lot to be desired...they ate some of the candy we purchased, and one day removed all our towels around noon, but by around 4pm still hadn't returned to replace them or finish making up the room. Erik resolved this pretty quickly once we let him know.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FMOCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I love the Oak Bluffs Inn! This is the first time that both my husband and I have stayed at a B&B. It was amazing and such a nice change from the big hotels that we are used to. It was clean and nicely kept. The location is great and is withing walkin distance to everything, including the ferry and beach. We stayed in Room 6 and enjoyed it very much.

Rhonda was a great help with my reservation and Erik is an excellent host. He has a very laid back personality and knows every inch of the island. He is full of great suggestions on things to do and is happy to help.

There is breakfast every morning (8:30-10), cookies/lemonade in the afternoon, and snacks (chips, granola bars, tea/coffee) at all times. There are towels, beach chairs books/magazines for the beach and AC in the bedrooms.

I highly recommend The Oak Bluffs Inn. We cannot wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MT0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Oaks Bluff Inn is the perfect getaway spot. I went to the Vineyard for a girls weekend with three friends and we all had a fabulous trip! The Inn is situated right in the middle of town, but slightly off the main strip so you can walk to everything, but it's in a quiet area. The rooms are quaint and immaculate. The host/owner (Erik) is fantastic, providing a lovely breakfast, cookies and lemonade in the afternoon, excellent advice on where to eat/what to see/how to travel around the island and all the little extras that make you feel right at home in the Inn. My favorite part though? The front porch with the rocking chairs, perfect for sipping your morning coffee or an afternoon cocktail. Look no further, Oaks Bluff Inn is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.3 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
814 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
980 reviews
4.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
0.3 mi away
Isabelle's Beach House
Isabelle's Beach House
#4 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bluffs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bluffs Inn

Address: 64 Circuit Ave., Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range: $200 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bluffs Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Oak Bluffs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bluffs Hotel Oak Bluffs
Oak Bluffs Inn MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing