We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“poor first impression” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pequot Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pequot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
somerset
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“poor first impression”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked this hotel for 3 nights, but it was advertised under B&B's so surprised a little when it turned out to be more a hotel than that what we were expecting. We were given a room up 3 flights of narrow steep steps and on the way up it looked in need of a refurbish, our hearts were sinking rapidly, the room was no better, but no television no phone no coffeemaker? Although we discovered there was 24 hour hot drinks a nd biscuits in reception. But that was 3 flights and a walk away! We looked for alternate accommodation on the Island, but for a friday and Saturday everything seemed to be full up. asked at reception for a change and they had just had a cancellation, moved to a lovely room on the ground floor (with television) and close to reception for amenities. Last 2 days were fine, and breakfast was adequate. But they really need to sort the annex out, very much in need of decoration and updating. The staff were excellent through out and a pleasant area, not too far from everything. If it was not for the first room, we would recommend this hotel. Hopefully it will be done this winter?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bbflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Pequot Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear bbflyer,

We're glad you asked! YES, we have improvements planned for the Pequot over the winter, as we do every winter.

In the Annex, that portion of the hotel directly across the front patio, improvements will include freshly painted walls and furniture as well as soundproofing. We have also replaced many windows. Last year, we updated the bathrooms and replaced the carpeting. At this time, we have no plans to add TVs to the Annex simply because so many guests THANK us for providing a choice to have no TV. Many guests choose the Annex specifically because they enjoy the simple "Vineyard Cottage " atmosphere (and because these rooms are our most economical).

Your note brings to mind the importance of CALLING, if possible, when making reservations. That way we can describe the various room options we have available. Believe me, when a guest is disappointed, even if it's just a "first impression",the entirety of Team Pequot is disappointed. We love nothing more than having all our guests be HAPPY.

We are so glad you ended up enjoying your stay, and if your travels ever bring you back to MV, we would love to see you again!

Warm regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    146
    34
    18
    11
See reviews for
97
283
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Holiday
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I was here with my daughter for two nights and it was a perfect place to stay. The hallways are painted with beautiful scenes from the Island. The rooms were painted as well and were clean. The breakfast is one of the best I've had for a bed and breakfast. Will definitely go back here again some day! Highly recommended. Jana Harrison

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJH515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Pequot Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Jana,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The Pequot. It sounds like The Annex suited your needs well, and I'm so pleased that you enjoyed it's traditional Vineyard Cottage charm. Many of our guests return annually and request The Annex specifically for just that reason!

I will pass on your compliments about breakfast to Nadir and Nicky. Both take great pride in preparing our expanded continental breakfast in the morning for the satisfaction of our guests. I'm so glad that you enjoyed our freshly baked muffins, steel cut oatmeal with all the toppings, hardboiled eggs, yogurt , assorted cereals, fruit and bagels and English muffins. (And heads up! Watch for some new additions next season.)
Hopefully we will see you back then!

With warmest regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I spent six days at the Pequot Hotel and were thrilled with the accommodations. The hotel was spotlessly clean. The staff was so friendly and helpful that we felt like they were family when we left. Our check-in and check-out went without a hitch. Our room was so comfortable and charming. The complimentary breakfast was a step above usual offerings with yummy homemade muffins every morning. When we returned to the hotel in the afternoon, there was complimentary coffee, tea, hot cocoa and hot apple cider as well as homemade chocolate chip cookies and homemade ginger bread available. There is no restaurant on site but a wide choice of restaurants are within a block. We highly recommend a stay at the Pequot Hotel. You won't want to go home!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Pequot for four wonderful nights in early October. Lisa and her hard working staff made our stay an extremely enjoyable one. The room was very clean and well maintained. Having a small, room refrigerator was also a help. Each day, on our return from exploring the island, we were greeted with a beverage, warm chocolate chip cookies and a "welcome back!".
For me personally, the aroma of freshly brewed coffee wafting under my door in the morning was heavenly. I loved getting dressed, grabbing a cup and sitting in a rocking chair on the porch to watch the sunrise over Oak Bluffs. Lisa and her staff were very helpful in their suggestions for restaurants, directions and things to do.
We loved our stay, and look forward to getting back to that porch very soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crownvicnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Pequot Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Crownvicnick,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Pequot. I'm so pleased that you were able to enjoy relaxing moments rocking and enjoying life on the porch! I think our porch is one of the things that makes The Pequot unique...it enables guests to make new friends, renew old friendships, and enjoy yummy treats such as our freshly baked cookies and our seasonal gingerbread and cidar!

I'm pleased you were happy with the dining options we suggested, Oak Bluffs is fortunate to have a wide variety of cuisines in it's many great restaurants. Glad you took advantage of them. And heads up...many new ones slated to open next season! Hopefully we will see you then.

With warm regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is my second stay @ The Pequot Hotel, last Columbus Day 2011 I stayed with one other friend, we had so much fun we brought two more friends this year! The location is the best, just a short walk from the RI Fast Ferry. The annex rooms are great (just wish they had mini fridges)
The Continential breakfast are awsome, hard boiled eggs, cold and hot cereals, yogurts, fruits, breads, coffee,teas and juices. Afternoon teas with gingerbread, and chocolate cookies to die for. We didn't bring our car and used the Island bus ($15 for a 3 day pass), it took us everywhere we wanted to go...Menemsha, Aquinna, Vineyard Haven, Edgartown.
This is going to be a yearly trip for all of us!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnn609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Many thanks to Lisa, Nancy and the rest of the Pequot Team! This was my first time staying at this location and I was quite pleased. The rooms are standard size for Vineyard style B&Bs with a private bath. Continental Breakfast was ample with options for all tastes, and afternoon snacks of gingerbread, cookies and cider were always a welcome treat. I loved being able to walk everywhere... to the beach, to Circuit Ave, etc. Highly recommend for a couples get-a-way for a long weekend.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LisaF622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Pequot Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear LisaF622,

Thank YOU for choosing The Pequot for your Vineyard vacation. And thank you for your kind words...I will pass on your compliments to Team Pequot! They will be so pleased to know you enjoyed yourself.

We all look forward to seeing you next season,
Warm regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just a few blocks from the ferry, this charming B&B is hidden in the small streets of OB. I had the pleasure of staying here for a long wedding weekend. To say the staff is helpful would be an understatement. Friendly and sincere, they were more than willing to assist with making the trip a success. It's a quick walk to the ferry, downtown Oak Bluffs, the bus stations and more. They offer a delicious continental breakfast, and the 2pm cookie tray is delicious! A must stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMeg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 715 reviews
0.4 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
4.9 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
0.2 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 16 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pequot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pequot Hotel

Property: Pequot Hotel
Address: 19 Pequot Ave, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pequot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pequot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pequot Hotel Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing