We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would return, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Oak Bluffs Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oak Bluffs Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I would return, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Good: Air conditioning is quiet and greatly appreciated after a day at the beach, or wandering around the beautiful but humid island. The availability of beach chairs, umbrellas and towels, combined with the short stroll to the water, made Oak Bluffs an ideal location for enjoying the sun & sand. And it was just far enough from the harbor and main commercial district (which reminded me of Hampton Bays on Long Island) to be out of the fray but easily accessible by foot. Breakfast was ample, with fruit, yogurt, cereal, juice, bagels and a cobbler or crumble available each morning. Great lemonade in the afternoon, a shared fridge on the first floor to chill your favorite libations, and a wonderful porch for relaxing and people watching. Knowledgeable hosts always explained why they appreciated or didn't care for an event or venue so that we could make decisions on restaurants, activities or attractions.

The Bad: Room was loud, not from traffic or pedestrians, but from the constant drone of an undulating wah-wah-wah sound. It was not the AC, because when off, the noise persisted.

The Ugly: Smoke detector began chirping at 2am, indicating low battery. Very annoying, seems this could have been prevented by replacing the batteries at start of each season. Housekeeping staff left a lot to be desired...they ate some of the candy we purchased, and one day removed all our towels around noon, but by around 4pm still hadn't returned to replace them or finish making up the room. Erik resolved this pretty quickly once we let him know.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FMOCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    51
    7
    8
    3
See reviews for
71
337
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I love the Oak Bluffs Inn! This is the first time that both my husband and I have stayed at a B&B. It was amazing and such a nice change from the big hotels that we are used to. It was clean and nicely kept. The location is great and is withing walkin distance to everything, including the ferry and beach. We stayed in Room 6 and enjoyed it very much.

Rhonda was a great help with my reservation and Erik is an excellent host. He has a very laid back personality and knows every inch of the island. He is full of great suggestions on things to do and is happy to help.

There is breakfast every morning (8:30-10), cookies/lemonade in the afternoon, and snacks (chips, granola bars, tea/coffee) at all times. There are towels, beach chairs books/magazines for the beach and AC in the bedrooms.

I highly recommend The Oak Bluffs Inn. We cannot wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MT0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Oaks Bluff Inn is the perfect getaway spot. I went to the Vineyard for a girls weekend with three friends and we all had a fabulous trip! The Inn is situated right in the middle of town, but slightly off the main strip so you can walk to everything, but it's in a quiet area. The rooms are quaint and immaculate. The host/owner (Erik) is fantastic, providing a lovely breakfast, cookies and lemonade in the afternoon, excellent advice on where to eat/what to see/how to travel around the island and all the little extras that make you feel right at home in the Inn. My favorite part though? The front porch with the rocking chairs, perfect for sipping your morning coffee or an afternoon cocktail. Look no further, Oaks Bluff Inn is the place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The stellar reviews that have already been written for the Oak Bluffs Inn say it all. The hospitality is absolutely fantastic (above and beyond anything one could ask for), the location is exceptional, and the top floor suite is perhaps the perfect getaway possible. Definitely one of our most memorable trips, and I'm sure you will feel the same if you choose to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ntikku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is the one! My wife and I just spent 2 nights/3 days here, for our 20th anniversary, and had the great fortune to stay in the top floor suite. It is bright and lovely, impossibly roomy, thoroughly fitted out, and plenty romantic. Location is excellent (walk to everything), but quiet at night. And the service? Erik has got it down: from the rides from & to the ferry, to the breakfasts and the dining recommendations, to the attention to detail, there were simply no issues. Erik knows the island, & he will cut to the chase for you. Just Stay Here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drgregri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Oak Bluffs Inn is in the center of town, walk from the ferry and to everything in town. The inn is very clean, comfortable and cozy! It's always a blast to sit on the rocking chairs on the front porch enjoy the scenery and get to know everyone else, always a great time. This was our 7th year there and we can't wait to go back!! The best part... Eric and Rhonda! They are great hosts, we feel that we are visiting good friends every year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

So many positives about this great in town location that I can't list them all. Starts when your greeted by the gracious owner (Erik) and ends when your invited back with open arms. Makes you fell like family! Rooms can be on the small side but spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast is out of this world. Always some homemade cookies to munch on in the dinning room. Rocking on the front porch is a must any time of day or night. I've stayed here twice now and plan to make it my regular stop when in Oak Bluffs. You can not go wrong with this wonderfully run and very well maintained gem of an Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeneNewburyport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.3 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
5.1 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Isabelle's Beach House
Isabelle's Beach House
#4 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bluffs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bluffs Inn

Property: Oak Bluffs Inn
Address: 64 Circuit Ave., Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bluffs Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oak Bluffs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bluffs Hotel Oak Bluffs
Oak Bluffs Inn MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing