We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic & Relaxing Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Northfield B&B and Inns
Cohoes, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic & Relaxing Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I were gifted a 2-night getaway to the Centennial House, and we couldn't be more pleased with our experience! Joan and Steve are wonderful hosts, very sweet and very knowledgeable about the area. I have to eat gluten-free, and Joan made AMAZING breakfasts for us and steered us to great restaurants in the area with GF options. The room was super-comfortable and the house is just beautiful. Absolutely perfect for our getaway! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    13
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
61
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed my very first bed and breakfast stay. Joan and Steve were wonderfully hosts. The house took me back in time. I was in Northfield for my 30th reunion and was close to the school and activities. I will come here again when I'm in town.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HameytheWonderDog, Owner at The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks, Beth! We had a wonderful reunion weekend with you and other NMH alumni from all over the U.S. You'll have to come back for the homemade sorbet we served yesterday--see our Facebook page. Keep trying those B&B's! Joan and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We arrived early but were welcomed in by Steve and the dogs and checked in within minutes.
It was Memorial Day so quiet everywhere but Joan was able to recommend a great Diner in nearby Bernardstone and made sure we had insect repellent for hiking by the nearby (and very beautiful) Connecticut River
There is a beautiful back garden to watch the sun go down
We had a great room at the front of the house and woke up to a wonderful breakfast
Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kit53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HameytheWonderDog, Owner at The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear R and C, We're so happy that you enjoyed your visit with us. As we mentioned, we really look forward to hosting overseas guests as they provide us with new perspectives on our town and our property. They are also great fun! We know the rest of your US holiday will end on a high note. Best wishes, Joan and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here while revisiting schools in the area. We were very comfortable and would use the Centennial House again if we are in the area. The room was very comfortable, the hosts were helpful and welcoming and the breakfast was great. Thank you for an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericanCareerExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsted, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Beautiful inn with lots of warm, cozy common areas. We had a beautifully furnished bedroom. Hot coffee/tea/cocoa with home made cookies always available. Breakfasts exceptional. Joan very friendly and helpful with good ideas for dining out and activities. It was rather off-season, but we did enjoy touring all the neighboring towns and ended up reading about and seeing a lot of the Mt. Herman/Northfield campuses. Even went off to see the Schell Bridge once we had read about it. Recommend the Inn highly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan33988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

The proprietors Joan and Steve are seasoned B&B professionals. We stayed in the king suite for two nights. Lot of space, huge perfect jacuzzi bath tub. So comfortable, so clean. Excellent ideas for recreation. Cross country ski up to a doable 1000 foot summit on Mount Northfield 4 miles away. I am an espresso drinker perfect one block away cozy bookstore with amazing coffee!! Fire place in the breakfast room while eating home made comfort food breakfast. Small town, quiet, beautifully surrounded by foot hills. We stayed an unexpected extra night simply because it was so awesome!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finny202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Let me begin by saying this was such an unbelievable experience. Joan was the most gracious and welcoming host. Caty, Steve.and Barb were also great and so friendly. At one point, my boyfriend and I, who were celebrating our anniversary, felt like we were right at home. The breakfast is delicious. Joan is so knowledgeable of the history nearby and we sure enjoyed listening all about it! So many activities to do nearby..hiking, museums, wineries! We will definitely return in the summer and look forward to an amazing stay. I highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northfield
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
13.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
12.9 mi away
Deerfield Inn
Deerfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Deerfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Inn at Crumpin-Fox
The Inn at Crumpin-Fox
#1 of 1 in Bernardston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
10.5 mi away
Brandt House
Brandt House
#2 of 4 in Greenfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 94 Main St, Northfield, MA 01360-1022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Northfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Northfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique B&B with spacious guest rooms and suites minutes Greenfield and Deerfield, colleges and Pioneer Valley attractions to the south, and north to Brattleboro or Keene. Pillow top beds, cable TV, WiFi and ample country breakfasts in an historic New England village. Enjoy hearth side breakfast in winter, or spectacular views in the Sun Room in warmer weather. Relax in a gazebo overlooking distant hills; there's electricity and WiFi out there too so you can use your laptop. Weddings, meetings and other events. Off I-91 and Mohawk Trail, near attractions, hiking the New England Trail, x-c skiing, shopping and fine dining. Open all year. Romantic and family-friendly suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing