We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay - Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Northfield B&B and Inns
Portland
1 review
“Great Stay - Great Service”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I visited the area for a brief business event and was very impressed with everything. I was warmly welcomed by both Joan and Steve and treated to freshly made cookies - always a delight. The bedroom was well appointed and well sized with comfortable chairs to tackle some emails. I took advantage of one of the three sitting rooms downstairs to spread some stuff out and enjoy some fresh coffee for a couple hours before venturing off to my work event. The bed itself was exceptionally comfortable and had pillows that ranged from soft to firm - completely unexpected. I awoke in the morning to pleasing cooking aromas and enjoyed a delightful breakfast. I most certainly will recommend a visit and hope work calls me this way again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivisit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    14
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
62
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Coast
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

What a great visit! We pulled in to a parking spot and before we could enter the door to the B&B, Joan was there to greet us with a beautiful, welcoming smile, using our first names to further personalize our arrival. It was as if we were being welcomed back home by family. Joan promptly gave us a tour of all the public rooms available for our relaxation, including a mini refrigerator, dishes, glasses, and fresh baked chocolate chip cookies! Steve was also there to introduce himself and welcome us. Joan then showed us our room. A tastfully decorated room with a private bath. There is a fireplace in the room, sadly however, it was not operable during our stay. Joan asked when we would like breakfast served to make sure everything was fresh and hot out of the kitchen - another nice touch. The location of the B&B was great. We were able to take in nearby Vermont for dinner, and visted many attractions in Massachusetts. We awoke the next morning to a wonderful smell coming from the kitchen, which turned out to be the best tasting apple tart I have ever tasted. Joan's crust was out of this world. Breakfast was delightful, a breakfast burrito, with bacon that was cooked to perfection. There was one disappointment in our stay...that it was much too short. I look forward to coming back home again to the Centennial House!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelwise44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We wanted to break our journey from the Green Mountains to Cape Cod so had booked a one-night stay. The bedroom was very comfortable and the house itself very interesting with a pleasant lounge. On arrival Joan very kindly made us some tea and scones and gave us advice on the options for dinner. Would definitely recommend it for anyone looking to visit the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rovers09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed in the ancient (by US standards) Centennial in in Northfield Massachusetts, and what a wonderful place. Just a few hours from Boston, yet just on the border of Vermont (try driving Route 121 to Grafton Vermont, dirt road but good standard and you can stop anywhere (closed in Winter)), You can tell a good place to stay by the company you meet there, and the owners are always happy to chat and the guests proved to be a good friendly crowd making me feel as welcome as did my hosts! It felt like being at home with a good family atmosphere. Delightful rooms, and a real sense of pioneer history, so try it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham_from_Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, MA
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Beautiful, historic Inn, comfortable room, great breakfast. Lots of old New England charm here and in the area, the Inn is beautifully furnished . Good jumping off place for exploring Western Mass, Vermont, NH. Great place to relax, catch up on reading, enjoy the peace and quiet of rural Western Massachusetts.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Rep of Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My Wife and I arrived at Centennial house after a drive from New York, we were welcomed by Steve and Joan and made feel very welcome throughout our stay.
Joan and Steve could not have been more helpful regarding advise on sightseeing, activities local history etc.

All in all we had a great time in this beautiful B&B and the hosts could not have been more friendly, and as for Joans home cooking !! beautiful ...

Regards
Julie and Denis
Oct 2011

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis_Bowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Deerfield, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Worst experience I have ever had at any hotel, motel or B&B. Rooms are overpriced and outdated. Staff was extrememly rude and to top it off our visit was followed with an extremely disrespectful letter and unexpected credit card charge. Apparently they didn't make enough money off of us renting the room so they felt the need to charge us for "damages" to the room that were already done prior to our stay! This is a complete scam! I would never recomend this B&B to anyone. If you have to stay here be very careful, take pictures of everything and make note of all communications, you'll need them when you have to dispute the unwarrented charges on your credit card!

Room Tip: Do not staye here!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
These guests' glowing review in the room journal is in marked contrast to the complaint from the groom which appears here. We were not 'outdated' or 'rude' until after they received a bill for damages. After 15 years in the industry, what we are beginning to see is an assumption of priviledge by a small number of guests that the room fee gives one license to take liberties with the property. In this particular case, they transformed a premium room into a beauty parlor with two professional hairdressers for five hours, eventually hosting 12 people, without thinking to ask whether that was OK. The result, not surprisingly, was a cleaning charge for the appropriation of another guest's bathroom and damages in the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northfield
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
12.8 mi away
Deerfield Inn
Deerfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Deerfield
819 reviews
14.3 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
21.5 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
457 reviews
11.9 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 94 Main St, Northfield, MA 01360-1022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Northfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Northfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique B&B with spacious guest rooms and suites minutes Greenfield and Deerfield, colleges and Pioneer Valley attractions to the south, and north to Brattleboro or Keene. Pillow top beds, cable TV, WiFi and ample country breakfasts in an historic New England village. Enjoy hearth side breakfast in winter, or spectacular views in the Sun Room in warmer weather. Relax in a gazebo overlooking distant hills; there's electricity and WiFi out there too so you can use your laptop. Weddings, meetings and other events. Off I-91 and Mohawk Trail, near attractions, hiking the New England Trail, x-c skiing, shopping and fine dining. Open all year. Romantic and family-friendly suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing