We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Northfield B&B and Inns
Naples, FL
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I met up with a friend for some Garden Conservancy tours in New Hampshire & Vermont. The inn was conveniently located for our trip. The room was absolutely adorable! Everything was clean and fresh. The breakfast was great. A very nice place to stay away!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gradygrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    14
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
62
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We were looking for a B & B in or near Amherst but being the weekend they all wanted a 2 night minimum. Then I found Centennial House where Joan was most accommodating in allowing us the one night's stay.
Northfield is a pretty community that is well situated a half an hour from Amherst and better still, close to Vermont and New Hampshire where we planned to go after.
Joan and her sweet dog Hamish were waiting for us in the garden when we arrived and showed us to our suite upstairs. We were travelling with two teenagers so we needed two rooms; one with twin beds. The Deerfield Suite was perfect for our needs. The two rooms were exactly what we needed. Comfy beds. Large rooms. Clean and quiet. There is wifi and air conditioning and the ensuite bathroom was nothing short of luxurious.
Steve and Joan are the perfect hosts. Not only helpful in their dinner suggestions but so interesting to talk to about the history of the region, current events, and stories about the B & B.
They were interested and interesting hosts.
The breakfasts were sumptuous and always a bit different. Beautifully presented at your own table in a bright cheery dining room. If only I had remembered to get the recipes for Joan's tortes.
We had planned to stay for one night and ended up staying for three.
Would love to return again sometime.
Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling_with_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2011

The Centennial House is simply the best of the best if you are travelling to Western Massachusetts. It is a charming Colonial with several large private rooms - each one unique and special in its own way.

My wife and I have stayed numerous times at the Centennial House and have loved each visit. Joan and Steve provide such a warm and welcoming setting and their breakfasts are terrific!

Northfield is a wonderful small town that has the distinct advantage of being off the beaten path but within close driving proximity to historic Deerfield, Brattelboro, VT, the Berkshires, etc. Situated right on the Connecticut River, Northfield is an ideal spot if you are vacationing in that part of the country.

I could not recommend a B&B more than the Centennial House.

Room Tip: Best room is the Deefield Suite - especially if you have kids (second room) - but our other favorit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakejacoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, CT
2 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Mu husband and I stayed here for a quick get-away and enjoyed it so much. The Innkeepers are lovely people and Haimish the dog is friendly and sweet. The breakfast was delicious and the room perfect. The house is wonderfully restored. Be sure to take a walk along the historic main street to see all of the wonderful old homes. Would definitely recommend it and the surrounding area for a get-away.

Room Tip: Strawberry Banke room was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelers2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We arrived tired and hungry to a warm welcome from Joan and Steve and Hamish, their Corgi. Steve carried our luggage up to our room; Joan made reservations for an early dinner at the Gill Tavern for us. It is a wonderful historic house in a beautiful area, central to Old Deerfield, Greenfield, Shelburne Falls and the rest of the Pioneer Valley. We will definitely return here on our next trip to the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serencymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Our family gathered from all over the United States in Northfield for the wedding of our son and his bride early this month. The Centennial House provided a "safe haven" of serenity and joy for a big part of the family, capped by a 50+ attendee "goodbye brunch" on the Sunday after the wedding.
Joan and Steve provided us with a superb venue for the brunch, spilling from the sun porch out onto the back lawn and gazebo, with a delicious hot and cold buffet for our final gathering before everyone headed home.
The rooms were clean and comfortable, and have unique features to make it fun for various combinations of relatives -- parents, children, grandparents, aunts and uncles, brothers and sisters -- making it ideal for our family to reunite around the wedding.
We recommend Centennial House enthusiastically!

Room Tip: All types -- see their website for details
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WAGhormley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleside, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

This is one of the oldest houses in Massachusetts, I think and they have done a great job converting it for B&B. Our two-room suite was very private and had a jetted tub to relax in after a long day of fall colors and shopping.
The breakfast was very good and different each morning
The owneres provided great recommendations for a rainy day, sunny day, etc and provided coupons for some of the sites.
Very easy drive to Brattleboro, Vt where the artisan shops exceeded our expectations.
Just wish the attractions in the area stayed open through the end of October. We were there for peak fall colors, but couldn't do a river boat or train trip because they had closed the weekend before for the year

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linareva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northfield
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
12.8 mi away
Deerfield Inn
Deerfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Deerfield
826 reviews
14.3 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
349 reviews
23.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
21.5 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 94 Main St, Northfield, MA 01360-1022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Northfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Northfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique B&B with spacious guest rooms and suites minutes Greenfield and Deerfield, colleges and Pioneer Valley attractions to the south, and north to Brattleboro or Keene. Pillow top beds, cable TV, WiFi and ample country breakfasts in an historic New England village. Enjoy hearth side breakfast in winter, or spectacular views in the Sun Room in warmer weather. Relax in a gazebo overlooking distant hills; there's electricity and WiFi out there too so you can use your laptop. Weddings, meetings and other events. Off I-91 and Mohawk Trail, near attractions, hiking the New England Trail, x-c skiing, shopping and fine dining. Open all year. Romantic and family-friendly suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing