We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out to lunch with good friend”

Siam Square Thai Restaurant
Ranked #58 of 143 Restaurants in Northampton
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
AGAWAM
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Out to lunch with good friend”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Had gone to lunch with a dear friend. Very friendly staff, very good food...Wanted to try a little bit of everything: which we did, I wished I could remember the name of the dish. Had chicken, asparagus in this coconut curry sauce on a bed of freshly steamed rice. then ended our food fest with some traditional ginger ice cream .my friend like this place so much, she returned to have her friend enjoy the foods from se Asia. They should do well, as long as they stay true to their roots. Will definitely making my way there more often!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mhibbe2b1g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb Thai Restaurant!!!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We visited Northampton and ate at Siam Square Thai Restaurant on Pleasant Street. The restaurant is easily accessible from I-91 (take Exit 18) and located just next to Main Street (heart of downtown). The restaurant is spacious, tastefully decorated, clean and welcoming, creating a fine-dining ambiance and experience. We had Pad Thai, Thom Kah Gai, Soft-Shell Crabs, and Shrimps. The Pad Thai was outstanding, with lots of chicken, eggs, tofu, bean sprouts, and crushed peanuts in it. The portion size is huge (more like two serving size), you will have leftovers to bring home. The Thom Kah Gai (coconut milk and lime soup with chicken and mushroom) is silky smooth and refreshing. The soft-shell crabs are delicious, and the garlic shrimps are perfectly seasoned and cooked. For dessert, we had a warm sweet cake that was made with grounded soybeans, eggs, and topped with crunchy fried scallions (don’t remember the name of the cake). The cake is baked in-house and tasted heavenly! They serve wine and beer too, but we didn’t order any. The service overall is superb; the wait staff is clearly highly trained, knowledgeable, and speaks good English. A few minor observations distinguished this place from others: they have booth seating (fun), use linen napkins (classy), the wait staff wore traditional Thai outfits when we were there (authentic), and the bathrooms are very clean and well stocked (essential). The chef of the restaurant was recently invited to a local TV station to do a piece on Thai cooking; the restaurant and the food must be highly regarded locally (as it should be from our experience). The restaurant is suitable for large group (we saw them combining tables for a sizable group), business dinner (the place is not cramp or loud, allowing easy conversation), romantic dinner (privacy of booth seating), and family dinner with children (they are quite accommodating in terms of allergy, they will hold the peanuts, seafood, etc if you request, and they have vegetarian options too). Overall, the high quality of the food, the large portion size, the outstanding service, and the very reasonable price make Siam Square a worthy place to eat. We cannot wait to return to Northampton to have Thai food at Siam Square again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank AW6159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MA
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Consistently Delicious”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The wait staff are very friendly and the food is even better. I've had a wide selection of dishes from the menu and they have all been excellent. So good ... one of our favorite places to take guest.

If you live in the area stop in and try them out.

Prices are midrange but worth every dime. If you are unsure try the lunch menu - very affordable with tasty and sizable portions.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tuppstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Always Wonderful”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

In an area with many great restaurants to chose from, this one is always a great choice, worth the drive from Springfield. Food will be prepared as you like it. Service pleasant. I've eaten here many times over the years and never had a bad meal or bad service.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah60968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12801
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Average thai”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Clean pleasant atmosphere. Adequate friendly service. Food tastless and unexciting.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hendrix9422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siam Square Thai Restaurant also viewed

Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 
Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 

Been to Siam Square Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing