We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like moldy carpets....”
Review of Autumn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Autumn Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Northampton B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 13, 2007

When my husband and I first pulled up it seemed to be an average looking place. We checked in and headed to our room. As soon as we walked into the long hallway of rooms we were hit with this musty moldy smell. It just permeated from the carpet and continued into our room. We had to open the windows to try to air out the room but it did not do much help. Thank goodness we brought slippers because the thought of our bare foot rubbing up against that nasty carpet is more than I can bear. I tried taking a shower and was horrified to see mold growing all over the curtain. I don't understand how people expect to run a business if they don't vacuum the rug regularly or clean the shower properly. We actually debated leaving but decided to stay because we did not want to be out the money for that night.

The staff seemed nice and the place has potential to be something great but it is not there yet. This is definitely a motel and not an inn. Seriously, your grandma's house probably smells better than this place. I do not recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jnnok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 158 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2007

It's NOT an Inn, nor a B&B but simply a motel. I don't believe that the carpets in the corridors had been vacuumed for a while and there was an unpleasant smell from them as we walked along them to our room
We had booked by phone after referring to the Mobil 2007 guide book which gave the impression from the description of the place that it was going to be something above average and in fact, a specialty lodging. That could not have been further from the truth as it was a drab, very ordinary building with a motel feel to it and certainly not an Inn.
The saving grace was that the beds were very comfortable and the staff very friendly. The public areas were clean and well looked after - apart from the carpets. Also our double room was very spacious and we got a good nights sleep.
I usually check on this website first before booking but we weren't able to on this occasion. Good thing you're reading this first!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GotToReadItFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

Very clean, comfortable room - well above the average in size and quality. Nice outdoor pool and good continental breakfast. All this for a little over $100 promotional internet price for two adults and two children staying in one room. Superb value. Highly recommend. Friendly people too.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BucksUK_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2007

We stayed at the Autumn in June 2007 for one night only enroute from Boston to NYC.

This is a GREAT college area, home to the beautiful Smith College, and has a very cute funky downtown as does Amherst which is only 10 minutes away.

The hotel is made to look on the front like an Inn. There is a very nice welcoming lobby and restaurant/breakfast area. There is also FREE access there in the lobby to internet INCLUDING printing which was helpful.

The rooms are not huge but had everything we needed. Plus a nice continental style breakfast was included (looks like there may be more options on the weekend), the room had a coffee maker and reminded me a lot of motels I stayed in as a kid travelling cross country.

The very nice guy at the front desk when we checked in was helpful as we didnt know the area AT ALL.

Also there was an unheated Pool but my daughter is always up for swimming so we had a brisk morning swim when we left. The pool area is nice and large. If it was really hot, this would be a HUGE plus.

My daughter who is 11, after we passed some hotels in Amherst including Hampton inn, etc, said "I am so glad we stayed where we did as it had so much charm". What more can be said.

I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SanDiegoMom08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2006

Yes, it is a motel rather than a B&B or an inn, but the room was very large and clean, the bathroon had been recently renovated and the first floor (reception, large breakfast room) was a nice change from the ordinary chain hotel plastic setup. The beds were brand new and extremely comfortable.
The staff was friendly enough, while keeping in line with traditional New England reserve:-)
I would recommend it for any person visiting Northampton in connection with Smith which is practically across the street.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Wakefield-RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2006

The Autumn Inn is listed as a boutique hotel on several websites. It is an OLD hotel/motel. The furnishings are tired and poorly kept. I stayed in the main hotel. The room was large, but very tired and old. The beds had 1 thin blanket and it was 39 degrees in Northhampton! The evening desk clerk was unable to solve this problem. They say they have wireless internet, but noone had any idea how to get it to work. There is a continental breakfast (waffle, cereal etc.), also a bit tired. This is a Clarion hotel/motel across the street from Smith College. It is the closest accomodation for visitors to Smith. This is not an Inn or anything that would imply character beyond being leftover from the 50's and just plain tired.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Gemma'smum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2006

Travelled down from North Conway and Northampton was where we pulled off Interstate, bit desperate as we hadnot booked anywhere and this was really the first place we saw.The elderly receptionist was really friendly and helpful, but unfortunately the other times we used the reception desk there were two young men manning it who, all helpful weren't particularly friendly. Quite pricey for what we got, room clean but carpet very badly stained between beds where something had been tipped.
Breakfast not too bad, but again woman in kitchen who I think was the owner and tidied the tables wasnt very friendly, no "good morning" or anything. Overall adequate stay but very pricey for what you get. Dont think i would stay there again if i had the choice

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshfifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Northampton
191 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 5 in Northampton
447 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
6.1 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
4.1 mi away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Autumn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Autumn Inn

Address: 259 Elm St, Northampton, MA 01060-2801
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Northampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Northampton
Price Range: $106 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Autumn Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique property located at the edge of Smith College campus and within walking distance to downtown Northampton. With its colonial style, charm, and furnishings, the Autumn Inn is the perfect location for rest, relaxation and renewal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Autumn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Autumn Hotel Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing