We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place...but the NOISE”
Review of Hotel Northampton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Northampton
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Northampton
Butler, New Jersey
1 review
“Nice place...but the NOISE”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel itself is a very nice quaint and historic hotel. If you are looking for a large modern luxurious room, then this isn’t your place. However, the hotel does have a lot of character. Wiggins Tavern is really good and you feel like you are in an old and historic tavern. I highly recommend.

The city is full of shops and restaurants. While the hotel is historic and quaint, the city is more young and trendy. That could be good or bad depending on what you are looking for. Great restaurants, but not so great at midnight when the drunks leave the bar and start making noise.

I was unfortunate to stay on the street-side of the hotel and this really was a deal breaker for me. It’s a busy street and you could hear every car go by. Every truck. Every bus. You get a little break, then the busses and garbage trucks start going in the morning.

One night there was a concert across the street. The music was loud. It ended at midnight and a drunken couple starts a screaming match where the police had to show up. I got a couple hours of rest and then another drunk fight outside around 3:00 am…a couple of hours of rest until the busses, street sweepers and garbage trucks start up around 5:00 am.

They need to figure out how to put in some soundproofing. The walls are paper thin. The windows are no better. So you hear everything going on outside. If they want you to stay on the street side of the hotel, just walk away!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the parking lot to avoid street noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    146
    73
    31
    38
See reviews for
102
146
19
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed for two nights and expected much more for the price(very costly for the area). The area is nice, shopping restaurants and sites were outstanding as are the Colleges in the area. THe service was average and the rooms were not cleaned until well into the late afternoon . The room would not have been cleaned until even later, except I pulled a cleaner into the room and strongly requested it be cleaned before out wedding event 1 hour later.The rooms are small and lack enough towels for two people. The bathroom in the lobby was dirty after an evening event and the breakfast bar was not fully set up when they opened @ 7 AM.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank doctorc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2013

4歳と0歳連れで新館に泊まりました。格式ありながらも堅苦しくなくキレイで清潔でした。街一番のホテルらしく、披露宴にをしていていい雰囲気でした。
We stayed in the newer suite, which was clean and decent, though not too formal. I brought my kids, who're four years and a toddler. The hotel employees were all kind and friendly.
We'd definitely like to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ふぢたま
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorthamptonExec, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review! We are thrilled you were able to experience all that the Hotel has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed overnight with my elderly mother who used to stop on occasion years ago to eat in Wiggins Tavern. Overall we had a nice evening. The room was beautifully clean and comfortable. Food in Wiggins was very good. Two negative comments to share. One, my mother felt the bathroom was not friendly to older people. In order to shower, you had to step over the bathtub, which is fine, but there was no type of rail or bar to grasp. Second, there was a wedding going on. The pre-reception cocktail hour was held in the lobby. Step off the elevator and bam, you are at the party. I think this is odd. While we were not dressed like bums, we obviously were not dressed up for a wedding. Some of the guests just continued to carry on their conversations and didn't even try to step aside to let us by. I Saw several people on the street look inside and move on instead of coming inside. So, business is gained for the wedding but also lost on those who would have come in for a drink or dinner. Would I stay again? Not if there was an event going on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familytravel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorthamptonExec, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take our guest reviews very seriously, as they help us better our service. We do offer rooms which are equipped with grab bars and other safety features to accommodate guests that might need more assistance. During your next stay, please ask Reservations for one of this rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

the building is historically old, so the rooms are small. But the staff is phenomenal. The location is spot on. And everything you need is readily available and within walking distance. We were there for a wedding. Awesome facility. Enjoyed sitting in the rocking chairs on the front porch. If get an opportunity, have a piece of Red Velvet Cake at Wiggins Tavern in the hotel.

Room Tip: If there is a wedding gong on and you are not a guest of the wedding it can be pretty loud and crazy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smalltalker65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

A very pleasant stay at a Victorian-style hotel. I liked the look and the feel. Room was fine and there were no problems. Only downside is the staff are young and lack good customer service skills -- the wait staff in particular are very inattentive. Overall however a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAENVIRON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorthamptonExec, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We take our guest reviews very seriously, as they help us better our service. We will address your concerns with both our restaurant and front desk staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The hotel is centrally located, close to restaurants and shops. Our room was small but very clean which for us is a big plus. The ladies on the front desk are great. The hotel lobby is charming and
has so much character. However, the lobby had some kind of smell. But I believe the all the rooms were okay; at least ours was odor free.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Northampton
178 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
803 reviews
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Northampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Northampton

Property: Hotel Northampton
Address: 36 King St, Northampton, MA 01060-3291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Northampton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Northampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing