We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm, friendly place”
Review of Autumn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Autumn Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Northampton B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed on 2/22/14, went with friends, we were all from out of state. Found the hotel online, great price, a short walking distance from the center of town. Free parking available. Service was friendly, large fireplace in the living room, where you were able to have a seat to enjoy the fire and/or get a hot or cold drink anytime. The rooms were very clean and neat; our room had two double beds; it was very large and had a couch, it was on the corner on the bottom floor, very homey. Hot water, hair dryer, room safe, small fridge, everything you'd want or need. You could easily adjust the temperature in the room with no trouble or alot of noise. Yes the decor and fixtures were dated, but everything worked very well and again was very clean. Continential breakfast, alot of variety, everything looked fresh and there was someone there always restocking. We were really happy with everything. We will stay there again and I would reccomend it.

Room Tip: floor room with double bed on corner was huge and had a couch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 159 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

The Autumn Inn was cozy with a friendly staff to boot. Rooms were larger than your average hotel room. It was close enough to town to walk. Loved the dining room with fireplace.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 531debbieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We had a really nice visit meeting up with some family for a long weekend. It's a little place with friendly service. Our room was large and had a safe, although the decor is a little dated. The bathroom fixtures are also a little dated, but perfectly fine. Breakfast was mostly continental, with a lot of variety, but also includes hot waffles. Plenty of parking. My favorite feature is the large fireplace in the dining room. So cozy!

We always visit in the winter but they do have a large pool out back - would be nice in the summer.

The bottom level is motel like. If it's winter, try to get a room upstairs so that it's interior.

The Inn is also less than a mile walk to the center of Northampton. The Inn is also not too far from the highway.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Autumn Inn is a nice and cozy hotel very close to downtown Northampton, Massachusetts. The price is very reasonable. The rooms are clean and offer everything you would need. The dining room has a very comfortable seating area with a huge old hearth. The staff nudge the fire round the clock. Oh yes, the staff - friendly and helpful. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have stayed at the Autumn Inn several times while visiting family in Northampton. The rooms are clean and quiet. The staff is very accommodating and professional. The staff is also knowledgeable and appreciative of the unique offerings in Northampton.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1longstrangetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This was a very nice place to stay especially for the price. The main building has a huge fireplace and places to sit and eat. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was your basic continental breakfast. Close to downtown. Plenty of parking. Rooms were clean.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen03038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed here twice in the last month. The first visit was during the middle of the week, when there were few guests. The second visit was on a Sat. night, when the inn was fairly crowded. I was given the same room on both occasions, a second-floor room with one queen-sized bed, that was accessed via a stairway off the lobby.
Pros: The room and bathroom were very clean on both occasions. The furniture is older and the nightstands had some water rings on them, but that's because they're actual wood, not the usual "polyester" furniture you'd get in a chain motel. The bed was very comfortable, and the heating system was responsive and quiet. The front desk staff and people in the dining room were excellent. The breakfast was nothing fancy but absolutely fine. The all-day fire in the fireplace was wonderful.
Cons: On the second visit, when the inn had a high number of guests, I experienced some of the noise that other reviews have noted. I liked that the doors to the rooms were wooden and didn't close with a heavy metallic bang like those in chain motels, but the plumbing system is indeed loud. Someone took a shower at 1:00 AM and it was indeed loud. I believe that this occurred in the room adjacent to mine, however. On my first visit, I wasn't aware that the rooms next to me were occupied and experienced no noise whatsoever. Finally, for some reason, the internet is slower than dial-up during the evenings, but works just fine in the morning.
Conclusion: In spite of the cons, I would stay here again. Not only is the place clean and friendly, an added plus is that it feels very safe for women traveling alone.

Room Tip: Request a room that is at the end of a corridor, on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachwalker431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
0.8 mi away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 4 in Northampton
455 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 4 in Northampton
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
925 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Hadley
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Autumn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Autumn Inn

Address: 259 Elm St, Northampton, MA 01060-2801
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Northampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Northampton
Price Range: $92 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Autumn Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique property located at the edge of Smith College campus and within walking distance to downtown Northampton. With its colonial style, charm, and furnishings, the Autumn Inn is the perfect location for rest, relaxation and renewal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Autumn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Autumn Hotel Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing