We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!”
Review of Hotel Northampton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Northampton
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Northampton
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Northampton with our two kids. It's a wonderful hotel-- elegant, comfortable, and clean. The lobby is reminiscent of the beautiful turn-of -the century European resort hotels. It's very well maintained. The room was very nice-- clean, reasonably spacious; comfortable beds, lovely linens, nice bathroom. It's not a top-of-the-line super modern hotel, but we loved our stay nevertheless. The location is unsurpassable- right at the heart of downtown Northampton, next to all the cafes, shops and restaurants. Staff were wonderful-- very helpful and friendly. when something broke in the bathroom, someone came up to fix it within minutes. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zaids07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah M, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

We appreciate your kind review. As a historic hotel, we strive to maintain the historic charm of the hotel, while providing modern conveniences and service. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 444 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Northampton for one night and found it to be just right - it lived up to both our expectations and our needs. There is a classic, historic feel to the lobby and public rooms, as well as the guest rooms. Our room was cozy with very pleasant and comfortable furnishings. The bed and (feather) pillows were great. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel had assigned us a room exactly to the specifications we had requested - on a high floor, facing away from the street and away from the elevator (how often do hotels actually pay attention to your requests???). We did not hear a single sound in the halls all night and had a great night's sleep. Our complimentary continental breakfast was quite nice, and included a buffet of juice, granola, yogurt, fresh fruit, toasted bread/english muffins, sweet muffins, coffee, etc. The breakfast cafe is roomy with pleasant tables which look right out onto the upscale Northampton street scene. We also had an excellent dinner in their fancy downstairs restaurant. Given the great location of the hotel, we had a chance to stroll around town, visit a number of cute shops, and tour the Smith College campus. It was really an excellent, if brief, visit all around. Would gladly stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the parking area - rather than the street - are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaGal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah M, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We always do our best to meet all guest requests; and we are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We decided to use Hotel Northampton as our recommended hotel for ourselves and our guests for our recent wedding, due to its downtown location and historical persona. Before we even arrived, the hotel was consistently accommodating for our group, guests, and ourselves. They provided a group rate, extended our group size multiple times, and even catered to a number of our guests that were extremely late in reserving their rooms. All of this without any question and without our involvement (which really helps when you're rushing around trying to get all the pieces in place for a wedding).

When we did arrive, we found the service at the hotel to be excellent. The front desk held on to packages and items for us that arrived in the days prior to our wedding, delivering them directly to our room, and were quick to resolve any issues. The cleaning staff was friendly and worked around our schedule, which was crazy as we prepared for the wedding. They even went as far as to let us check in early and out late at no additional cost.

As far as the room was concerned -- we chose to stay in the Residential Suite (which was also discounted for us as part of our group discount). The room was perfect. If you are having a wedding at or near Hotel Northampton, I can't recommend this room enough. It is a huge room disconnected from the physical hotel, located in the Residential Cottage. It has a full size refrigerator and a microwave, a huge bathroom, and a separated bedroom area with two queen beds. But all that aside, the location really made this room worthwhile for us. It is located behind the hotel but shares the same parking lot, which makes it very private but allowed guests to easily find us in the days before and after our wedding, so we could see them as they checked in or went off to walk around downtown Northampton, and see them while checking out before returning home. This effectively turned our wedding into a long wedding weekend filled with seeing our closest friends.

Hotel Northampton may be a bit more expensive than other nearby hotels, but other hotels can not compete with the downtown location and historic nature of Hotel Noho. It is directly in the middle of downtown and parking for guests is included in the room rate (which can sometimes be tricky in Northampton). All in all, we had an excellent experience and appreciate how helpful the hotel and hotel staff were in making that experience what it was.

Room Tip: The Residential Suite is separated from the hotel, directly accessible from the parking lot, but pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah M, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a descriptive review. We are pleased to hear you and your family had a great experience during such a memorable weekend. Our goal is to accommodate guests to the highest extent; and your review shows that we succeeded. Congratulations and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We found this hotel on our way to New Hampshire. This hotel is on the historical hotel list. Although an older building it is very well kept and maintained. The rooms were very nice, the beds were very comfortable. We only stayed there one night but enjoyed the stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was in the perfect location, easy to get on and off the highway. We would definitely stay here again if in that area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah M, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to know that you, like many others, had a pleasant experience and enjoyable stay with us. We here at Hotel Northampton take a great deal of pride in our quality of product and service and every satisfied guest like yourself reinforces that pride. We look forward to the opportunity to serve as your host again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights during a recent cycling trip. My husband has stayed here at least 10 times over the past dozen years. Our original room (218) was generally fine . It's an older hotel, so expectations were set accordingly. The room was clean, the bathroom small. Our room had a shared balcony along the front of the hotel over the ballroom. It was next to a conference room, and I asked about what events were scheduled during our stay. The meetings that took place were not disruptive.

And then came Saturday night and the wedding that was taking place. I realize they must rake in a lot of revenue from weddings, but it appears to be to the detriment of other paying customers. First, we had to step around people sitting on the stairs up to our room from the lobby, since the lobby served as the pre-dinner bar location, No biggie. This was nothing compared to the noise from the wedding reception itself. The music was loud, but it was the MC on the PA system that shook our walls. It was like the wedding was happening in our room. I went to the front desk--the ballroom doors were open, the noise was beyond belief, and there was some wedding activity going on in the (small) lobby--and requested the noise be lessened. I was told the event manager would speak to the MC. This didn't help so I requested the manager come to our room.

The manager came promptly and offered a change to the last room available, which we eventually took. It was lovely-a 1BR suite--but moving all of our stuff at 10 pm after a tough day of cycling was no fun.

If I had walked into this hotel off the street to check it out, I would have walked right back out and not returned. Not what I would expect from a place that plays up the historic hotel (and expected ambiance) angle. I did email the manager and got a fairly innocuous response.

Would I stay here again? Possibly--but only if there was no wedding or I had a room that was nowhere near the ballroom.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over the ballroom if there is anything going on.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jmasgat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah M, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time and effort to critique your stay with us.

As we responded to your email, we greatly respect and appreciate the opinions of our guests. On many occasions these opinions and perspectives have helped us to improve our service and presentation.

It is truly unfortunate, however, that your stay with us was less than ideal. Please be assured that your comments have been reviewed and discussed with the staff of the hotel.

We hope that you will see your way clear to allow us the opportunity to show you that the problems you have encountered are the exception, not the rule.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The hotel was clean, with historic architecture. The room was a bit small with dated decor. The complimentary breakfast was just fine. Convenient location if you are in town for a show at the Iron Horse. We didn't have any problems but the walls do seem a bit thin.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah M, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take our guest reviews very seriously, as they help us better our service. As a historic property, we do aim to maintain the historic charm while providing modern amenities and service. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Best location if you want to park your car and be able to walk to restaurants, bars, coffee shops, street music and just a good time. A very nice small college town with ambience. Nice old historic hotel with good rooms and service. You can just go downstairs to the bar/restaurant and have a snack, dinner or drink or sit on the nice sunny porch and read.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank corvibrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah M, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for writing a review – we value our guest comments. With guest satisfaction in mind we work very hard to provide the highest level of service to all our guest and we are glad to hear we have succeeded and you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Northampton
190 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
3.5 mi away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
900 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Northampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Northampton

Address: 36 King St, Northampton, MA 01060-3291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range: $154 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Northampton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Northampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing