We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Isabelle's Beach House
Ranked #4 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Attracted by the good reviews, I was surprised that it was just passable. It's a budget operation with a few frills and an ocean outlook. The heralded breakfast was just a step up from Best Western. It's also a bit of a labyrinth, the fitout is basic, it lacks atmosphere and there was no exhaust fan in the bathroom. I was glad we hadn't paid the rack rate. The best feature is its location near Oak Bluffs (but Edgartown is superior) and the porch overlooking the ocean.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watcherdoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 345 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2010

We stayed as part of a holiday in Rhode Island/Massachusetts from England. Isabelle was truly welcoming and our room overlooking the sea (sorry........ocean!!!!) was really comfortable with spectacular views. The breakfasts, as others have said, were amazing and those waffles are addictive, so watch out!!!! Location, apart from the views, is perfect...a short walk to town with varied routes through streets of those lovely, characterful houses. One or two places were closed as it was out of season but it did not spoil our stay one bit - give it a try and you'll see what I mean!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunterofhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

This is an excellent place in so many respects. Spotlessly clean, big porch facing the water, walking distance to the town center shops/restaurants, etc., nice rooms, adequate breakfast (waffles the only hot item, but still plenty of choices), attentive, competent staff, and Isabelle herself. She is a charming, dynamo whose French accent perfectly complements her joie de vivre; she will definitely make you feel welcome and glad you chose her Beach House. You can't go wrong here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perrymiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

The service was friendly and efficient. The breakfast was enjoyable and a perfect start for
each day. Our room was clean and comfortable with a great view of the ocean. The fact
that we were across the street from the beach and only a leisurely 10 minute stroll from
town, made the location perfect. The best feature of our trip was the location. We had family
members who were new to the island and being in such a central location allowed us to give
them a full island experience. What we liked least was that our rooms weren't all on the same floor.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJAThird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Just a quick note to say how much my wife and I enjoyed our stay at Isabelle's B&B (Sept 19-20). It was our first trip to Martha's Vineyard and we appreciated Isabelle's cheerful hospitality each morning. Our breakfast (OJ, waffles topped with strawberries and whipped cream, and freshly brewed coffee) was delicious. Our room was comfortable, clean, and quiet! Isabelle was also very helpful in providing us with some additional details regarding scenic photo ops, which was a major objective of our visit to the island. If we have a future opportunity to return to MV we would look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canon50Dshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We've had 5 wonderful nights and 6 glorious days.Our room overlooking the ocean fulfilled my dreams of being lulled to sleep by the waves....so restful in the comfy big bed. Isabelle, thank you for your attention to the small and not so small personal details that made our 48th anniversary holiday so memorable. We hope to make return visits.
Verna& Joe Brown

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VERNAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Just a short walk from the ferry landings. Isabelle and her staff were superb at making us feel welcome and had great recommendations for the area. Isabelle made us waffles both mornings and cookies in the afternoon. She even offered to drive us to the ferry landing when it was cold and windy! We stayed in the Menemsha Beach room and had an awesome view! I could sit on that porch and rock the day away. We loved Martha's Vineyard and hope to come back one day! Isabelle's Beach House will be our accommodation of choice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXDRAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
828 reviews
4.8 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
1,003 reviews
0.4 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
0.1 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
628 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isabelle's Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isabelle's Beach House

Address: 83 Seaview Avenue, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range: $166 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Isabelle's Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Isabelle's Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isabelle`s Beach House Hotel Oak Bluffs
Isabelle's Beach House Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing