We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Northampton
Nearby Hotels
$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Autumn Inn(Northampton)
$107
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
North King Motel(Northampton)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
$136
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Hadley)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveler rating
135
164
87
37
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
135
164
87
37
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswiggins taverncontinental breakfastcocktail hourcoolidge parksmith collegeiron horsenew englandclassic hotelroom blockhotel is greatwedding guestswedding weekendbeautiful historic hotelking streetpark your caran older hotelgranola
Filter
Updating list...
398 - 403 of 462 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2010

The Hotel Northampton has a beautiful lobby, and its charm ends there. The room we paid close to $170 for had a damp carpet, a toilet that did not flush properly, a poorly installed air conditioner unit and a filthy filter in the AC unit (after waiting for a half hour for a response from the front desk, we ended up cleaning the filter ourselves and put tape around the AC unit to keep the mosquitoes from coming in).
I strongly advise you to look for a better place to stay. Yes - this place is centrally located, but shame on them for being so cheap when it comes to simple things like toilets and AC units.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shabmerch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Yes, it's in a great location, but that's about it. You're better off enjoying the place from the bar and sleeping else where. The decor is outdated, with small rooms, and few modern perks; all for a high price. Stayed for a wedding in July and the room didn't even have the A/C turned on. When the A/C ended up being broken the staff thought fans were an acceptable fix. It was 3AM before they finally agreed to move us to a new room. The new room was about as cool and a screen porch in July even with the A/C running. I've emailed the hotel general manager twice now about our terrible experience and have not received even an acknowledgment back. Do yourself a favor and drive back to downtown Springfield for an upscale hotel or save money and book a motel room close by.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank supraceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay here. A large lovely room well decorated. Staff very attentive and helpful and cheery. Continental breakfast was fine and included in the price although hot alternatives were available to buy.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmogano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

I've been to Northampton many times. This time the trip was with my parents. We have a motel in the area that we've been to many times and really enjoy, but thought we'd try out the ol' historic hotel just once. Honestly, we regretted it.

The reasons to visit this hotel include its historic characteristics and its location. It's a grand old building, but the rooms could be better. We were high up, and the sleep was fine. The location? Fantastic. Right by the gorgeous courthouse, across the street from an independent toy store and a great music venue. What's not to like?

Well... Unfortunately, in this day and age there's absolutely no excuse for charging $10 for 24 hours of internet access. It's called nickel-and-diming, and this is one of the worst offenders I've ever seen in that respect. Just because you've got a "captive audience" for the service doesn't mean you should milk the most money you can out of them!

Additionally, for the price you pay you should be getting a pretty good breakfast. Here, the continental was mediocre and not fulfilling (or even plain ol' filling).

Long story short, there are much better values in and around the Northampton area. Ones with free wireless and fantastic complimentary breakfasts. I'd suggest admiring the Hotel Northampton from the outside, and staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadTripToSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

My teenage daughter and I stayed here on a trip east to look at colleges, including nearby Smith. We found the hotel very clean with friendly staff. The beds were incredibly comfortable and we had a great night's sleep. We ate dinner outdoors at the hotel's Coolidge Park Cafe, which was equally good -- fresh food (the fruit and cheese appetizer was amazing), large portions, and friendly, attentive service without hovering. We booked a very good price as well through the hotel's website. The only disappointment was the quality of the complementary breakfast. It was a beautiful spread but in reality offered very little.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews