We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fang family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dockside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oak Bluffs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dockside Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“fang family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

very nice stay. we will definitely stay at the dockside inn again next year.Very friendly and helpful staff.The room was clean, well laid out and roomy enough for the 3 of us. the location is ideal. Close to beach, across from marina and Circuit Ave. Thanks again for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Li C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    77
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
125
244
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Greeted by friendly staff and given a tour of the facilities. Lovely touch to have a complimentary lounge area where you could get coffee, water, popcorn. crisps, fruit etc. Beach gear room was really useful. We took some towels, chairs and an umbrella to the beach with us - great not to have to bring these with you! If we had been better prepared we would have packed one of the coolers too.

We were early in the season but the room rate was fantastic. The staff were able to give us recommendations whatever the weather and they have a 'Text a Local' service which is great. There is also a hot tub which we didn't find time to use.

The only fault we could find was that our air con was very noisy - luckily it wasn't that hot so we were able to open a window instead. Think this was specific to our room though as everyone else seemed to have theirs on the whole time.

Great location close to shops, restaurants and bike rentals. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front looked like the had lovely balconies with views of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melisssa_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Perfect little place. Stones throw away from the OB ferry. The complimentry bottles of water and snacks are awesome, and the beach room with coolers and chairs for guest to use is great. The text-Loomis feature was great too, very unique. Just a very easy, pleasent stay. Thanks Dockside & GO GATORS!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Owner at The Dockside Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hi Jack!

Thank you so much for the kind words. We do love our central location as well as the proximity to the beach and downtown area. My business partner Caleb is usually our go to response writer but every now and then I will respond because something pops out at me. In your case it was the 'Go Gators'...I feel it necessary to point out to our guests that although we respect the 10 SEC Championships as well as the 3 National Championships in the past 20 years, we are very much still and LSU supporter!! And of course all guests are welcome (especially SEC fans).... It was great meeting you and good luck to your sister in Grad School! GEAUX TIGERS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had an awesome experience. We will definitely stay at the Dockside Inn again when we come back to the vineyard. Great time overall. Loved the extra benefits (waters, coffee, snacks, beach chairs, towels, coolers, ice, beach bags, etc. etc.). Very friendly and helpful staff. We will come again to stay for sure!

Room Tip: We were on second floor overlooking harbor. So nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is my second time staying at the Dockside and I still LOVE it! This time we took our two kids (1 and 6) and it couldn't have been more accomodating. The staff are very friendly and helpul; especially Kathy who made my daughter smile each time she saw her. We stayed in Suite 32 and it was perfect. The room was clean, well laid out and roomy enough for the 4 of us. A real benefit of staying at the Dockside is all of the gear they have on-site, which minimizes the amount of stuff we needed to bring with us (i.e., pack n' play, beach gear, towels, etc.). Not to mention that the location is ideal. Close to beach, across from marina and Circuit Ave.

Thanks again for a wonderful stay. We'll be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at Dockside Inn just two weeks before the busy season and it was perfect. Staff was very attentive, bed was comfortable, bathroom new, all super clean. The breakfast area actually has water, fruit, coffee, tea, yogurt, water and popsicles anytime you want, not just breakfast, and they often leave freshly baked goods at hand, which gives it a nice feeling of being at home. They also have a beach gear room where you can borrow chairs, towels, umbrella, coolers etc. The only thing that they could improve is that they would have real cups and plates instead of disposables but at least they were paper plates and cups, and not evil styrofoam (they did have styrene lids and spoons, boo). We brought our own cup because we usually carry it around but I wish I had known. If you care about the environment you may want to bring your own service ware.

Room Tip: We booked a room in the front even though we read it could be noisy, but we only heard a rowdy group...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juli3t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Guest service was excellent and the feel of the remodel is great. The lobby is very nice and appealing. The hotel is super convenient for being in Oak Bluffs and right around the corner from the ferry. Complimentary beach towels and chairs made walking to the beach a breeze and very enjoyable. I would definitely go back there on my next trip. Compared with the other inns and bed and breakfasts in the immediate area, this place had more of a boutique hotel feel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
5.3 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Madison Inn
Madison Inn
#3 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dockside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dockside Inn

Property: The Dockside Inn
Address: 9 Circuit Ave Extension, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get Away & Play. The Dockside Inn is Oak Bluffs hospitality & elegance at its best - built in 1989, the hotel has the conveniences of a new modern facility including 22 regular guest rooms. All rooms have Queen beds - some with two. All feature air conditioning, cable TV, in-room refrigerators, and free WiFi. All rooms are comfortably furnished for your vacation. Our location on the Oak Bluffs Harbor is just steps from restaurants, boutiques, beaches, boating, ferries, buses and so much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Dockside Hotel Oak Bluffs
The Dockside Inn Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing