We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Northampton is entertaining!”
Review of Hotel Northampton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Northampton
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Northampton
Winchendon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Northampton is entertaining!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff was helpful and courteous. Our room was nicely appointed and clean. I did notice a stale smell upon entering the room. The bathroom was very clean and up to date. It was quiet in our part of the hotel. There was a coffee maker in our room which was great to use. The free continental breakfast consisted of yogurt, muffins, bread, a glazed pastry, juices, tea and coffee. I appreciate the breakfast added in as it is very convenient. The free parking in the back of the hotel is also a plus. This hotel is within walking distance to restaurants, stores and nightlife!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCL-Coolidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorthamptonExec, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review! We are thrilled you were able to experience all that the Hotel has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    143
    73
    31
    38
See reviews for
102
144
19
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've stayed at the Hotel Northampton twice - once alone for a night and then with my husband and daughter. The rooms were charming both times - large, full of light, and overlooking the green and Main Street beyond. The location couldn't be better for a visitor to Northampton - there are cafes, shops and restaurants at one's doorstep and we frequented the Roost on Main Street and Woodstar on Masonic Street for strong, flavorful coffee and Darjeeling tea. The hotel oozes quaintness and charm with lace, floral prints, and old black and white photographs of the hotel on the walls. It has a large parking lot in the back with free parking for guests which, I discovered, is a big plus in Northampton. We had a first floor room - given our many suitcases, it was a breeze driving straight up to the elevator (there's one at the parking level) and getting all our luggage to the room. The restaurant, Coolidge Cafe, serves wonderful food. The only negative during our second stay was the pull-out sofa bed which had clearly seen better days. It felt like all springs and no mattress. But in fairness, we didn't complain to the hotel or ask for something to be done about it. Also, the hotel doesn't have a swimming pool but front desk staff were helpful in pointing me to hotels and the YMCA that allow use of their pools for a charge. We plan on coming back to Northampton often and staying at the Hotel Northampton.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Green, possibly with an outdoor balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandya162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorthamptonExec, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We arrived on Friday afternoon for the wedding. Free parking was in the rear and was greatly appreciated. The lobby is charming. Our room overlooked the front street and was quite small for the price which was relatively high, despite being one of the block of rooms reserved for wedding guests. The pre wedding cocktail party was held in the restaurant lounge. The food was good as well as service. We also had 2 continental buffet breakfasts during our stay which were good as well. The best part of our stay was the event itself where we witnessed the marriage of the couple who are the children of dear friends whom we watched grow up together. We love Northampton and have been there many times to visit our son who lives in the area. But I'm not sure we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield MA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We live nearby so treat ourselves now and then and stay at this lovely hotel . It is in the middle of town and the many great restaurants and bars. The free breakfast is simple but nice. There are 2 restaurants and each has its own bar. Parking is right out back and free.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorthamptonExec, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
188 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent two nights at the Northampton Hotel last week. Our first impression, with tired eyes, after checking-in 6 hours past our anticipated arrival time - midnight! - was: "Old, historical, clean, well-maintained. A step back into another time."

Our room had a Queen bed and a bad view of a flat roof top with a line-up of storage sheds. Needless to say, not the best location in this hotel, but . . . the room itself was very clean and welcoming, with decent furnishings, a flat-screen TV and an updated bath. I thought that the bed was comfortable. My wife commented that it would have been better, had it had a pillow top mattress.

The most memorable moment in this room came about 12:15 am, just a few minutes after we checked-in. I heard a shriek from the bathroom and called out to Amy: "What's going on in there?" Shortly after, I faced the source of her astonishment: "Look! Down in the bowl! It's a bird. It's a plane. (Come on now, you know that it's neither of those!) It's SUPER TOILET!"

Yes, this bathroom was equipped with the most spectacular hotel toilet that we had ever encountered. Just one push on that handle and there was an amazing sucking sound and such a powerful flush that, if you weren't expecting it, you just might jump out of your shorts. That is, if you were wearing your shorts! So amazing was that toilet, that it deserves a special mention here on this TripAdvisor review.

Our room came with a Continental Breakfast in the hotel's Coolidge Park Cafe. For what it was, the breakfast was very good, with fresh coffee and a selection of fruits, rolls, cereal and juice. And it was here that we had another moment to remember.

On our last morning, we took a window table not too far away from a couple guys that reminded us of the TV characters Frasier and his brother Niles. There was no way that we could not hear every word of what was a lively debate. The topic: Civil War battle strategies. They went back and forth, each taking an opposing position, for a good 15 minutes. When they finally left their table, Niles said to Frasier: "Anyone who thinks that the Confederates could have won the war is just delusional!" Amen to that.

All in all, this was a nice stay during an unplanned last-minute trip. Too bad we didn't have time to give the Wiggins Tavern a try. A part of the hotel, it looked very inviting and also has an interesting history.

My Mom really liked this place. Now, I know why. Thanks for the memory, Mom.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M&ALongGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed here at the end of July 2013 as I was visiting family who live near by and this hotel seemed like the best one in the area.

It's hard to write a really good or bad review about this place as it's a small town historical hotel that sort of does exactly what it's supposed to do but nothing more... People who come to Northampton probably want a good value clean hotel and that's it. I usual stay at high end modern hotels around the world but there are none in Northampton so judging this hotel by the same standards is not fair; especially as you're paying $200 a night here rather than $500+ a night at higher end hotels. The hotel was clean, the staff were friendly and efficient, check in was quick and everything where it should have been. It is of course an historical hotel in a small town and so I wasn't expecting super modern rooms with ipads and mood lighting panels etc.

For $200 a night the hotel was completely adequate. I have no major complaints but then again nothing to really go "WOW" about either.

I do have two very minor complaints and these were:
1) The mini bar was completely empty. When I got in late one night after everything had closed I fancied a Vodka and a snack but opened the mini bar to find it completely empty. I'm not sure whether the mini bar can be stocked upon request at check in or not but it was annoying to find it empty in my hour of need. I do recall spotting a vending machine on the floor the next day but by then it was too late.
2) The room did have an odd smell to it. It wasn't so bad that it was unbearable but it smelt a bit stale. It was a smell that I only noticed walking in and after being in the room for a while it was pretty much unnoticeable. This could have been the air conditioning or it may have been the fact the sink for the kitchenette was in the room and that could have made the smell.

In summary I'd recommend this place as a good value 3 star clean hotel in the center of Northampton.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorthamptonExec, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take our guest reviews very seriously, as they help us better our service. None of our rooms are stocked with a mini bar, however, some of our rooms include a mini refrigerator as an added amenity to store anything you wish to chill. During your next visit please confirm with Reservations if you wish to have this mini refrigerator included in your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I recently stayed in a 'shared balcony' room. Spacious and clean. Comfy bed and pillows. Big balcony had a separate table and chairs for each room. In the room, I could hear regular-voice conversations by the people who shared a wall. Luckily my neighbors were not big talkers or late-night TV types (otherwise I would have had to change). A real negative was breakfast. Like at a low budget hotel. Too much sugar, really bad coffee. The wait staff immediately tried to up-sell to the menu. Northampton is full of good cafes, so after the first morning, I walked elsewhere. But that was an unexpected added cost. Other aspects of my experience were very nice. The staff at reception were consistently helpful, friendly and efficient. The location can't be beat. Parking was a big plus. Gardens around the hotel were beautifully kept and blooming.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teptravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorthamptonExec, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take our guest reviews very seriously, as they help us better our service. Your feedback about breakfast will certainly be discussed with the hotel management and used to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
3.5 mi away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
7.2 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Northampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Northampton

Property: Hotel Northampton
Address: 36 King St, Northampton, MA 01060-3291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Northampton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Northampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing