We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Place”
Review of The Dockside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dockside Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved the Place”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

It doesnt seem like I can add too much more to all the great reviews for this place. The staff was wonderful and helpful; the room was clean and comfy, with a frig. Its a short couple block walk from the ferry and local buses to other parts of the island. It sits across the street from the harbor, which has numerous restaurants. There is a back garden with tables and a glass enclosed eating area that has breakfast foods (pastries, fruit, breakfast bars, coffee & tea) We had a front room on the second floor & a table and chairs outside our door for people & boat watching. This was our first trip to Martha's Vineyard and the staff (Kathy?) helped us plan our day and pointed us in the right direction. I would definitely come directly here to stay if we make a return trip to Martha's Vineyard. The only thing I would have liked better was to be able to get a cup of coffee before 8 a.m.!!! :-)

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor in the front which had a great view of the harbor. Although right on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnjm18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    78
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
129
253
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I had a great stay the room was clean and ready when i arrived, the staff was friendly and helpful gave great tips on where to go. The only bad thing was the weather, The only predictable thing about weather in New England is it's unpredictable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsherma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I went for 2 nights Columbus Day weekend to celebrate our anniversary and had an amazing time at The Dockside Inn. From the time we checked in until the time we left the island we felt like we were at home with family. Kathy was so friendly and helpful, she made our trip the best. The hotel was newly renovated inside and out. We stayed in room #34, a suite on the third floor, every room had a water view. I would highly recommend this room to everyone who stays there. They have a hot tub in the back and a beach house with chairs, beach toys, water bottles, etc. Every day the kitchen and all season glass room in the back is open from 8 am until 10 pm with coffee, tea, fruit, water, granola bars, apple fritters and muffins and popsicles, fudgicles, and ice cream bars. They also had fresh cookies at the front desk. Whatever you needed they provided. Whether it was info on buses, restaurants, things to do and see, or umbrellas in the rain. We can't wait to go back again. You will not be disappointed at The Dockside Inn.

Room Tip: Room 34 on the top has the best water views ever!!! If you do not want a suite, I would recommend t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The inn is sitting right in front of the Oak Bluffs harbor, can't beat that! It is only a minute walk away from the famous Nancy's (lobster roll is a must try). Rooms are fresh and clean, I was given a room with two beds so it is fairly big with a very spacious bathroom. The receptionist Kathy deserves a gold medal for having the best customer service skills in the island. She was cheerful, accommodating and well informed about MV. We received nothing but superb excellent service from her, from the day we arrived up to the day we leave. There was just one incident with another misguided employee, which I brought up to the management. Manager was very accommodating, very professional and handled the situation very well (though totally standing behind the employee by justifying the actions he/she made). Overall, this place is highly recommended, great for family, friends and couples.

Room Tip: Choose the room with two beds, a few dollars more than a standard room but you get more space and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTravelRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DocksideInn02557, Manager at The Dockside Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We're just as in love with our location as you are! Isn't it fantastic? Nothing like the morning harbor breeze. Thank you for your kind words about Kathy - she's a total gem and we're blessed to have her on board. All that happiness, knowledge and gentleness you experience is 100% authentic - she's lovely. Glad to know also that Tiffany our manager was able to help you with your concerns. Can't wait to have you back and let us know when you're coming and we'll do our best to get you that spacious room with the two beds - those are lovely rooms.

Cheers to a healthy & happy fall and winter!

-The Dockside Inn Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Went to M.V. with a group of friends for the weekend of 9/28-9/30/12. We knew in advance that the weather was not going to cooperate, which is uncharacteristic for our area at the end of September. But - we didn't let the weather stop us and truly enjoyed our stay at Dockside Inn in Oak Bluffs Harbor. The inn was under renovation the last time we visited the island in April and the glimpse of what was underway could not do the finished product justice! The lobby is beautiful and very welcoming - moreso in the afternoon when fresh baked cookies are there for the taking. The rooms are a bit small but well appointed and with mini fridges, which is helpful for those who 'bring their bar with them'! We travel with coolers and it was helpful to have that extra room. When we arrived on Friday, it was well before check-in time but there was one room available out of the three we reserved, so we were able to unload our luggage and plan our day. The guys separated from the girls and we did some bar hopping and shopping. By the time the rain started mid-afternoon, we had our cups full and were sitting out on the back covered deck on the second floor in front of one of our rooms. The rain didn't stop several from using the hot tub and shower in the back yard - both of which were very clean. After a great dinner at M.V. Chower Company (definitely recommend), we retired relatively early and had a great night's sleep on very comfortable beds. The inn was quiet and from what I understand, fully booked - so I guess we lucked out and weren't kept awake by loud guests. In the morning, coffee and muffins are available, which is nice - but it doesn't open until 8. Didn't matter to me, but I travel with a couple of early risers and I think an earlier open would've appealed to them. But - there is no charge for the offerings and it's a nice option if you aren't the 'full breakfast' type.

We spent Saturday walking around Edgartown and grabbed lunch at The Net Result in Vineyard Haven on the way back to Oak Bluffs. Nice spot to stop, although there is no outside seating. Thankfully the rain held off on Saturday. Dinner was at the Ocean View, which is on the opposite side of Oak Bluffs Harbor (from where Dockside Inn is located). That was a recommendation from one of the Dockside owners, which we appreciated. The Dockside staff in general is very accommodating, which is really helpful for someone not very familiar with the island. Dockside Inn also has an on-line concierge (dubbed 'Loomis') who you communicate with via text only. Really cool option and you can ask anything island-related and get a response in a timely manner.

Although it was raining buckets when we left on Sunday and we were glad for an early ferry departure, all-in-all our trip was enjoyable and we're planning to head back in the Spring. We'll definitely book again at Dockside and look forward to hopefully a sunnier trip next time around!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieD62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We are currently staying at Dockside and it has been a pleasant experience from the emails we exchanged prior to our arrival to check-in and the remainder of our stay. Whoever answered our emails about dinner and activity recommendations did so with such graciousness-very willing to help! Upon arrival there were fresh cookies and a very fast check-in. Our room is modern, clean and has all the amenities you'd ever need, plus snacks and waters at no charge. From 8am on they have a room with all different flavors of K cups, fresh pastries, granola bars and fresh fruit which is more than enough for us for breakfast. There's an awesome Rolls Royce courtesy car which would take you somewhere if needed. The staff at reception is very kind and welcoming and know the area well. They will help you plan your days! It was our first time in MV and when we return, we will def stay at The Dockside Inn!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taccoleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Dockside Inn, which is well-located for access to shops, restaurants, and sight-seeing in Oak Bluffs. The staff was extra friendly and very knowledgeable about the area and made good recommendations for restaurants and other activities. The Inn was very clean and in excellent condition, with a small refrigerator in our room. There is a nice common area in the back - an outside area and an inside area with chairs, tables, coffee, and snacks. If you are lucky, you may be able to get a ride from the airport in the Inn's antique Rolls Royce.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
789 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
935 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#2 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dockside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dockside Inn

Property: The Dockside Inn
Address: 9 Circuit Ave Extension, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get Away & Play. The Dockside Inn is Oak Bluffs hospitality & elegance at its best - built in 1989, the hotel has the conveniences of a new modern facility including 22 regular guest rooms. All rooms have Queen beds - some with two. All feature air conditioning, cable TV, in-room refrigerators, and free WiFi. All rooms are comfortably furnished for your vacation. Our location on the Oak Bluffs Harbor is just steps from restaurants, boutiques, beaches, boating, ferries, buses and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Dockside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dockside Hotel Oak Bluffs
The Dockside Inn Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing