We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, but cramped.”

Sylvester's Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 143 Restaurants in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious, but cramped.”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Waited 35 minutes to be seated in the middle row near the kitchen door. Endured two dozen close encounters with the hindquarters of a zaftig server in Daisy Dukes before asking to move to another table. (Request was accommodated graciously.) My friend savored her asparagus omelet - I had scrambled eggs and the salmon cakes with remoulade sauce and a generous side salad. Food delicious, but the setting was uncomfortable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MuddyShoesMedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    80
    28
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arendtsville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lots of options for a hearty breakfast”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were there by 8 on a Sunday morning and had no wait to be seated.Waitress was prompt and answered all our questions. Portions are large. Ordered the 2/2/2 with french toast. With only three slices of french toast, still ended up taking home one and a half. Others in the party finished their portions and were stuffed. Also ordered hot cider. Not impressed. It came in a soup bowl sized cup (too much) and the flavor was not there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ApplePieMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Bla”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

After several visits to this well attended and respected eatery I am left amazed that the flight to preciousness can overshadow ones own commonsense. From homemade bread to pancakes, the food is bland and generally uninteresting. Ask for anything out of the ordinary like American Cheese and out of luck you will be. I have explored the menu extensively as my partner insists we go regularly. Perhaps time for a new partner.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belchertown, MA
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best breakfast ever!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We went for breakfast and we were not disappointed. The sevice was great and the food wholesome and different then other resturants. The pancakes were very flavorfull.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank mannapro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great breakfast selections!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I love that they offer so many items for breakfast. Many are very healthy like whole grain pancakes. We try to have breakfast here at least once a month. We're never disaapointed,

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gabbi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sylvester's Restaurant also viewed

Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 
Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 

Been to Sylvester's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing