We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and centrally located”
Review of Hotel Northampton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Northampton
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Northampton
Northampton, MA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable and centrally located”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

You can't beat the location (smack dab in the center of Northampton). The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the staff friendly. This is a great choice for those visiting the area who want to explore on foot or by bike.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikeinnoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah M, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to write a review. Our mission is and always has been to provide an excellent experience to all our guests and glad to hear that yours was not an exception. We look forward to seeing you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    143
    73
    31
    38
See reviews for
102
144
19
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Port Ewen, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful room, good food and great service. Location is convenient to everything. No pool is the only minus. The staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable,everything from fixing a finicky TV to arranging a parking spot when the lot was full so I could be on time for the event .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah M, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to know that your experience with us was enjoyable and nothing but satisfactory. We always strive to provide a high level of service to all our guests and glad to hear that we achieved that goal. We hope you come back and visit us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel has lots of charm. It is in the middle of the city, in the middle of everything. Free parking. Banquet food was good. The check in staff was good, the checkout staff, a little less good. The rooms were small yet very comfortable.

Room Tip: I requested one of the balcony rooms (there were only a couple) and I actually got two balconies. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmhcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah M, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and effort to let us know how you enjoyed your stay with us. We here at Hotel Northampton take great pride in our establishment, and every satisfied guest serves to enforce that pride. We are gratified that you enjoyed your experience and look forward to the opportunity to serve as your host in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, MA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Spent 1 Night at hotel Northhampton for UMass graduation last weekend. The Courtyard and Holiday Inn required 2 night's stay at the same cost per night as hotel Northhampton. So Glad we chose Hotel Northampton! We had low expectations due to some of the reviews on trip advisor. We were pleasantly surprised! Yes, the rooms are small and the beds are Queen versus King. Single occupancy had the same beds, with smaller rooms. However, it is much nicer than being in a generic low-level chain. Bathrooms are also small. We found the beds comfortable. Our room had a door to a shared balcony overlooking the street in the front of the hotel with tables and chairs. Would have loved to utilized it, if weather had cooperated. There was a coffee pot in the room, but no coffee in the lobby until 7 AM. Lobby and halls seemed in good shape with a historic atmosphere. We had a late check-in for 4 separate rooms and all were fine and not too far apart. Continental breakfast was included and quite satisfactory. The dining area was lovely, with a beautiful patio that would be great to sit on and enjoy breakfast if we had been lucky enough to have better weather. Breakfast included coffee, juice, homemade brand and corn muffins, some other glazed pastry, toast and jelly, granola, sugary frosted packaged cereal, fresh pineapple, cantaloupe, and Honey-do. All in a self service buffet. We had an early graduation to catch, so it hit the spot. If we wanted to be picky, it would've been nice if it opened before seven, and had some plain yogurt and plain cereals. Wish we had more time to walk around downtown North Hampton and explore the area more. It was costly for what you get, however , on graduation weekend all the prices are out-of-control everywhere. Definitely recommend hotel Northhampton if you are in the Amherst, Hadley, North Hampton area!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank downhillskier17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah M, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review! We are thrilled you were able to experience all that the Hotel has to offer. We always strive to exceed guest expectations. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
166 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The hotel is cute and has a lot of charm. The rooms were clean but very small. Bathrooms had been updated but the rest of the place could use some updating. Food was good at the restaurants but the one in the basement was very dark and depressing. Good walking location to shops and restaurants. Beds were not comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationplannerMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah M, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and effort to critique your stay with us. We greatly appreciate and respect the opinion of guests. On many occasions these opinions and perspectives have helped us to improve our service and presentation. Updating of the hotel and services is an ongoing process here at Hotel Northampton. We hope we get the opportunity to be your host in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

On our most recent New England get-away, we stayed at the Hotel Northampton. It is right in the middle of a lovely town. Wandering around we found that it has a live music venue right across the street from the hotel and several restaurants so it is a perfect place for a weekend away. We found the hotel well appointed and the staff friendly and accommodating. Our one disappointment was the Wiggins Tavern. The food was fair and it got to us barely warm. I would certainly stay there again but would venture out into town to explore different dinner choices.

Room Tip: We stayed in a regular queen room and found it a nice size and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AprilD21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary W, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Good Afternoon,

While we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we are sorry to hear that your meal was less than satisfying. We aim to please our guests in every aspect of there stay and it is unfortunate that you were not. Your feedback will certainly be discussed with the hotel staff and used to improve our service. We hope that in your future visits you will give Wiggins Tavern another try and see that your experience was a rare exception to our high service standards.

Thank You,
Hilary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Quaint hotel, great location downotown Northampton. Good restaurant, but service slow. Good bar area for late night light meals and spirits. Commfortable room, conference facilities as well.
Work out room leaves a lot to be desired. Very small and just one elliptical and one treatmill.

Room Tip: Get a room in the new, renovated wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiciaFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
3.5 mi away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
7.2 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Northampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Northampton

Property: Hotel Northampton
Address: 36 King St, Northampton, MA 01060-3291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Northampton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Northampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing