We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Amanouz Cafe

Amanouz Cafe
Ranked #7 of 142 Restaurants in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Good food, but very informal. Also, all of our food didn't come out at once, and that was a bit awkward. Everyone enjoyed their food, I had the Amanouz royal feast, and the hummus, falafel and taboule were very good!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lostgirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    75
    17
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Picked this place to eat with a friend because of its high rating on TripAdvisor (we're working our way down the listings) and it lived up to its rating. The atmosphere is very casual, as described. It wasn't too crowded when we went. The wait staff was very pleasant, knowledgeable. We want to go back again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
109 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Some good, some not”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I took a Sunday drive to "Noho" and decided to stop in the Amanouz Cafe based on the chance to have some Moroccan food and the good reviews on Tripadvisor. Our experience was mixed. The venue is clean but hardly attractive. It is not air conditioned, and on a very warm summer afternoon, it was mildly uncomfortable. It is hard to comment on the service because it hardly exists. Patrons go to a counter to order, and while someone brings the food to the table, patrons are also expected to clean up their own tables when leaving. I generally wouldn't mark them down for that, but it does lead to some issues. For example, we wanted to order appetizers and two main dishes, but that meant to avoid having everything come out at once, going to the order counter twice and paying twice. Since drinks were mostly selected from a glass door cooler and paid for, that also meant paying other times if you wanted a second drink. There was Moroccan tea available, which we ordered (and which was quite good), but we had to flag down one of the "food-bringers" to get her to bring some. Similarly, any questions about the menu involved either trips to the counter or flagging down an employee. Some of the items on the menu and the specials menu, such as "loubia" are listed without further explanation. Happily, when we did get someones attention, everyone was pleasant and helpful. As for the food, things began well, then dropped off. We started with Amanouz royal feast (humus, falafel, tabbouleh, musaka and pita bread , $7) and a vegetable cheese burek (egg plant, tomoato, and other broiled veggies and cheese on a filo crust, $3.50). The royal feats as plentiful and tasty. The burek was pretty good size and also good, although there was little cheese evident. These two were big enough so that we decided to split just one main dish. Based on an earlier reviewer's comment, we ordered the tagine fez (a stew of lamb, prunes, onions, peas and hard-boiled egg, $13). It came with a warm baguette. It was more interesting than good. It main failing was that there was very, very little lamb (one thin, largely stripped shank), and what meat here was was very fatty. By contrast, there were many prunes. That might have worked better if there had been more lamb, but soon, what amounted to prune stew, got a bit tiring. We were glad we tried the Amanouz, but will eat elsewhere during our next visit to Northampton.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank freetogoConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sumptuous Moroccan Sauces”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Traditional Moroccan dishes (my favorite is Tagine Fez) served in informal setting. It's all about the sauce! Imagine lamb or chicken, prunes, olives, soaked in a spice-filled gravy served over cous cous or rice or lentils. Tabouleh salad is my cold favorite (mix it with hummus on pita bread for an amazing combination). Wonderful Middle Eastern deserts. Wine selection is mediocre and a bit overpriced ($20 for a $5 wine); otherwise I'd give it 5 stars.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, MA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good American/Middle Eastern Fare”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Amanouz is a small, informal space with friendly staff, great prices and good food for Americanized middle eastern. You order at the counter and wait staff brings your food when ready. They serve breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Their menu choices are very broad. Meat eaters and vegetarians will find a great deal of choices. I have eaten here many times and I have never disliked anything I have tried.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hamphoops12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amanouz Cafe also viewed

Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 
Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 
Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 

Been to Amanouz Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing