We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best sushi around”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Yama Zakura

Yama Zakura
Ranked #3 of 60 Restaurants in Northborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best sushi around”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The sauce on the sushi is so good the owner is always present so the quality stays the same the portions are great

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kmyatim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    20
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
226 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Best Asian cucine around”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

One of the best sushi place I ever been. The atmosphere and service is outstanding and the owner, Ana , is always present at the tables, visiting her customers even calling them by their first names. Food is fantastic

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cgpabon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“deliciousness in a strip mall!”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Met two friends here last night. It was fantastic! Not like any other sushi place i have ever been to. Apparently they expanded and renovated within the past year. I would say that it is a small place but apparently it has doubled in size! We went at night and it was very dark inside, tealights on each table, no real restaurant lighting. There were several specials that were on a large chalkboard that was visible from everyseat. We ordered three rolls and all were fantastic, and quite large. Ordered the Belichick, Red Sox, and Lobster Bomb. The flavors were all fabulous and I have to say that none were really spicy at all (next time, i would order mine with extra spice). I started with the Lychee Martini and it was a great way to start the evening! The prices were average to a bit high for specialty rolls ~$16-$19 for the rolls, my martini was $8 and Sapporos are $5 (they are in the bottle not the double cans). Our waitress was extremely friendly and patient with us as we chatted a while before ordering. Once our order was placed, the sushi came out promptly. I would highly recommend reservations. I called at 4pm for a 6:30 reservation for 3 and they were barely able to give it to us. Luckily, we were a bit late, so our table was ready.

There is a small bar area with a few tvs, seating at the bar (sushi bar) and about 3 high tops that seat 2 (i think). I will definitely return and highly recommend! Don't be discouraged by the fact that it is in a strip mall!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank honestgirlboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westborough, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Sushi ever!”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Love this restaurant - great decorating, and great food.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Try it you will like it, it is amazing and different from what you have had before..”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We have been going to Yama Zakura's for the past 5 years and everyone we bring with us whether family, friends or customers all rave about how different and good the food is. You know when you have been going to a place for 5 years and have this experience that you have passed the test of time.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msutkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yama Zakura also viewed

 

Been to Yama Zakura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing