We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Northampton
Nearby Hotels
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Autumn Inn(Northampton)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
North King Motel(Northampton)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
$144
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Hadley)
$92
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (465)
Filter reviews
465 results
Traveler rating
136
166
87
37
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
136
166
87
37
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswiggins taverncoolidge parksmith collegecontinental breakfastcocktail hournew englandiron horseclassic hotelroom blockhotel is greatwedding guestsbeautiful historic hotelwedding weekendking streetpark your caran older hotelgranola
Filter
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 465 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel itself is a very nice quaint and historic hotel. If you are looking for a large modern luxurious room, then this isn’t your place. However, the hotel does have a lot of character. Wiggins Tavern is really good and you feel like you are in an old and historic tavern. I highly recommend.

The city is full of shops and restaurants. While the hotel is historic and quaint, the city is more young and trendy. That could be good or bad depending on what you are looking for. Great restaurants, but not so great at midnight when the drunks leave the bar and start making noise.

I was unfortunate to stay on the street-side of the hotel and this really was a deal breaker for me. It’s a busy street and you could hear every car go by. Every truck. Every bus. You get a little break, then the busses and garbage trucks start going in the morning.

One night there was a concert across the street. The music was loud. It ended at midnight and a drunken couple starts a screaming match where the police had to show up. I got a couple hours of rest and then another drunk fight outside around 3:00 am…a couple of hours of rest until the busses, street sweepers and garbage trucks start up around 5:00 am.

They need to figure out how to put in some soundproofing. The walls are paper thin. The windows are no better. So you hear everything going on outside. If they want you to stay on the street side of the hotel, just walk away!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the parking lot to avoid street noise!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed for two nights and expected much more for the price(very costly for the area). The area is nice, shopping restaurants and sites were outstanding as are the Colleges in the area. THe service was average and the rooms were not cleaned until well into the late afternoon . The room would not have been cleaned until even later, except I pulled a cleaner into the room and strongly requested it be cleaned before out wedding event 1 hour later.The rooms are small and lack enough towels for two people. The bathroom in the lobby was dirty after an evening event and the breakfast bar was not fully set up when they opened @ 7 AM.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank doctorc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

4歳と0歳連れで新館に泊まりました。格式ありながらも堅苦しくなくキレイで清潔でした。街一番のホテルらしく、披露宴にをしていていい雰囲気でした。
We stayed in the newer suite, which was clean and decent, though not too formal. I brought my kids, who're four years and a toddler. The hotel employees were all kind and friendly.
We'd definitely like to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ふぢたま
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorthamptonExec, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review! We are thrilled you were able to experience all that the Hotel has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed overnight with my elderly mother who used to stop on occasion years ago to eat in Wiggins Tavern. Overall we had a nice evening. The room was beautifully clean and comfortable. Food in Wiggins was very good. Two negative comments to share. One, my mother felt the bathroom was not friendly to older people. In order to shower, you had to step over the bathtub, which is fine, but there was no type of rail or bar to grasp. Second, there was a wedding going on. The pre-reception cocktail hour was held in the lobby. Step off the elevator and bam, you are at the party. I think this is odd. While we were not dressed like bums, we obviously were not dressed up for a wedding. Some of the guests just continued to carry on their conversations and didn't even try to step aside to let us by. I Saw several people on the street look inside and move on instead of coming inside. So, business is gained for the wedding but also lost on those who would have come in for a drink or dinner. Would I stay again? Not if there was an event going on.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familytravel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorthamptonExec, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take our guest reviews very seriously, as they help us better our service. We do offer rooms which are equipped with grab bars and other safety features to accommodate guests that might need more assistance. During your next stay, please ask Reservations for one of this rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

the building is historically old, so the rooms are small. But the staff is phenomenal. The location is spot on. And everything you need is readily available and within walking distance. We were there for a wedding. Awesome facility. Enjoyed sitting in the rocking chairs on the front porch. If get an opportunity, have a piece of Red Velvet Cake at Wiggins Tavern in the hotel.

Room Tip: If there is a wedding gong on and you are not a guest of the wedding it can be pretty loud and crazy in the lobby. so you might want to avoid that area.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smalltalker65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews