We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A greasy spoon that appears the same as it always has”

Miss Florence Diner
Ranked #30 of 142 Restaurants in Northampton
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A greasy spoon that appears the same as it always has”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Rainy day activities in Northampton included a lunch with my two grand nieces at the Miss Florence Diner. Portions were large and tasty. The server made appropriate recommendations about sharing a large side of fries between the three of us. My Ruben was well done with a big portion of corned beef. The small mac and cheese of one of my companion's was huge. The other had a BLT which she noted "was a BLT made in the correct order....Toast, then bacon, then lettuce, and then tomato!". The booth's flip type juke box was a hit with three selections for 25 cents (though the buttons wer a bit greasy - I enjoyed the selection of tunes from the 60's, 70's and 80'!)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    31
    13
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
marco island fl
Level Contributor
147 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fun, funky, diner.”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great diner food, we loved our omelets along with the ambiance of the 40's and 50's. Good prices, good service, friendly atmosphere. A treat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank funkynana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“If It Was Good Enough for Zippy...”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Aficionados of a certain timbre of cartoon may recognize the delightfully odd Zippy the Pinhead and his wife, Zerbina. There's a delightful, if bittersweet irony that creator Bill Griffith set the pinhead pair at the Miss Flo for breakfast the morning of 9/11. A soothingly average breakfast in on the soothingly average Main St. of a soothingly average Our Town. Where even the freaks order the eggs over easy.
It's the way a diner should be with burnished wood, juke boxes on the tables, and dependable menu of breakfast all day, BLTs, burgers, and gyros for the daringly exotic. The coffee is strong, the french fries tempting, and the pie deserves a dollop of ice cream.
Get a window table for the Fourth of July parade and watch America march by. It's what Zippy would do.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LA_Pomeroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
95 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Used to be the best pie around.”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I thought this diner would still be the great family dining experience I had for so many years I m talking since the 1960s. My son selected the place & It was disgusting. The carpet was dirty, it was run down & the food was not great at all. What a disappointment. For many many years I would drive miles to go to this diner. Apparently whoever bought it didn't care to keep up the quality of it. Sad.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stormy013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Super 1950s Style Diner Lunch”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This restaurant gets 5 stars for super. Super time-warp with converted trolley car, juke box at the table and black & white tile. Super prices - not exactly 1950s prices but so low that I was surprised at the tiny tab for 3 lumberjack-size lunches. Super delicious scallops. And, just like the old days, a super long walk to the bathrooms. Not a problem - allows lunch to settle so there's room for dessert. Fun lunch adventure with courteous girl-next -door type service. We'll be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andesalive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miss Florence Diner also viewed

Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 
Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 

Been to Miss Florence Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing