We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Varies a lot, but they are not focused on the customer”

Acapulcos Mexican Family Restaurant & Cantina
Ranked #17 of 111 Restaurants in Norwood
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Varies a lot, but they are not focused on the customer”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We have frequented Acapulcos for years. All of the negative reviews CAN be true. We've had terrible service at times. When we've complained to the manager, they acted indifferent at best and argumentative at worst. When I sent an email to their headquarters via their webpage, I never heard back. That caused us to boycott their restaurant for 6 months. A few of the servers know us by name and know our preferences (we ave ~3-4 visits/mo). Even though we usually order margaritas and tip >20%, we've never been offered a complimentary anything. All that being said, their ultimate margaritas are fantastic and their food is usually tasty. Just be prepared for the occasional bad experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OrangeSox02021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    29
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Moncton
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A great experience of Mexican cusine”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We went to this restaurant because we were staying next door at the Hampton Inn. From the outside, it's location in a strip mall looked kinda sketchy (we almost turned around) but are glad we ventured inside. The inside decor is warm with mexican/southern colurs and the music set the mood. The service was fantastic (sorry, can't recall the waiters name) and we were well tended to by several of the satff. The nacho chips were warm and tasty, and I enjoyed the taco salad and another mexican dish that I can't recall the name of. We enjoyed our meal, and the waiter came over and shook my hand when leaving to say thank you. As well, a female manager (or owner?) met us at the door to say thank you for the business as we were leaving. Glad we came through the front door to experience such warm hospitality!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesMoncton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unfortunately this place has gone down hill”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We used to be regulars at this restaurant but in the last few years it has gotten really bad. On our last, and I mean last, visit the Food took 45 minutes to get to the table. The meals ranged from ok to lousy. I got a vegetarian fajita. It tasted like they dropped a frozen bag of Shaw's vegetables on a hot pan and brought it to the table. My wife had a spinach enchilada -- the spinach was a frozen block. We will never be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThrockMorton25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Truly Terrible”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I can truly say this is the worst dining experience ever. Simply put the food was unedible the service slow. The food had horrible after taste and we simply left...I would never return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Went to this restaurant as it was within walking distance of our hotel. Food was very good and inexpensive. Only complaint was that our party had 8 people and the food came out in stages and there was quite some time between stages.
We would go here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jakebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acapulcos Mexican Family Restaurant & Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Acapulcos Mexican Family Restaurant & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing