We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good location, clean rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Autumn Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Autumn Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Northampton B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good location, clean rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We happened to stay in Northampton for a single day during a trip around the state without knowing about the town, and booked the Autumn Inn as it was reasonably priced. It turned out to be in a good location, say 10 minutes stroll from the high street, and had lots of free parking. The rooms were very clean if a bit dated and there was free tea/ coffee in the lobby all day. A Continental breakfast was included within the rate which was fresh and perfectly acceptable. Given the cost and ease if I ever returned to Northampton - a charming place - I would stay here again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    57
    40
    17
    15
See reviews for
47
34
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at the Autumn Inn the first weekend in October, 2013, for a wedding. We arrived early and couldn't check in, which we assumed would be the case. We were able to have some coffee and breakfast in their cozy dining area, which enabled us to meet up with friends that had already arrived. Upon returning from sightseeing, we checked into the room, which was cozy, clean and yes, a little dated, but it was very nice. We had many events planned for the weekend and weren't in our rooms all that much, but enjoyed our stay along with the lovely breakfast provided. This place has a lovely, homey feel to it. We had no wifi problems at all during our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PB6751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

i am reliant on internet access. During a business trip, staying here, the wifi was great for the first two days, fast and functional. Arriving back on the third day, the wireless interenet access, provided by a company called BluePort, was unfunctional. I got new logins, called tech support and the front desk, and no joy. Finally ended up using my phone as access point. In my view, if you advertise free wifi, you should provide it, or be willing to refund customers some portion of the room price (which was dismissed without even considering, as if it were ridiculous of me to even ask). Won't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank george a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Northampton hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
207 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We get to Northampton often and the Inn is near our Granddaughter's house. It is convenient, neat , clean and a very decent place to spend a night or two. They service abreakfast as well included in the charge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buppa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Autumn Inn was a very clean and comfortable place to stay while visiting Northampton. Close to our destination, (the Calvin Theater). Also there are plenty of restaurant's within walking distance. Also plenty of shopping.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a nice place to stay in Northamptopn, MA. We booked it because some of the more well known "brand-name" places on the highway in Hadley were booked out for an athletic event more than a month ahead of our visit.

We had a 1 bedroom suite which was large, even for 2 parents, 2 teenagers, and grandma. In the living area, in addition to the fold-out couch there was an arm chair and a rocking chair.

It's a little old fashioned, we took photos of our room keys, because it was the first time in over a decade we had room keys that were physical, actual keys, rather than key-cards.

Wifi services were limited to 3 devices per room.

The kitchinette was adequate, but hand-wash only (no dishwaher). The bathroom was also OK. House-keeping also fine, giving us extra towels as we asked for, but the cups in the room were styrofoam. The kitchenware (plates, etc.) minimal - but better than some other places we have stayed on this trip.

The pool and its area are lovely & peaceful, with some good shade from trees nearby, so even in 90+ F temperatures, the water was refreshing.

There are no laundry facilties, so we drove to a laundromat on Pleasant St, downtown.

The breakfast was OK: cereal, toast, muffins, boiled eggs & a waffle station - but my son was disappointed by no bacon, sausage, or ham at breakfast.

We enjoyed our stay & if we return to the Northampton area, I will try and get my family to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hk-reader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, our room was massive and kept nice and clean by the maids! There was a lovely pool too which we used that was great as it was so hot! The breakfast was good too, a good selection of cereals, cakes, muffins, toasts, juices, eggs, teas, coffee and a waffle station! Yum! The inn also has a lovely New England charm to it and the staff were so friendly and helpful! We didn't do this but there is a rent a bike service too which is a great idea, there's a lovely path over the river that connects Amherst to Northampton! The room was well air conditioned, however it did have an air scent added in to it, that was a little over powering when we first walked in our room, we hasn't experienced this kind of air scent added to air containing before. But we kept the air con on and soon got used to it!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anon143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
0.8 mi away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 5 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
4.1 mi away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Autumn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Autumn Inn

Property: Autumn Inn
Address: 259 Elm St, Northampton, MA 01060-2801
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Northampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Autumn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique property located at the edge of Smith College campus and within walking distance to downtown Northampton. With its colonial style, charm, and furnishings, the Autumn Inn is the perfect location for rest, relaxation and renewal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Autumn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Autumn Hotel Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing