We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice place to stay in Northampton - a bit old fashioned” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Autumn Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Autumn Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Northampton B&B and Inns
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in Northampton - a bit old fashioned”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a nice place to stay in Northamptopn, MA. We booked it because some of the more well known "brand-name" places on the highway in Hadley were booked out for an athletic event more than a month ahead of our visit.

We had a 1 bedroom suite which was large, even for 2 parents, 2 teenagers, and grandma. In the living area, in addition to the fold-out couch there was an arm chair and a rocking chair.

It's a little old fashioned, we took photos of our room keys, because it was the first time in over a decade we had room keys that were physical, actual keys, rather than key-cards.

Wifi services were limited to 3 devices per room.

The kitchinette was adequate, but hand-wash only (no dishwaher). The bathroom was also OK. House-keeping also fine, giving us extra towels as we asked for, but the cups in the room were styrofoam. The kitchenware (plates, etc.) minimal - but better than some other places we have stayed on this trip.

The pool and its area are lovely & peaceful, with some good shade from trees nearby, so even in 90+ F temperatures, the water was refreshing.

There are no laundry facilties, so we drove to a laundromat on Pleasant St, downtown.

The breakfast was OK: cereal, toast, muffins, boiled eggs & a waffle station - but my son was disappointed by no bacon, sausage, or ham at breakfast.

We enjoyed our stay & if we return to the Northampton area, I will try and get my family to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hk-reader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    56
    38
    16
    12
See reviews for
43
32
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, our room was massive and kept nice and clean by the maids! There was a lovely pool too which we used that was great as it was so hot! The breakfast was good too, a good selection of cereals, cakes, muffins, toasts, juices, eggs, teas, coffee and a waffle station! Yum! The inn also has a lovely New England charm to it and the staff were so friendly and helpful! We didn't do this but there is a rent a bike service too which is a great idea, there's a lovely path over the river that connects Amherst to Northampton! The room was well air conditioned, however it did have an air scent added in to it, that was a little over powering when we first walked in our room, we hasn't experienced this kind of air scent added to air containing before. But we kept the air con on and soon got used to it!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anon143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, WI
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were in town for a wedding, which was wonderful! The area was experiencing higher than normal temperatures for June (around 95 degrees) and we were looking forward to enjoying the pool. Unfortunately, they were having some sort of problem (got three different explanations from three different staff members) and the pool had no water and was out of order. Disappointment No. 1: No Pool. After breakfast, we decided to sit outside for a while on the wrought iron chairs provided; but staff asked us to relocate because those were only for the people in the room directly adjacent - although there was nothing to indicate this. Disappointment No. 2: No Patio. Rooms were large and clean. Breakfast was adequate. Location near Smith College is excellent. Don't stay here if you want to swim.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were moved to this quaint inn after our original reservation at another local hotel was "lost." What a treat! On the campus of Smith College in a beautiful New England village bustling with college life, in a lovely older house converted to an inn. While the rooms are not elegant by modern standards, ours was large, clean, and suited our needs perfectly. And I would be remiss if I did not mention that the bed and bedding was of superior quality. The breakfast room is amazing - complete with a real old-fashioned waffle maker and huge fireplace hearth. We loved it - wish we were there in warmer weather because there was a beautiful secluded pool in back. If you're looking for comfort and style, this can't be beat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbbax14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Autumn in is a nice, middle price hotel. The rooms are a little bit dark and depressing but the beds are comfortable and it's clean. It's about a mile walk outside Northampton which means it's hard to slip out for a snack. The breakfast is not good. Hard boiled eggs, little packets of cereal and oatmeal and not brilliant coffee. However,and almost most important, the staff is superb. Everyone was outstanding, chatty, friendly, full of information and ideas. I had a crisis staying there when I discovered that a hotel I had booked the following week in San Francisco had been reviewed by Trip Advisor as full of bedbugs, hookers and pushers and I was in a complete panic. Desiree in reception was right on the case, jumped online and said she was delighted to book me another place and gave me her own thoughts about her travels in San Francisco. All others present were enormously sympathetic. I'd definitely stay again, hoping that the breakfast might have improved.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chapwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Autumn Inn is a lovely old fashioned hotel near Smith College. It is like going to grandma's house -- it you had a New England grandmother. The furniture is old and funky, there is a huge stone fireplace in the downstairs lobby / breakfast room. I find it very comforting, and have stayed here multiple times.
They have a nice breakfast with waffles, boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal, toast and fruit.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is free wifi and a printer available in the lobby.
It is about 2 blocks from Smith College and walking avoids the parking hassles at Smith. It is a longer walk to town, but do-able.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diss13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Beds are comfortable, room is clean, shower has good pressure and breakfast - included - is average. Coffee is weak and you have to pay extra for the safe, but can get it refunded at checkout. You can walk everywhere from the inn. Overall, not bad, but I might look for something else if I return to Northampton. Seems overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 5 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
4.1 mi away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
4.5 of 5 stars 637 reviews
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
3.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Autumn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Autumn Inn

Property: Autumn Inn
Address: 259 Elm St, Northampton, MA 01060-2801
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Northampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Autumn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique property located at the edge of Smith College campus and within walking distance to downtown Northampton. With its colonial style, charm, and furnishings, the Autumn Inn is the perfect location for rest, relaxation and renewal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Autumn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Autumn Hotel Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing