We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yeah, It's The Cookies!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Isabelle's Beach House
Ranked #4 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2010

August 2010 marks our 5th summer on Martha's Vineyard. One of the best things about the Vineyard is the beaches. So, beach access is important. In Oak Bluffs there is a stretch of several B&Bs on Seaview Avenue just across the street from Pay Beach and the Ink Well. Over the years we've stayed at all of them. Isabelle's Beach House is, by far, the best B&B on Seaview Avenue. It's probably the best B&B in Oak Bluffs.

The location cannot be beat. Isabelle's is a few blocks from Circuit Avenue, the heart of Oak Bluffs. It's a five minute walk from the Oak Bluffs ferry dock. Most important, Isabelle's is a stone's throw from the beach. And there are beach towels, chairs, and umbrellas (first come first served) available for guests. Of course there's an outdoor shower.

The rooms at Isabelle's are bright, fresh, and quite comfortable. We had AC, a ceiling fan and cable TV in our room. The rooms are cleaned and freshened every day with fluffy white towels and cotton bedding.

One great aspect of Isabelle's is the porch. There are a dozen or so recliners and rocking chairs on the porch, from which one can relax and watch the sun rise, the beach-goers, and the steady flow of vacationers going to and from town.

But the best treat at Isabelle's is the afternoon cookies and lemonade. Each afternoon guests are provided warm fresh chocolate chip cookies and ice cold lemonades to enjoy on the porch or inside in the sitting room. Several guests we spoke with planed their day to be back at Isabelle's in the afternoon so as not to miss the cookies. They are that good.

Isabelle is charming, welcoming, professional, and very knowledgeable about the Vineyard and it's summer activities, so she can help plan a day or an entire vacation. The staff at Isabelle's is also first rate.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Porsche_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 343 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2010

We've been going to the Vineyard for 25 years, and sampled many places to stay. Our stay at Isabelle's at the beginning of August was by far the most relaxing, low key, enjoyable time we've spent on the Vineyard in years. Isabelle and her entire staff made us feel so at home. The room was so cozy and warm. And the view from the porch while enjoying a glass of wine at the end of the day is hard to beat. Oh, and the cookies rocked!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark_from_BOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

The amazing location of Isabelle's Beach House was only surpassed by the service and hospitality we received during our recent stay. The fresh breakfast each morning prepared by Isabelle overlooking the ocean was amazing and her knowledge of the island and the places to go is unsurpassed. We are already looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We spent 3 nights at Isabelle's last week, great experience and far superior to other B&Bs we have stayed at. Cheerful friendly service from Isabelle and her staff, very clean, great location.

Make sure you have the waffles for breakfast - the best I've ever had!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NuclearDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Isabelle's was the best bed and breakfast I have ever been to. The rooms were clean, Isabelle the owner was wonderful and very helpful with info about the island. just a all around pleasant experience. I recommed this to anyone who wants to have a plesant stay on the island

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lipper69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

I had an absolutely wonderful time here. My sister and I met in MV, and Isabelle's far exceeded our expectations. This was my first time staying at a B & B. The location is walking distance from the Oak Bluffs Steamship Authority ferry stop. It sits directly across the street from the beach. My room had a small balcony and I enjoyed sitting out there along with sitting on the large front porch. The morning breakfast which consisted of homemade waffles, muffins, cereals, juices, fresh fruit etc was great, as were the chocolate chip cookies in the evening. The owner Isabelle was very nice and welcoming and I enjoyed her conversation and hospitatlity. Isabelle can I have a waffle with "the works??"

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FruGlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

This is a quaint and lovely bed and breakfast with an ideal location in Oaks Bluff. Just a short walk (less than a mile) from the dock you have an excellent view of the ocean (just across the street) from Isabelle's front porch. Lovely, clean rooms, nice amenities such as an outside enclosed shower to clean off the sand from a day at the beach. There are also beach chairs, boogie board, and towels provided. Each morning Isabelle serves a lovely breakfast of muffins, fruit, coffee, bagels, and waffles (fruit & whip cream on top).

As mentioned before, you are less than mile from the main area of Oaks Bluff for dinner and shopping. There is also excellent accessibility to use the Martha's Vineyard Transit System where, for a few dollars one way, you can take a trip to visit other parts of this beautiful island.

If your plans include a Cape Cod vacation, it well worth the time to stay at Isabelle Beach House! My whole family had a great time!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dblackma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
819 reviews
0.4 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
985 reviews
4.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
0.3 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isabelle's Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isabelle's Beach House

Address: 83 Seaview Avenue, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range: $166 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Isabelle's Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Isabelle's Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isabelle`s Beach House Hotel Oak Bluffs
Isabelle's Beach House Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing