We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic place to stay on the Vineyard!”
Review of The Dockside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dockside Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

They say location, location, location, but honestly even with the great location (right off the ferry, walking distance to everything!) I would say location was at the bottom of all the great reasons to stay at The Dockside Inn. From the minute we walked into the lobby I could tell I really liked this place. Everything looked brand new, very clean, inviting, and the staff was genuinely there to assist and make your stay better. The "snack room" has everything you could possibly want, all complimentary... coffee, icecream, yogurt, water, fresh baked cookies in the afternoon, hot homemade banana bread at breakfast... I'm sure I'm leaving 1/2 the offerings out. They're very family friendly and provided everything you would want to bring to the beach... towels, toys for kids, beach chairs, again all complimentary. When we inquired at the front desk about a taxi, they said they could provide us with car service. What I wasn't expecting was that a 57' Rolls Royce would be waiting for us to take us whereever we wanted to go. The owner is very hands on and a great guy that is truly dedicated to ensuring that his guests have a great experience. We will absolutely be back again and I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 589 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

First ever visit to Marthas Vineyard and having sourced our stay at the Dockside Inn in 2012, we could not fault our choice. The staff were so friendly, welcoming and helpful that they were a breath of fresh air. And a first ... on check in we were given a guided tour of the facilities at the Inn. Just one block off the main street was an excellent setting and the views of the dock from our room were great. Clean room and clean and well stocked bathroom. Complimentary breakfast was good, but personally would have liked opportunity to do toast or a bagel. My wife thoroughly enjoyed the banana cake though. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonesLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We loved Dockside before we even walked into the door because of its location- restaurants, shops, and the water all within walking distance. Our stay did not disappoint- John and his staff are amazing, the decor is beautiful, and our room was impeccable. We were surprised that the Inn was stocked with beach chairs, umbrellas, and coolers to use and with snacks/refreshments for guests- free of charge. My husband booked our trip as a surprise before he returned from deployment, and Loomis welcomed us with a bottle of wine and a "thank you" note for his service. Top notch!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sryng64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a great time at the Dockside Inn. It is centrally located in Oak Buffs. It is right by the harbor and close to all of the shops and restaurants in town. The hotel has been recently updated and has a great staff. We got complimentary champagne when we checked-in and they have snacks available all day. Although we didn't use them, there were also lots of beach supplies available. They've taken care of all the details. We'd definitely recommend the place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zelig15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This place was perfect. It was super clean, the staff was incredibly helpful, and the location was great. Right across the street from the ferry drop off, you can literally walk off the boat, go across the street and drop your luggage off even if your room isnt ready yet and then start your adventure on the Vineyard. The car rental place across the street is so convenient as well, considering there is very little parking, you can park your rental right at their lot. I spent 3 days of my Honeymoon here, and it was well worth it. They have a solarium where they have bagels and fresh local pastries, yogurt, chips, cookies, bottled water, as much as you want, open all day. We didn't get a chance to use the outdoor hottub because of the weather at night, but it looked clean. The rooms are nice, a little small, but all you need is a bed and a bathroom. They are clean and updated and comfortable. Our room was on the second floor and overlooked the garden in the back. We will definitely return to the Dockside on our next trip. Its in a great location, so close to shops and restaurants. Convenient parking for rental cars, and they have a concierge texting service called Loomis who will tell you everything you want to know about where to go and what to do. GO THERE!!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back of the hotel. They are away from the street and overlook the garden. Whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

What a way to celebrate our honeymoon. The staff is A+ and the amenities make the stay (complimentary coffee, malted milk ball machine, fresh pastries and fruit AND complimentary beach equipment + beach towels!!). Loomis, their virtual concierge, was an added bonus during our stay. We'll be back for SURE!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Excellent clean modern inn with all the amenities you could need or want. The Inn provides water bottles, snacks, breakfast treats, fruit, ice cream and more. The provided beach chairs, beach towels, sand pails with shovels and coolers made the day at the beach so comfortable and relaxing. The rooms have nice beds, ihome alarm clocks, wifi, tv, and a small refrigerator. There is even the option of regular or room darkening shades. The location is minutes from the ferry and the beach. Convenient to restaurants and shops. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The less expensive rooms facing the court yard and just as nice and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
828 reviews
5.3 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
1,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
628 reviews
4.8 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
0.3 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dockside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dockside Inn

Address: 9 Circuit Ave Extension, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range: $99 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get Away & Play. The Dockside Inn is Oak Bluffs hospitality & elegance at its best - built in 1989, the hotel has the conveniences of a new modern facility including 22 regular guest rooms. All rooms have Queen beds - some with two. All feature air conditioning, cable TV, in-room refrigerators, and free WiFi. All rooms are comfortably furnished for your vacation. Our location on the Oak Bluffs Harbor is just steps from restaurants, boutiques, beaches, boating, ferries, buses and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Dockside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dockside Hotel Oak Bluffs
The Dockside Inn Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing