We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for bikers, accomodations below average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Maple Trailside Inn

Sugar Maple Trailside Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sugar Maple Trailside Inn
Save
You added Sugar Maple Trailside Inn to your Saves list
62 Chestnut Street, Northampton, MA 01062   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Northampton B&B and Inns
Cheltenham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good for bikers, accomodations below average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

The location is perfect if you come to bike. The room was very small and the bathroom needs a thorough cleaning, perhaps a renovations in the shower. Lighting is quite poor up to the second floor, as you cannot turn on a light from the bottom to the top floor. Not really the type of house for a b and b, as one needs to walk through the family room and dining room every time you enter or depart. One of the hosts could not read cues that we simply were not interested in all the intimate details he was willing to share. Breakfasts were perfunctory. If you are a biker, this space in right on the trail. Given the modest accommodations, the price should be significantly reduced.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Twotrainsrunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
railtrail, Owner at Sugar Maple Trailside Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I’m sorry you were disappointed. The floor plan for the house is prominently displayed on the website and the light switches for the staircase are do glow in the dark as an indicator that they are there. We’ll be upgrading though to an automatic sensor system to come on when people are present. Once again, sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    0
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

While the room was fine (if a trifle "cozy"), we were disappointed in the lack of anything resembling the usual B&B services and amenities. When we returned from a day in Northampton, the hosts were in their living room awaiting the delivery of the pizza they had ordered for dinner; meanwhile our bed had not been made, and the wet towels had not been removed. There was no shampoo. The bathroom was tiny; barely enough room to move around. The host talked about himself too much, and barely asked about our reasons for visiting the area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lovbbandbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2009

In the past, I've been disappointed to book a stay at a hospitable-sounding B&B lovingly created by a fascinating individual or couple--only to arrive and discover that individual or couple is rarely (or never) on the premises. Imagine you are invited for a weekend at the White House, only to arrive and learn that the First Family is off at Camp David. It's nice, but... something's missing.

Such is not the case at the Sugar Maple Trailside Inn. Craig and Kathy (you'll soon be on a first-name basis, too) are the Inn and the Inn is Craig and Kathy. With only two guest rooms, a stay at the Inn feels much more like visiting your friends, Craig and Kathy, in their home. Make sure you get them to relate the history of the house and it's restoration. Kathy combines the renovator's vision with the innkeeper's charm. Craig is a font of information on the history of the house; of Florence, Mass (who knew?); of local railroads; and of the conversion of abandoned railroads into bike/ped trails all over New England. If you're into biking, Craig can give you some great suggestions for your next trip.

My wife and I have stayed here on several occasions, in different seasons, over the years and find it a perfect "base camp" for accessing the Pioneer Valley's combination of recreation, culture, dining and history. After tanking up on Kathy's breakfast, we grab our bikes or our boots and explore the ever-expanding network of bike/ped trails in the region. (It's all of 8 feet from the Inn to the trail.) If it rains, there's always some museum, performance or event at one of the nearby Five Colleges to substitute pedagogy for pedaling.

Late afternoon finds us relaxing back at the Inn. In the summer, we gravitate toward the patio; in the fall, to the sun porch; and at night or in the winter to the cozy living room.

While the gustatory charms of Northampton are a scant two miles away and Amherst is not much farther, try to have at least one meal at the nearby (two blocks) Miss Florence Diner. "Miss Flo's" as she is known, is a classic institution that has been slingin' hash at the same location for decades. (Don't miss the pies.)

Now, a couple of caveats: the Inn was built as a house in the 1850s and reflects the smaller scale of that era. As other reviewers have noted, the guest rooms are not huge. One person's "cozy" could well be another person's "cramped." Since my wife and I do little more than sleep and shower in the guest rooms, it's never been an issue for us. Second, since Smith College is quite close, the Inn is often sold out. If your stay is in conjunction with some event at Smith, book well in advance.

  • Liked — Craig and Cathy, Location, History
  • Disliked — No full breakfast (but a good one at Miss Flo's is 2 blocks away).
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Evoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2006

The bedrooms are really small. The queen bed has a mattress pad that has a plastic backing. I took it off because of the noise it made and discovered it was not very clean and had hair all over it. Bad lighting in Queen bedrom. The baths were redone in 2001 but have a very unclean feeling in stall shower. The bathroom rug hadn't been washed in a while.
The owner Craig is overbearing and actually took my bagel from my plate to cut it and place it in the toaster. I don't like people touching my food. He talks too much.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — uncomfortable pillows and dirty bathroom
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ckgirle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2004

My Partner and son stayed here and the hospitality was great as well as the bike trail. I highly recommend it for a local getaway. Craig and Kathleen are great hosts and you can ride on nostalgic style bikes if you prefer. The surroundings are beautiful and quiet. Enjoy and tell them Wayne, Carol & Sammy sent you!!

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
2.2 mi away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 5 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 4 in Holyoke
4.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
5.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#5 of 7 in Hadley
3.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Maple Trailside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Maple Trailside Inn

Property: Sugar Maple Trailside Inn
Address: 62 Chestnut Street, Northampton, MA 01062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Northampton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Maple Trailside Inn, a bed and breakfast near Smith College approximately 2 miles west of downtown Northampton. Renovated to offer modern comforts, our two air-conditioned guest rooms feature, private bathrooms with showers, quiet surroundings, antique furnishings, large closets, and pleasant views of the adjacent bike path. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing