We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i highly recommend the Autumn Inn”
Review of Autumn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Autumn Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Northampton B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The room was neat, clean, appealing and included any/all amenities one could need. The bed was extremely comfortable with lovely linens and pillows. The front desk staff was courteous, professional, helpful, knowledgeable. the pool was extremely appealing. the breakfast was bountiful and tasty. i highly recommend the Autumn Inn and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Room #33 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 158 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

I want to like the Autumn Inn, I really do. I've stayed there twice now. Just recently and several years ago. It's proximity to the Smith College campus and downtown Northampton can't be beat. I've found the performance of its staff to be adequate enough: relatively pleasant, mild, and helpful. And the bathroom appears to have undergone a modest upgrade between visits. But this place needs some serious updating. Foremost, the stained, threadbare carpet makes for rooms that reek! The dank, stale air is simply nauseating, and my companion and I had difficulty breathing throughout the night. Whether it's because the rooms have housed smokers over the years or because of some fungus or mold lurking nearby—likely both—the rooms are musty and fetid. I wouldn't stay here again, at least not until they rip up the dingy carpet. I could go on—the seemingly unwashed bedspread, the arcane safe usage charge (even if not using it), the below average continental breakfast—but all its other shortcomings are minor compared to the repugnant dampness permeating the rooms.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
4  Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Recently stayed at the Autumn Inn as part of a college search tour with my husband and two teenage daughters. We booked a "one-bedroom" suite with a full ktichen, and were pretty annoyed to discover that our room had been given to someone else. The clerk showed us another suite with a separate bedroom that smelled like smoke (does anyone really smoke anymore? yuck), so we settled for a huge one-room space with a queen bed and pull-out sofa. (Somehow, this didn't change the rate we paid. Hmmmmm). Anyway, after our initial frustration, our moods improved when we discovered that the beds were very comfortable, the pool was huge and deep, the a/c was efficient and not too noisy (it was 95 degrees), and the location was amazing. Everyone in the family went for a run through Smith's campus (beautiful), and then we buzzed down to the nearby restaurants for a fun dinner at a mexican place. The continental breakfast was quite mediocre (a few cereals, bouncy hard boiled eggs, generic bagels, bad coffee), but our expectations are usually pretty low for these "free" breakfasts. It was enough to get through til we found a coffee shop in Amherst. :) All in all, I can recommend it as a perfectly acceptable place to stay in a really cool town.

Room Tip: Our room was the lower level of a separate building right across the parking lot from the office...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jastraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We got a nice Priceline deal on a night here. I always wanted to stay here. Charming little motel in a great college town. It was clean, thoughtfully appointed, perfect for an overnight, handy to Northampton and the shops and campuses. We were greeted warmly, and in the morning another desk person, equally welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: We preferred and enjoyed a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funkynana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I recently stayed in the Autumn Inn for at least the sixth time, all connected with visits to Smith College and family in the area. For visiting Smith, there is no better location: it's virtually across the street from the Quad and Admissions is a five-minute walk. ALERT: if planning to stay for Family Weekend or Graduation, book the day that reservations open up, otherwise you may be too late, they have something like only 30 rooms.

The Autumn Inn is a B&B-style hotel. Not at all flashy, a bit dated in some ways. But the rooms are decent size, the beds are comfortable, the free breakfast (including waffles) is nice and the breakfast room very pleasant, and the location make for a satisfying stay...I always look forward to it.

For comparison, I find the Hotel Northampton to be too pricey and both a bit "fussy" and claustrophobic, while the Clarion is pretty bland & non-descript.

Looking forward to my next trip there though it may be another 2-4 years.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trismegistus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed in this refurbished motel on a trip to visit colleges around Smith. The motel is literally across the street from campus. It's adequate and comfortable, but not particularly charming or elegant. We had an excellent rate through Hotwire.com; if I had paid their full rate I would have definitely been less happy with the hotel. Adequate continental breakfast was offered. Staff was friendly and informative about the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlt1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We found the Autumn Inn charming and very comfortable. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and the beds and pillows were great. The continental breakfast was fine, though the coffee was not the best. It is located very close to Northampton, a great little city to visit. The air conditioner was a little wonky but the temperature was okay nevertheless. We were impressed by the cute, complimentary bicycles but did not get a chance to use them.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Packtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Northampton
192 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 5 in Northampton
447 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
6.1 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
4.1 mi away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Autumn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Autumn Inn

Address: 259 Elm St, Northampton, MA 01060-2801
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Northampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Northampton
Price Range: $106 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Autumn Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique property located at the edge of Smith College campus and within walking distance to downtown Northampton. With its colonial style, charm, and furnishings, the Autumn Inn is the perfect location for rest, relaxation and renewal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Autumn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Autumn Hotel Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing