We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time at Centennial house !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Northfield B&B and Inns
Cork, Rep of Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic time at Centennial house !!”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My Wife and I arrived at Centennial house after a drive from New York, we were welcomed by Steve and Joan and made feel very welcome throughout our stay.
Joan and Steve could not have been more helpful regarding advise on sightseeing, activities local history etc.

All in all we had a great time in this beautiful B&B and the hosts could not have been more friendly, and as for Joans home cooking !! beautiful ...

Regards
Julie and Denis
Oct 2011

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis_Bowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    14
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
62
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Deerfield, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Worst experience I have ever had at any hotel, motel or B&B. Rooms are overpriced and outdated. Staff was extrememly rude and to top it off our visit was followed with an extremely disrespectful letter and unexpected credit card charge. Apparently they didn't make enough money off of us renting the room so they felt the need to charge us for "damages" to the room that were already done prior to our stay! This is a complete scam! I would never recomend this B&B to anyone. If you have to stay here be very careful, take pictures of everything and make note of all communications, you'll need them when you have to dispute the unwarrented charges on your credit card!

Room Tip: Do not staye here!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
These guests' glowing review in the room journal is in marked contrast to the complaint from the groom which appears here. We were not 'outdated' or 'rude' until after they received a bill for damages. After 15 years in the industry, what we are beginning to see is an assumption of priviledge by a small number of guests that the room fee gives one license to take liberties with the property. In this particular case, they transformed a premium room into a beauty parlor with two professional hairdressers for five hours, eventually hosting 12 people, without thinking to ask whether that was OK. The result, not surprisingly, was a cleaning charge for the appropriation of another guest's bathroom and damages in the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Great place to stay. Joan and Steve were gracious hosts. Very relaxing, great breakfasts ,very quiet and peaceful. Enjoyed the many local antique shops and our visit to Historic Deerfield. Will definitely become a repeat customer!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We echo the sentiments the other guests shared. My wife and I were away for a quick two night stay, looking for gracious hospitality, peace and tranquity, high standards of professionalism and service. All were met. Joan and Steve were charming and accomodating. The room was comfortable; like the whole house, very tastefully decorated with a great appreciation for the history of the house. Breakfast was wonderful; obviously some great thought and intention placed on the menu.
Add to the charm of the house is the area, which is one of the great spots in Massachusetts.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harevetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Just returned from our second visit to the Centennial and would highly recommend it on so many levels -- the guest and common rooms are charming and feature an Asian decor; the grounds are spacious and well maintained with a pretty gazebo and an old fashioned bench swing; coffee and tea are available all day long; breakfast is served in either a charming, quaint old New England-feel room or in a bright, window-filled sun room, overlooing the grounds.

The hosts couldn't be more gracious and accommodating; in addition to providing a fresh and tasty breakfast to my wife and daughter, Joan also made sure to meet my special dietary requirements with a delicious alternative; Joan and Steve also offered terrific suggestions for nearby restaurants. They make guests feel welcomed and appreciated.

Room Tip: The Deerfield Room -- actually a suite with two separate bedrooms -- has a great jacuzzi-style ballt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I highly recommend this charming B & B. The hosts were delightful, the room was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. We will definitely return when we are out in that area.

Deborah T.

Room Tip: The Sturbridge Room was very comfortable and quiet. We did not see the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2012

A wonderful visit with charming hosts Joan and Steve. I would highly recommend the Centennial House. It must be beautiful in the spring and summer.

We will be back!
The Briggs Family

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jfeteshtoledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northfield
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
12.8 mi away
Deerfield Inn
Deerfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Deerfield
820 reviews
14.3 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
21.5 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
457 reviews
11.9 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 94 Main St, Northfield, MA 01360-1022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Northfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Northfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique B&B with spacious guest rooms and suites minutes Greenfield and Deerfield, colleges and Pioneer Valley attractions to the south, and north to Brattleboro or Keene. Pillow top beds, cable TV, WiFi and ample country breakfasts in an historic New England village. Enjoy hearth side breakfast in winter, or spectacular views in the Sun Room in warmer weather. Relax in a gazebo overlooking distant hills; there's electricity and WiFi out there too so you can use your laptop. Weddings, meetings and other events. Off I-91 and Mohawk Trail, near attractions, hiking the New England Trail, x-c skiing, shopping and fine dining. Open all year. Romantic and family-friendly suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing