We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel in 25 Years”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econolodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northborough
OntarioNortherner
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel in 25 Years”
Reviewed October 17, 2009

The hotel is on the same site as an loud bar with blaring music.
The non-smoking room reeked of stale cigerette smoke.
The second room reeked even stronger of vinegary, spicy, cooking smells that got into all our clothes.
The sofa and chair in both rooms were used, dingy and soiled. The sheers on the windows were filthy. The wallpaper was painted and cracked. The mattress in both rooms sagged badly in the middle, and the only 2 pillows supplied were child size. I dont know how Econo Lodge could allow this shabby furnitures in their hotels? Especially such poor mattresses!
The "deluxe" breakfast consisted of very stale english muffins and a waffle maker. The tables were dirty as was the floor.
We were supposed to stay for 3 nights. We could not. We checked out the next morning, and moved down the road to a hotel that was fresh, clean, comfortable, and CHEAPER!
We would not recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OntarioNortherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    8
    8
    10
See reviews for
13
11
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2007

I was very surprised with everything that they offered for such a reasonable rate. We loved that they had a microwave and refrigerator. It's a life saver when you are traveling with 2 year old that wakes up 2 - 3 times a night for warm milk. The staff was great...we didn't know that had cribs and the lady at the desk saw my daughter and asked if we would like one. They even came and brought it to the room and set it up. We haven't seen this type of service in a long time....without dishing out loads of $$$.

  • Liked — The service
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NYButterfly74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, RI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2007

My husband and I decided to stay someplace close to the DCU Center in Worcester, MA. Our 15-year-old daughter was in the Central New England Karate Championships and we needed to be in Worcester by 8:30AM. We live far enough away that it was just more logical to rent a suite.

THE ONLY reason this ROOM could possibly qualify as a "suite" is the half-wall that separated the bed from the fold-out couch. There were perhaps 2-1/2 feet between the two. We asked for a blanket and pillow for the fold-out couch for my daughter. Neither were available. The "suite" was cramped and uncomfortable. I would NOT recommend this place to anyone travelling with more than just themselves. You'll need to leave the "suite" to change your mind.

  • Liked — the fact that the DCU Center was only 6 miles away
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank OldGloryTiverton_RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Northborough hotels

Charlton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2006

I have stayed at this hotel in the past when it was Travelodge and enjoyed my stays very much. I returned again this past fall and found the new hotel to be great. The front desk staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. They were very knowledgeable about the area and events and were able to get me directions to all the places I wanted to go. I will continue to stay at this hotel because the price is right, the rooms are great, the breakfast is fabulous, and the desk agents are superb!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElmoG15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 4, 2006

Rate is quite reasonable..room had frig/microwave,coffee maker, iron, hair dryer,27 inch tvs, free high speed internet..had very good breakfast..hot waffles and all that..they also have a sports bar and restaurant on property which is very nice..

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 9, 2005

When I first stayed at this house, it was a couple years ago and was called Travelodge. At that visit, I had a great time. Rooms were clean and staff was very supportive. Rates were inexpensive too. The second visit was this past February 2005. I found out the hotel was under new management and the name changed to Econolodge Inn & Suites. I booked my room a few months in advance for my weeklong business trip. When I arrived the hotel, the staff told me they didn’t have my room booked. I showed them my confirmation, but they had no room booked. Instead of putting me in the room I requested, they put me into a smoking room with handicap accessible. I was not pleased because I’m not handicapped and do not smoke. The room stunk of smoke and the heat did not work well. I froze the first night, even after complaining to them about the conditions. I felt they didn’t want me there, but only wanted my money. The hotel wasn’t 100% booked because the parking lot was over 75% empty. I asked for a different room, but they wouldn’t make the change. They said that since they didn’t have me booked, they couldn’t move me to a different room. That made no sense and I’ve never experienced such a horrible time with hotel staff in my life before this visit. I certainly didn’t experience this from the last hotel staff when it was Travelodge. When it was Travelodge, that management did a complete makeover on the hotel. They changed it into a newer hotel. What happened during the process of the new ownership, I have no idea. Besides the problems with the lack of heat in the room and the smoke smell in the new hotel, but the room was filthy. The toilets were disgusting and looked as if the place had been uncared for many years. There was grime and mold along the tub and sink. It was disgusting to stay there. I could only bear two days of that place then found another hotel in the area that was much cleaner and more affordable. The Econo Lodge also jacked up their prices from before they were Travelodge. I would not recommend this place to anyone. I have stayed at other Econo Lodges and never experienced anything like this before.

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northborough
4.9 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
5.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Worcester
2.9 mi away
Westborough Inn
Westborough Inn
#3 of 9 in Westborough
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Boston - Southborough/Worcester
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston - Westborough
3.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Boston - Westborough - East Main Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econolodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econolodge Inn & Suites

Property: Econolodge Inn & Suites
Address: 380 SW Cutoff, Northborough, MA 01532-2126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Northborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econolodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For everything you need while on the road, book with our Econo Lodge(R) Inn & Suites hotel in Northborough, MA near Shrewsbury Common Mall. Tee off and enjoy the fresh air at these attractions near our pet-friendly discount hotel in Northborough close to State Route 9 and State Route 20: -Lake Quinsigamond -Ectoarium science and nature museum -Solomon Pond Mall We allow you to stay on your budget so you can focus on the important reasons you travel. Find something to unwind with at our restaurant and relax with these amenities at our Northborough hotel: -Free continental breakfast -Guest laundry -Pool table -Lounge/bar This Northborough hotel is an easy stop on the road where you can find a great room to stay, all at a great rate. Room amenities include microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, 27-inch flat-screen TVs, desks, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. This Northborough hotel cares about the environment and has taken active steps to support green hotel practices. At Northborough hotels like our Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, we're all about making life easy for our guests by giving them with a great place to stay all while providing some of the best hotel rates around. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econolodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites
Econo Hotel Northborough
Econo Lodge Northborough
Northborough Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing