We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly People But Americanized Food”
Review of Thai Thani

Thai Thani
Ranked #11 of 111 Restaurants in Norwood
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Friendly People But Americanized Food”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

My three star rating is based entirely on the food. The space is cozy and the hostess/waitress was very friendly. Several people came in to pick up take-out orders and she greeted them by name -- obviously this restaurant has a big neighborhood clientele.

We ate tod mun (fish cakes), tom kha gai (coconut milk soup), crispy lad na (noodles), and a red curry. The soup was very good and the highlight of the meal. In the other dishes, the lime, chili, mint, and other accents of Thai cuisine weren't noticeable. Though the red curry was listed as moderately spicy on the menu, it wasn't. The lad na -- a dish of Chinese origin -- was made with thin egg noodles instead of wide flat rice noodles and it was drowning in sweet brown gravy.

The menu says that the kitchen can adjust the spiciness level according to customer request. If we go back, we will ask for the food to be prepared like it is in Thailand, but usually in such places all that means is more chili pepper is thrown in. I'd say this is a great place for fairly inexpensive and reasonably good Americanized Thai food, but it's not as authentic as the other reviews led me to believe.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Gerberlicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    15
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Thai take out food”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Went last evening and dined in this extremely small restaurant which is primarily for take out. Very flavorful and fresh and highly recommend to all. Owner is very helpful and willing to cater to any request.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leximadison1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Astounding food in a tiny restaurant”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

My spouse and I finally tried this restaurant last month after seeing and hearing several recommendations. We did not believe that we would really enjoy eating in such a small place. Boy, were we wrong! We have gone back every week since! The food flavors are authentic Thai, which is not so easy to find these days, and the service is excellent and very friendly. The decor is simple but still enough to create a pleasant Thai atmosphere. Every dish we have tried has been wonderful. Our favorite item on the menu is golden cups, which are an outstanding appetizer. The prices are very reasonable. We are still kicking ourselves for not discovering this place when it first opened, as it is so much better than another Thai restaurant we used to frequent.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suenahmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“If you haven't been here, you are missing out!”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

If you haven't been here, you are missing out on the BEST Thai food! My husband & I have traveled to various locations in Thailand. Thai Thani is the MOST authentic Thai restaurant we have found in the states. We love the freshness of their food. Always cooked to order. Pat & Monica, owners, are always there in the kitchen or serving. They are super friendly and love to have you in their restaurant. Himmaparn chicken is a favorite. Monica's family recipe! Love Uncle Pard's curry, spicy fish...as a matter of fact I can't think of anything on the menu that I don't like. Love that they can make dishes spicy "Like Thai" if we want them to be. Really takes us back to the fare we experienced when we travelled over seas. Note: place does not have alcohol, but you don't miss it. The food is just that good!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vacationers1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My 5 year old loves this place!”
Reviewed December 18, 2010

Delicious, affordable food. One of our favorite family outings is to have lunch at Thai Thani and then drive to the Blue Hills Trailside Museum in Milton for a nice hike!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 140Carolyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Thani also viewed

 

Been to Thai Thani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing