We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay if you are visiting Martha's Vineyard”
Review of Oak Bluffs Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oak Bluffs Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Oak Bluffs Inn is in the center of town, walk from the ferry and to everything in town. The inn is very clean, comfortable and cozy! It's always a blast to sit on the rocking chairs on the front porch enjoy the scenery and get to know everyone else, always a great time. This was our 7th year there and we can't wait to go back!! The best part... Eric and Rhonda! They are great hosts, we feel that we are visiting good friends every year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
There are newer reviews for Oak Bluffs Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 673 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

So many positives about this great in town location that I can't list them all. Starts when your greeted by the gracious owner (Erik) and ends when your invited back with open arms. Makes you fell like family! Rooms can be on the small side but spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast is out of this world. Always some homemade cookies to munch on in the dinning room. Rocking on the front porch is a must any time of day or night. I've stayed here twice now and plan to make it my regular stop when in Oak Bluffs. You can not go wrong with this wonderfully run and very well maintained gem of an Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeneNewburyport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I lived on the Vineyard for 5 years. I moved off the rock in 2010. My wife and I were married in October 2012 in Edgartown.

We wanted to go visit the island and came up with a free weekend in June. I called Erik, the owner and usually the gentleman answering the phone, to see if he had anything available. It was the weekend of Harborfest and as an ex-Islander I was concerned nobody would have availability. Erik had a couple rooms available for the weekend.

Let me be clear, this was my first trip to the Vineyard as a tourist. I never went to the island before moving there for work. I spent 5 years working 2 jobs and never made it to any big tourist events.

Staying at the Oak Bluffs Inn was absolutely perfect. The location is next to all the action of Oak Bluffs (better than right in the middle with all the noise). We walked all over town and were always right by the Inn. When we weren't sure of what to do, Erik told us to grab a couple of beach chairs and towels and sit at the beach - very walkable. Erik also recommended restaurants (they've all changed since I moved) and a variety of new, exciting things to do. He has is ear to the ground and knows what's happening all over the island.

Between the location and knowledgeable, approachable owners, you'd think that would be enough to give this an "Excellent" rating.

To add a little to this "Excellent" rating:
1. My wife and I couldn't get over how the whole building was so clean, inside and out.
2. The breakfast was fantastic.
3. They provide Mighty Leaf tea and home made cookies in the afternoon.
4. You could spend days just sitting on the porch.

The Oak Bluffs Inn is your ideal place to spend any amount of time on the Vineyard. It's a clean bed close to the beach and excellent restaurants, and has some excellent hosts who will act as concierge or companions to go out with (Yes, Erik often takes his guests to beach bonfires and has no problem going out for drinks).

Room Tip: Every room is a great room. We stayed in Room 1 and it was fantastic. We toured the Penthouse Suite...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I can't say enough about what amazing, lovely people Eric and Rhonda are, and what a great place they have. From the moment my girlfriend and I booked our trip online, to the moment we left the Vineyard on the ferry, Eric was there to help us every step of the way and to make us truly feel like we were staying with family. It has been my experience in traveling to many places all over the world that the most important factor in determining whether a vacation trip will be a good one or not is the PEOPLE. You could not ask for more gracious, kind, and caring hosts than Eric and Rhonda. They made our trip absolutely wonderful. My girlfriend is an accomplished chef who has stayed in top places all over the world, and we have been traveling together for over five years. She said that this was the best trip that we had ever taken together, and I completely agree. Eric and Rhonda were the keys to that success. We had no idea when we booked the trip that Eric is from a town next to where we grew up, and that was an added bonus that we knew some of the same places and people, but what is so amazing is that Eric goes above and beyond not just for people like us who are from the same area, but for every guest that stays at the Inn and everyone he meets. Beyond giving us the inside scoop on places to eat and things to do, Eric personally drove us to a great music concert and gave us a tour of the entire island. We bonded over our shared love of music and had a lot of fun jamming on guitars together. You can see that Eric loves what he does and that he truly cares about everyone having a great experience and that he cares deeply about the Oak Bluffs and Martha's Vineyard community. The Inn itself is beautiful and in great condition. We stayed in one of the garden guest rooms with a private entrance, and it was perfect. Peaceful, relaxing, quiet and private; just what we were looking for. Breakfast was always delicious and the cookies and lemonade were a nice treat in the afternoons. Eric is literally like the Mayor of Oak Bluffs; he knows everybody and everywhere we went he had already put in a good word for us. We rented Bikes at Andersons and when we told them we were staying with Eric they gave us a good deal and were fine with letting us keep the bikes overnight for a nice morning ride the next day. We ate at The Sweet Life restaurant across the street; it was delicious and after our meal we ran into Eric again at the bar and got to meet some of the staff and the head chef who are all friends of his. This was our first time at the Vineyard and we didn't know what to expect; it can be challenging when you're a newcomer and some places are less than welcoming - not at Oak Bluff's Inn. We really felt like we were among old friends, and we look forward to returning again soon.

Room Tip: If you want a private entrance, the garden apartments are the way to go. The upstairs suite is fant...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donatello144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent three wonderful nights relaxing at the Oak Bluffs Inn. Erik was a fantastic host. His recommendations for dinner were spot on. He went out of his way to map out a tour of the island for us and to reserve a rental car. He also drove us to the ferry.
The room was perfect with many windows overlooking the town. The breakfast was tasty. The front porch was perfect for breakfast and evening relaxation. I could go on and on. What a wonderful stay we had!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrswoodluvsdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just spent 2 nights at the Oak Bluffs Inn. My wife and I were made to feel at home as soon as we arrived. Both Erik and his wife were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great both mornings and the lemonade in the afternoon was delicious. The most relaxing part of the trip was sitting on the porch where there always seemed to be a breeze. Also we were welcomed back to relax on the porch the afternoon after we checked out. We could not have been any happier with our stay

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

When you go on vacation, particularly to a small island, you need two essential things: a beautiful place to stay and a warm, enthusiastic local host. If you go on vacation to Martha's Vineyard, both of those things can be found in the Oak Bluffs Inn and its proprietor, Erik. Aside from the beautiful property--an expansive porch of comfy chairs, port and sherry in the living room, acoustic guitars and candles--the highlight of our trip was benefitting from Erik's almost preposterous knowledge of the island. To say he goes above and beyond the call of duty is an understatement--don't be surprised if you run into him after having dinner by the harbor and he takes you on an impromptu bar crawl, as he did for us. Don't be surprised if he introduces you to some other locals, or lights candles and puts on music for you when he sees you want to relax on the porch. Don't be surprised if he breaks out a little whiskey or plays you a video of Wynton Marsalis' performance in their living room a few weeks back. When we wanted to rent a car, he didn't just tell us where to go (as most hosts would), he called a few places himself and told us what was available and for how much. He built itineraries for us, lent us beach chairs, and made sure we were taken care of even after we checked out. He almost single-handedly made our stay.

If you want to go to Martha's Vineyard and you want to stay at a B&B, you want to stay at the Oak Bluffs Inn. Thanks, Erik and Rhonda!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterBWarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.3 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
813 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
979 reviews
4.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
0.3 mi away
Isabelle's Beach House
Isabelle's Beach House
#4 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bluffs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bluffs Inn

Address: 64 Circuit Ave., Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range: $200 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bluffs Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Oak Bluffs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bluffs Hotel Oak Bluffs
Oak Bluffs Inn MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing