We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Bar!”
Review of The Tunnel Bar

The Tunnel Bar
Ranked #20 of 142 Restaurants in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
144 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bar!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The tunnel bar is situated literally in an inactive train tunnel. The long restaurant is beautifully decorated with tile walls, dim lighting and cozy armchairs. On a quite night it's a romantic place to take a date or go with a small group of friends. Due to the limited space I wouldn't recommend it for a group. When it gets crowded and the music gets loud it can be hard to sustain a conversations, especially since the chairs are pretty far apart. The menu has options for everyone but the bar is most well known for the martinis. They are a little pricey, especially for Northampton. This last time I had a vesper for $10 and loved it.

Come on a weeknight and be prepared to linger over your drink.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesserdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    21
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love the Tunnel Bar”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stopped in here several times for a cocktail before dinner. I just love the atmosphere. There are large comfortable chairs and couches. I agree with others that the drinks are not cheap, but you get a good sized drink and they are always good. The bartenders know how to make a good drink and are very professional. I would never hesitate to go here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2012girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Different to your average bar”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We visited on a Sunday night. Very unique setting - the name says it all. Tiled walls, curved ceilings, low lighting, decent bar. Great choice of beer and cocktails and comfy seating. All you need for a bar to have great atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You have to visit the Tunnel Bar!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Tunnel Bar is very difficult to find if you are not familiar with the area as there is no sign. Drinks aren't even all that cheap. However, this is an underground train station that has been converted into a lounge/bar. The place is just so unique and something worth seeing. They are known to have good martinis so I suggest this as a nice place to visit for a pre or post dinner cocktail with your spouse or friends. If only they served drinks during my nightly commute home in the subways on Boston! Enjoy!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BriTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tunnel Bar also viewed

Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 
Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 

Been to The Tunnel Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing