We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast, loud room, bed too soft”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Boston Norwood/Canton
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Norwood
Certificate of Excellence
Homer
Level Contributor
418 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast, loud room, bed too soft”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

The property is clean and well maintained. The staff were very polite and welcoming. The breakfast area was very good - I rank the quality of hot foods above other similar hotel offerings and found the yogurt fruit granola parfait an excellent addition. This area was also constantly maintained and attended to.

The room was also very clean and generally comfortable. My disappointment comes from the very thin walls. I was listening to conversations from the rooms on either side of mine and realized those people were not talking loud, it was just thin walls. I was also disturbed by noise from the room above. To some degree this problem can be expected and as long as the travelers are business people the noise is kept to a minimum; I can accept this, but really, compared to other hotels I typically stay at the noise level here was too much.

My other complaint is the bed mattress was too soft as were all the pillows, and the sheets were thin (cheap). I awoke with a knot in my shoulder. I prefer a firmer mattress and pillow. These criticisms are due to my personal sleep preferences so I would hope some readers could see this as a positive based on their own needs, but I would not be able to stay here for more than 1 night if I were on an extended trip.

There are also a number of very good restaurants nearby including Siam Lotus Thai and a TGI Fridays within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boomerang025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
najwamurphy, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston Norwood/Canton, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for the nice compliments. I am very proud of the wonderful team we have and I am so glad you found them to be friendly and accomodating. I'm glad you enjoyed our breakfast; the parfaits are my favorate as well. Your comfort is our number one priority, your feed back is very helpful in improving our services. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    56
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
65
31
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bayshore ny
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Studio was huge. Only 2 of us but could fit family of 4 easily. Very Clean, Kitchen set up for 4 people'full sized Fridge. large microwave and 2 burner stove. We were there to see grandaughter play lacrosse at Gilette Stadium. Lots of shopping and places to dine in area

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cct13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
najwamurphy, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston Norwood/Canton, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments about our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay!

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed here one night as we were visiting Boston University. The hotel was clean and adequate. Compare to other residence inns, the breakfast was lacking. The furniture and decor could use some updating.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allnatural99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
najwamurphy, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston Norwood/Canton, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for the nice comments about the cleanliness of our hotel. Your feedback regarding our breakfast has been very helpful and we have added some great additions to our buffet you're sure to love. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I stayed here for two weeks while conducting a training session in their meeting room. The hotel is exceptionally clean and they bent over backwards to make sure my training room was in order every day. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and the bathroom has a dedicated heater so the temperature is always cozy for a shower in the morning.

Room Tip: Room 201 was right next to the stairs. It was quiet and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schwinnfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
najwamurphy, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston Norwood/Canton, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for the nice compliments about our wonderful staff and hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Upon receiving word of a death in the family, I needed to book a hotel room for that same evening. I was able to get a nice suite with a king size bed. I checked in at 11:00 pm on a Tuesday night and checked out at 11:00 am the next morning. The room was clean and the free breakfast was convenient. My only complaint was that the bed seemed to sag in the middle and my wife and I felt like we were rolling downhill during the night. Other than that it was perfect for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
najwamurphy, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston Norwood/Canton, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Please accept our condolences for your loss. We take great pride in maintaining the cleanliness our our hotel, your compliments are greatly appreciated. Thank you for pointing out your dissatisfaction with the comfort of your bed. We have since replaced the mattress. We hope if your travels bring you back to the area that you will honor us with your presence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Had a nice time at this Marriot like the fact it has a kitchen,not far from main road with plenty of dining options,the beds are very comfy all and all had a nice stay at this property.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OLDIESGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Stayed Saturday night to be close to Boston for a visit to the MFA on Sunday. The staff at check-in was friendly. We had a king suite on the third floor that had plenty of room for two. The room was quiet with two flat-screen TV sets. The room was facing the back parking lot so we didn’t have any noise from Route 1.

The area felt safe and there were lots of restaurants nearby. Walpole Mall, Gillette Stadium and Patriot Place are just down the street.

Breakfast was the usual scrambled eggs, red potatoes, sausage. Make your own waffle. Lots of breads available. Pretty good.

My only complaint was the mattress. It was a little too firm for me, not much spring.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donapple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwood
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston-Norwood
0.5 mi away
The Four Points by Sheraton Norwood Hotel & Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Boston Norwood/Canton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Norwood-Boston Area
4.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Canton, MA
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Foxborough Patriot Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Boston Norwood/Canton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Boston Norwood/Canton

Property: Residence Inn Boston Norwood/Canton
Address: 275 Norwood Park S, Norwood, MA 02062-7625 (Formerly Residence Inn Boston Norwood)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Norwood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Norwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Boston Norwood/Canton 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refresh Residence Inn Norwood's suites offer guests flexible spaces and amenities to help maintain a healthy balance and routine while traveling.The spacious, residential-style Studio,One Bedroom and Two Bedroom suites offer accommodations that are larger than traditional hotel guestrooms. The updated kitchens outfitted with full-sized refrigerators and granite countertops make living on the road easier for both business travelers on long stays and families on vacations. With larger, expansive workspace, complimentary high-speed Internet access, and a multitude of easily accessible outlets, guests are able to work efficiently throughout the suite. New sectional sofas, 37 inch flat screen televisions and luxurious bathrooms with extra storage space make it possible for travelers to live and rest comfortably. Contemporary and stylish decor, featuring natural light and refreshing colors are all elements that improve guests' productivity and energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Boston Norwood/Canton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Boston Norwood Hotel Norwood
Residence Inn Norwood
Norwood Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing